Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
6 Wed April 2, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.3












Description:
Ingredients: 1 pound ground turkey --
(you can use lean beef, but I
prefer turkey
because it's really lean)
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 onion -- medium,
minced
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 cup Pace Picante
Chunky (mild) Salsa
1 package Taco Bell taco
seasoning (I use low
sodium)
2 cups shredded cheddar
cheese -- (or more if you
really like cheese)
1 can Eden Soy black soy
beans (if you mash
them and fry them in a bit of
bacon drippings they are
great as
refried beans added to this
recipe
instead of the whole beans
- that's too
much work for me on the fly)
Pam cooking spray
1 can sliced black olives
(optional) -- (3.8 oz)
How To Prepare: Coat a medium casserole
dish with Pam and spread
one cup of cheese on
the bottom Pre-heat oven to
375 degrees


In a skillet: Melt butter, add
onions and garlic, glaze
brown meat,
drain add salsa, stir add
taco seasoning, stir
simmer for 15 minutes,
add beans, stir simmer for
five minutes remove from
heat and pour
mixture into casserole dish
on top of cheese, sprinkle
(or smother) with
remaining cheese and
bake in oven on middle rack
for 15-17 minutes,
sprinkle with olives, let
stand for about five minutes
to give the
cheese a chance to set,
Serve with sour cream,
lettuce, tomatoes, etc..


Makes about six average
sized helpings
Number of Servings: 6
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: no counts provided
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Thu February 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted fabulous
Cons:

I added more Salsa - an entire jar of Pace Picante sauce to be exact as it seemed rather dry with the recommended 1/2C.
Review Date: Sat September 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Deelicious
Cons: None

This was the bomb digitty! I used chicken instead of turkey, but hey they're both birds. Also great on top of lettuce as a taco salad! Thanx!
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty and versatile
Cons: none

My variation included ground beef, and I used the beans.


The next day, leftovers were wrapped in La Tortilla Factory wraps and made into burritos - very yummy!
Charski
Gadget Gal

Registered: September 2004
Location: Mostly in the kitchen!
Posts: 39834
Review Date: Sun November 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty
Cons: A little greasy, even with very lean ground beef

Great flavor! Since DH and I are re-inducting, I omitted the soybeans and used a 7 oz. can of diced mild green chilies.


There was a lot of grease on top when it came out of the oven, I used homeground very lean beef, so must've been the cheese.


I'd make it again though! Served it with spicy pork rinds and guacamole.
Sleepy
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 11602
Review Date: Sun November 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty, easy to make
Cons:

fast, easy and delicious
Reenwad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2002
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 857
Review Date: Wed April 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great
Cons: None

Definatley use the entire jar of salsa, and I also omitted the beans.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.