Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
8 Thu October 26, 2006
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4












Description:
Ingredients: 1 head cauliflower
8 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon pepper -- up to 1 tablespoon
How To Prepare: Cook 1 head of cauliflower until very soft.


MASH all the water out of it through a screen mesh colander (If you skip this step you get cauliflower soup)..


Add 1 stick butter and considerable pepper (min 1 teaspoon up to a tablespoon - careful it goes from perfect to HOT very fast). Whip with mixer or in food processor, re-heat if necessary.


I have served this at parties and no one has known they were not real.
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 7 total recipe
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Thu February 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes like real mashed potatoes!
Cons:

Review Date: Mon April 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very simular to the real thing
Cons: still can taste the cauliflower

I was very impressed at the result of these. I used 3/4 stick butter with 1 tblsp sour cream. I couldn't smash up the cauliflower completely, maybe I didn't cook it long enough? But it still resembles mashed potatoes, & I would eat it even if I wasn't on a low-carb diet! (Even though I usually am not fond of cauliflower).
Review Date: Wed January 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I added butter, sour cream and horseradish - just like regular mashed potatoes.


Thanks


SweetTLC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 216
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This recipe was excellent on its own and I first made it exactly as the recipe says with the addition of a couple of tablespoons of sourcream. Then, I decided to make cheesy, garlic mashed "potatoes" and to this recipe I added some shredded sharp cheddar cheese and some minced garlic...YUMMY!! Next time I will try using some roasted garlic. Great recipe!!
Review Date: Fri February 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): mashed taters consistency
Cons: make sure they are whipped enough

I have made this recipe or versions of it, like the ones mentioned here. EVERYONE LOVES IT! My husband didn't know they weren't real mashed taters till I kept asking him how he liked em. However theer was a time that I didn't whip the mashed cauliflower in the food processor, I tried to just mash em like regular taters...they still reminded me of cauliflower. The more whipped they are the more they will seem like the real deal.. These faux mashed taters are great, cannot recommend enough!
schnook
Guest

Registered: October 2006
Location: California
Posts: 13
Review Date: Wed October 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Potatoes!! Ya!!
Cons: Waaaaay too much butter!

OK, so I altered this to my WOE (not-too-high-in-fat-lowcarb-diet). I only added 1.5 tblspns of butter, but used some other reviewers suggestions and added 2 tblspns light sourcream, 3 cloves of roasted garlic and 1.5 tblspns heavy cream. I just couldnt deal with a whole stick of butter, but I'm sure it's great that way.
I couldn't believe how much these actually looked, felt and tasted like real mashed potatoes! Yummo.
lenz4455
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12
Review Date: Thu October 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): finally ... potatoes!
Cons: too much buter

I microwaved the fresh califlower without adding water until soft. Worked really well. Will try adding sourcream and garlic next time. Very, very good.
My husband was even surprised!
lenz4455
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12
Review Date: Thu October 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): potatoes!
Cons: lots of butter

I microwaved the fresh califlower without adding water until soft. It worked great!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.