Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
12 Sun March 27, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.9












Description:
Ingredients: 2 cans green beans, canned -- french cut
4 ounces mushroom stems and pieces -- drained
1/2 medium yellow onion -- sliced thin, separated into rings
2 stalks celery -- sliced small
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 cup assorted cheeses cut into small -- jack, pepper jack, cream -your choice) diced
3/4 teaspoon salt -- or 1/2 lite, and 1/4 reg
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
How To Prepare: Melt the butter in a skillet and sautee the onions, celery and mushrooms until soft(about 7-8 minutes). Mix the mayonnaise and cream. Mix everything together in a casserole and bake at 350f, covered, for 30 minutes. Uncover and brown if desired.
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 35 total recipe excluding cheese
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


ConnieJo
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2002
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 159
Review Date: Sat April 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): simple&delicous
Cons:

Thank you Dottie this is a fantastic recipe. It's become a classic for special events in our family. And it's good with some chicken or ground beef to make it a complete meal casserole for a weeknight.
kat82501
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 746
Review Date: Wed September 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent homestyle comfort food
Cons:

This recipe is GREAT! I was out of cream, so I didn't use any and everything still came out super tasty. My DH LOVED it! This is something I would feel good about taking to a family event (I'm sure non-LCers would love it too)


Next time, I'm going to add some chicken and make it a main dish.
mommyoftwins
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue December 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super easy. Delicious
Cons: None

I've made this two years in a row for Thanksgiving. It's also a regular side dish in my house. I love it.
regandy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: November 2002
Location: East Texas
Posts: 1348
Review Date: Thu December 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Better than the old "soup" recipe!
Cons: None at all!

This has become a family favorite and a tradition now. This will be my second year to use this recipe and I think that it is so much better than the old recipes that use soup and are "watery" & "salty" & bland. This is wonderful.... I also throw in a little pepper jack cheese to add a little kick.
cwrdlyli0n
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 47
Review Date: Wed June 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Completely fantastic,
Cons: Cant stop eating it

MelissaE
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Posts: 13
Review Date: Tue January 31, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty!
Cons:

I left out the mushrooms, onion, and celery from this recipe and it still came out good! Its a nice alternative since I was getting tired of plain ole green beans! Thank you!
Review Date: Mon December 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy!
Cons: NONE!

This is fantastic! Made it with pepper jack and muenster - it was awesome! My non LC friends loved it too.
leahvb
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: March 2003
Posts: 4886
Review Date: Mon December 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This recipe is great! I am making it tonight! I make this and eat it through the week. yum!!!!!
Review Date: Thu April 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SOOOOOO delicious!
Cons: nothing

This is so good! I hate celery and left that out, and still the best. My non-low-carb-eating bf loved this too.
Diana
Allergic to Carbs- I break out in Fat!

Registered: August 2003
Location: Anderson, Indiana
Posts: 38454
Review Date: Wed December 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I make this every Christmas! It's the best
spiritfilledbabe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2006
Location: Abilene Texas
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun June 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful
Cons: none

My whole family loved this. I made it with cheddar cheese and pepper jack. I also added onion powder. this was so good. I will make this recipe for now on.
raini
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: July 2003
Location: near the edge of an island
Posts: 4381
Review Date: Sun March 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Favorite for family and potlucks
Cons: Takes awhile to assemble and prepare, but worth it!

I've made this for Thanksgiving, just as it is, to replace the green bean casserole we used to always have. Nobody noticed the difference! They had no idea there was no canned soup in it.


I've also added one pound of ground beef to this, and I take it to potlucks; there is never any left! In fact, I usually double the recipe, put it in two casserole dishes, and save one to have at home because we never get enough at the potluck dinners.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.