Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
10 Tue July 3, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers None indicated 8.3












Description:
Ingredients: 1/2 a 3-oz bag
UNFLAVORED pork rinds
2 eggs
1/4 cup heavy cream
3 splenda packets
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla


How To Prepare: Crumble pork rinds until the
resemble fine bread
crumbs.


Beat eggs well then mix
with the remaining
ingredients and beat again.
Add crushed pork rinds to
the egg/cream mixture and
allow to sit for 5 minutes.
Mix will thicken to a "gloppy"
phase.


Meanwhile, heat skillet or
griddle with butter or oil,
and when hot, fry pancakes
until golden brown on both
sides. Serve with lots of
butter and low-carb syrup.


If you don't tell someone
who eats them, they will
never have a CLUE that
these delicious french toast
pancakes are made with
pork rinds. THESE ARE
UNBELIEVABLE!! You WILL
be surprised at how
delicious these are!
Number of Servings: 8
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


regandy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: November 2002
Location: East Texas
Posts: 1348
Review Date: Thu July 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste!! Wow.
Cons: None at all

This is by far one of my most favorite recipes. I save it for special occasions and "comfort" food.


I add a more crushed pork rinds though. And I make 4 "pancakes" about the size of the palm of my hand (instead of 8 like it says). I serve it with Log Cabin SF syrup made with Splenda.


I have tried the other recipes with low carb bread, but I personally like the consistency of these. AND THEY REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS IN THEM UNLESS YOU TELL THEM!;)
MelissaE
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Posts: 13
Review Date: Mon September 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Better than using the low carb bake mix
Cons: Not quite as good as I was hoping for!

The taste of these are ok...much better with the syrup and butter! Wouldn't recommend eating them plain.
Not2BaBeachballBride
TICKER.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Posts: 568
Review Date: Sat October 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty and Yummy ... really satisfied my need for something other than eggs and bacon!
Cons: NONE

I made this with a little more pork rinds than called for... and the batter looked like cooked oatmeal. I was pretty skeptical ... not a big pork rind fan. My low carb friend and I split the recipe (it made 5 pieces of french toast). WE LOVED IT!!!!! Yummy...truly low carb and finally, something other than eggs and bacon for breakfast. Thank you for this great recipe!!
raini
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: July 2003
Location: near the edge of an island
Posts: 4365
Review Date: Mon March 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!!!
Cons: None.

These turned out very well on my first try. The only problem I had was that I did not sort out the few hard rinds from the bag, and those did not crsuh well when I was making crumbs. As a result, I had a couple of hard lumps in the finished product.


I fried them in Mac/Nut Oil, which does not get dark and start smoking as readily as other oils or butter. They turned out great, and were very filling.
Review Date: Mon May 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, Fantastic, Amazing, Wonderful, Incredibly Delicious
Cons: I can eat the entire recipe without blinking :)

K Praper
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Chicago suburbs (relocated Texan)
Posts: 4166
Review Date: Tue June 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great, simple ingredients
Cons: None

I've made this several times, and love it!


I've used it in my waffle maker too, it makes great waffles!!


Lately I've started using coconut milk instead of the heavy cream, and it doesn't change the flavor at all.


I like the fact that these are all simple ingredients (no franken-ingredients) that will always be around, even if the low-carb craze dies down.
Pleiades
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 2193
Review Date: Wed January 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons: a tad salty

These were great! The first few were a bit salty but the last two tasted like real pancakes!
Sweetpea
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2006
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 7124
Review Date: Fri April 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
Cons: Everything

This was awful - could not stand the smell cooking. Left the house smelling bad. And I am a big fan of pork rinds, but not this way
Review Date: Sat July 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple ingredients, great taste
Cons: I don't know of any

I was a little skeptical, so many recipes get great reviews and even in desperation just aren't that good. This seems especially true in pork rind recipes. That said, these are great. I think they taste amazingly close to real french toast. I don't eat these often, but I honestly don't know why. They are great and easy to make. I've even altered the recipe a bit and used them in a pinch for sandwich bread. Doesn't work as well, but definitely works. If you like french toast do yourself a favor and give these simple things a try.
biznme
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue July 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, not a whole lot of ingredients
Cons:

I'm a little confused about the serving size. It said 8...but there is no way this feeds 8. I made 3 decent size pancakes. And I think that's 1 carb each give or take. That said, it is SOOOOOO good I had to have two. I saved one for breakfast tomorrow. It's a lot of porkrinds to be eating in one sitting. But MAN oh man these are good. Really do taste JUST like french tast. I will definitely make these again!!!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriendsŪ is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.