Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
16 Fri February 27, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 7.9












Description:
Ingredients: 3 eggs -- separated
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
3 tablespoons cottage cheese
1 package artificial sweetener
1 dash salt
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 300 degrees.


Separate eggs. Beat the whites with the cream of
tartar till stiff peaks form. You can check this by inverting the bowl and if the whites don't
slip, it's ready.


In a small bowl stir together the rest of the ingredients. Fold carefully into the whites
using a rubber spatula.


Spray Pam on a nonstick cookie sheet. Place the
mixture carefull onto the cookie sheet, gently
mounding one tbsp. full on top of the other
until each "roll" is about 2 inches high. Repeat this until you have 6 piles.


Bake for one hour.


These are excellent to have for hamburger buns, it to make into a sandwich. Just put two on
top of each other. I find them especially good
when having sat in a plastic bag for a couple of hours. They resemble slightly squished hambuger
buns.


They're also great as a dinner bun with butter
spread on them.


(Look for a dessert version of this in the dessert section.)
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 4g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Mon February 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): gets you through the bread craving
Cons:

Has the consistency of bread. Would recommend lining baking sheet with waxed paper so you don't loose much to the pan.


Maybe I'm dolt when it comes to cooking but the yolks are included in the cottage cheese mix. It took me a burnt baking sheet to find that one out.
Review Date: Mon March 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste great and easy to make.
Cons:

Review Date: Sun April 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy and very easy
Cons:

The first time I tried this I followed the recipe to the tee. But the rolls just spread out on the cookie sheet. They were tasty but the shape wasn't very rolly. The second time I made them I tried putting them in the muffin tin, and they kept their shape a lot better.
Review Date: Sat July 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): perfect for sandwiches and hamburgers
Cons:

I've been making these for quite some time and love them. I make them with ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese because the texture just seems to blend better. Not sure how this affects the carb count though.


It's so nice to finally be able to hold a hamburger or sandwich and not cut it up and eat it with a fork. Makes me think I'm not dieting.
FebDeb
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: March 2001
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1203
Review Date: Tue December 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and a nice substitute for bread.
Cons: egg whites must be just right or rolls will spread out.

I have made these with fine shredded cheese, also with added cinnamon and extra splenda to be used as a dessert roll. The cinnamon rolls work very well with a ricotta or a whipped cream filling.
csnme
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 150
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I accidentally made this with cream cheese and they turned out ok. I warmed 2 up today in the microwave and ate as pancakes w/ butter and atkins syrup, yummy thick fluffy pancakes!
NanBean
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 53
Review Date: Fri September 30, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

These weren't exactly what I expected, wanted more of a hamburger bun. They were ok as buns you could put butter on. If you want hamburger size buns you need to make them that big on the baking sheet. Were a bit too light and fluffy...reminded me of those tube dinner rolls.
Shantony
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2006
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 1466
Review Date: Wed July 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread like.
Cons: Angel food cake like feel.

I can live with them. Taste good as bread.
ohr
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 126
Review Date: Sun July 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons:

Great for a bread substitute which I find becomes important.
KJ-43
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1175
Review Date: Wed December 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

I think I might try folding in some cheese and using garlic salt or powder to see if i can make a cheddar biscuit
luvslipstick
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2007
Location: rain country
Posts: 6694
Review Date: Tue February 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good
Cons:

I made these last night and used cream cheese and a scoop of protien powder,they were good,got to try some different things,next time
BlueJeanz
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Review Date: Fri April 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy breakfast or Egg Muffin. Nice for a sandwich or burger.
Cons: I like them TOO much!

I make a batch that tastes like French toast (add 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 pkt splenda, & some cinnamon to the yolks and cottage cheese - I also mash my cottage cheese up with a fork first)When I put these on the cookie sheet I make them square. They taste better the next day (refrigerated), then microwave few secs and serve with LC syrup & butter. I also make a batch with garlic powder, onion powder, salt, no splenda and these taste great as a sandwich or burger bun (put 2 together for the bun). I love these things! It has really made a big difference in my diet - it expanded my choices so much! Make sure to whip those whites into the stiff peak stage using a regular hand mixer (about 5 minutes). From start to oven it only takes about 10 minutes.
ElleH
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 211
Review Date: Thu May 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The diversity they give to the lifestyle.
Cons: At first they are "bread-like," but become more eggy and soggy with each passing day.

I've been making and eating these for about a year now. I make mine with mayo (for savory) or cream cheese (for sweet) substituted tablespoon for tablespoon for the cottage cheese. I really LOVE them, and really appreciate the diversity they bring to the basic LC Lifestyle. I use them for burgers and sandwiches (nothing like a summer tomato sandwich with loads of mayo!), as the base for tiramisu, cakes, parfaits and trifles, and they make great danishes and cinnamon buns. My only complaint about them is that they seem to get wetter and more eggy each day that passes. I'm sure there's a way to solve that, I just haven't found it. Otherwise, they would get a perfect "10" from me! I'm sure it's probably just like fresh bread...always tastes best the first day?
Review Date: Mon July 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): look appetizing
Cons: strange texture

Maybe I did something wrong, but I and the rest of my family found these inedible. THey had a strange crackley texture on the outside. When they came out of the oven, they smelled and looked very appetizing, but tasted so bad the whole batch ended up in the trash.
DAMIA1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A good bread replacement
Cons: short shelf life (cause they get eaten!)

Add atouch of oregano garlic and basil(even sundried tomato) for a more italian taste yum, i blend this with cream cheese instead of cotagge cheese.
BIG PHELLA
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 93
Review Date: Fri February 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's kinda like bread!
Cons: took 4 tries to get it right!

I was too excited for these, the thought of getting sandwiches was great! My first 3 batches turned out runny, and they burned on the edges before the centers were cooked. So, i read more on them, and realized i'd mixed the yolk/cream cheese into the whites too much, and the whites broke down. I went to use them this morning, and found them really moist, so i put them in the toaster oven for a bit, and it really helped. i put a little margerine on them, then an egg and ham, and it was pretty good. I didn't add any salt or sweetner, i think the salt would really make a difference. i'm going to try anther batch with some shredded cheddar and some parmesian and garlic.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriendsŪ is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.