Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
12 Wed February 15, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.9












Description:
Ingredients: 1 cup butter
1 cup artificial sweetener --
splenda granular
5 eggs
2 cups almond flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon almond extract
-- or divinci carmel syrup
How To Prepare: Cream butter and splenda
together in a large mixing
bowl. Add eggs one
at a time, beating after each
one. Add flour and baking
powder a little at a
time until well blended. Add
extracts. Bake in a 9 inch
cake or
springform pan for 50
minutes at 350. Makes a
nice moist buttery pound
cake.
Could also try different
extracts to vary the flavor (ex.
banana or lemon).
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 47g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Mon March 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, very moist
Cons: none

This was the first lo carb cake I have baked. It was simply delicious. I baked it in 4 six inch springform pans for about 20 minutes. The inside was very moist and outside has a little crunch. Hard not to eat it all.
Review Date: Sat March 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): WOW! YUMMMMMM
Cons: zip

I just made this and hubby and I love it!! I used some banana flavoring and nuts also. I plan on freezing most of it as it is HARD not to eat the whole darn cake. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
stewcarol
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2003
Posts: 493
Review Date: Tue April 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy, mixed and in the oven in less than 10 minutes.
Cons: None, also had to freeze leftovers because they were too delicious

I used a hand mixer for the entire recipe, and used davinci vanilla (only one I had). Slightly crispy outside, moist inside, reminded me of my sister's deliciously moist rum cake (minus the rum!)
maryjopye
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: beautiful east tennessee
Posts: 24
Review Date: Sun June 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

this is a great cake!...we like it served cold with whipped cream...mmmmm
sher795
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 664
Review Date: Tue July 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy and rises nicely.
Cons:

I made this to use in a lc version of the "flag cake" for the 4th of July (instead of Sarah Lee pound cake) and it was fantastic! I made in a bread pan instead of pie plate and it came out wonderful.
cookiedog
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Location: nc
Posts: 73
Review Date: Thu March 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful
Cons: hard not to eat all of it

I made it in a loaf pan and I eat for breakfast with my coffee. It makes for a great breakfast.
skitsokitty
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Posts: 15
Review Date: Tue March 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast + easy to make. great texture + taste
Cons: none (well can be addictive, but is filling so you'll eventually stop!)

i've made this twice so far + definitely do not miss regular cakes (made with flour) at all. the butter makes this rich enough to be satisfying. also is the kind of recipe where you can make even after being at work all day. minimal washing up (especially if you line tray with baking paper = tray only needs light clean/wipe/airing). great!!
Review Date: Sun October 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): satisfies my sweet-tooth
Cons: expensive

Be sure and GRIND almonds to the finest of fine you can! A coffee grinder may be the way to go. Even when you're sure they are pulverized...grind them some more. Otherwise, it comes out "chunkier" than you expect from a cake-like food. If it doesn't look like regular flour, you're not done.
Review Date: Fri November 4, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious flavor
Cons: rises to high, and then falls.

I have made this cake three times. It is absolutely delicious, but I do have a small problem that Im hoping someone can help me with. Each time, the cake rises too high, like a souffle, and then falls flat when removed from the oven. Does anyone have any suggestions.
cgarza
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2002
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 382
Review Date: Mon April 30, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!!! Easy!!!
Cons: Mine stuck to my bundt pan. Spray it WELL!!!

This is delicious! I used a combination of Poly D and various sweeteners, EXTRA tsp of almond extract. It was really flavorful!
I served it topped with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. My NON LC husband and sister-in-law loved it!
karenry
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 138
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
Cons: Everthing

This bears no resemblance to a pound cake, but rather banana bread with no banana. Even with extra sweetener, it still had no sweetness. Total disapointment and a waste of ingredients.
hippygypsykaren
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 159
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

If your cake rises too high then falls, try letting the eggs come to room temp before you start making your cake.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.