Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
11 Sat January 14, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8












Description:
Ingredients: 3 lg eggs
1 1/2 sticks of butter, melted
2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup Vital Wheat Gluten Flour (Bob's Red Mill)
1/2 cup Splenda
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
dash of salt
ground cinnamon, 3 big dashes



1/2 cup Davinci Vanilla Syrup (I've also used sugar free chocolate, raspberry, & maple syrup with a bit of pumpkin pie spice.)
1/2 cup water
1 cup Flax seed meal(Bob's Red Mill)
1/2-1 cup blueberries,(omit if on induction)
How To Prepare:
Preheat Oven to 350°F.


Beat eggs, add melted butter and vanilla and continue to beat well. With an electric mixer or whisk, add ONE BY ONE: Vital Wheat Gluten Flour, Splenda, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon. Beat well. STIR in the syrup, water and flax seed meal. Gently fold in blueberries.


Put Reynolds FOIL bake cups in your muffin tin (discard the paper and just use foil part). Makes 12 muffins. Put batter in the tins and top each muffin with one bluberry (optional--this just makes them look real nice). Bake for 35 minutes.


They can be individually wrapped and stored in the fridge.


The carb count is as follows:


18g Vital Wheat Gluten Flour
2g Eggs
12g Splenda
1g Baking Powder
33g divided by 12 muffins = 2.75 per muffin (no berries)


If you add the berries make sure you add the carbs (depending on how many berries you use). Also, I use Vanilla without any sugar/corn syrup. If your Vanilla has sugar/corn syrup in it, you need to add 3g per tsp.


These muffins are very high in fiber and protein.





Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2.75
Preparation Time: 15 MINUTES
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Sun November 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty, easy to prepare
Cons:

nice, moist muffins, varying syrups can give you different flavors (I used Da Vinci's Strawberry Syrup) diffently a "(y)"
sdh
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 74
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

very good
sheryl0423
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Florida TB Area
Posts: 998
Review Date: Mon August 28, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very yummy
Cons:

Wanted to add a little more flax to my diet...this does the trick. They smell delish backing and are very yummy. I used almond flour instead of the wheat gluten (didn't have any) Nice change from eggs for bfast and yummy for dessert also.
todunlop
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: North East, CT
Posts: 582
Review Date: Sat January 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellant
Cons:

Thease are the best low carb muffins I've had to date. I used Da Vinci maple syrup. They were great. I can't wait to try the different flavorings for some variations.
Desertduck
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2002
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 98
Review Date: Tue April 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy!!!!
Cons: NONE

These are amazing!!! I'm going to have to hide them from my kids!
LowCarbSleepyToast
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 680
Review Date: Fri September 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste amazing!
Cons: slightly too sweet-easily fixed though!

These are so good! I used raspberry syrup and no add-ins because I am on induction. Delcious right out of the oven! Very highly reccomended!
binga
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2001
Location: never cold here
Posts: 898
Review Date: Sun July 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

I used vanilla syrup.
kitchenwitch2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: California
Posts: 64
Review Date: Fri October 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good! Good texture
Cons: None

I modified the recipe to make pumpkin-walnut chocolate chip muffins which are beyond good! I will post the modified recipe
Review Date: Mon August 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, versatile
Cons:

Call me a broken record, but I was SOO sick of eggs for breakfast. I came across this recipe and thank the lord I did! This recipe is a perfect base! I have made Caramel Apple (using caramel flavored syrup and bits of apple), the blueberry as outlined above, cinnamon sugar-I LOVE cinnamon so I stirred a lot into the batter then I poured the batter into the muffin cups and sprinkled a splenda/cinnamon blend onto the top, which formed a great sugary crust once the muffins were done. Tonight I will be making a lemon flavored muffin with a lemon zest glaze. I will say it again, I LOVE THIS RECIPE.
Review Date: Tue August 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): the fact that it's a muffin and a wonderful sub for breakfast!
Cons: nothing!!!

These were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! They taste incredible and have a great flavor,smell and texture. There is a little texture "difference" between these and "regular" muffins, but what do you expect??? Hard to believe it's flax seeds! WoW...I REALLY needed that! It does taste very good, but I can see that I may have to limit myself because the flavor is so tasteful, I forget that I'm supposed to limit my intake. THANK-YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS!!! You made my week! :0)
Review Date: Sat January 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

Made the recipe, but instead of baking them I made them into pancakes. Very good as long as you don't let them get to crispy.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriendsŪ is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.