Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
17 Fri January 20, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1.79 9.8












Description:
Ingredients: 1 tablespoon artificial
sweetener
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1/2 cup Heavy Cream
6 tablespoons Table Salt
3 cups Ice
1 Sandwich Sized Ziploc
Bag
1 Gallon Sized Ziploc Bag
How To Prepare: (No Ice Cream Maker
Needed. It really works,
trust me!!)


In the sandwich sized
ziploc, combine the sugar
substitute, vanilla
extract and heavy cream.
Seal the bag and shake
lightly to mix ingredients.


In the gallon sized ziploc
bag, add 3 cups of ice (or fill
half the bag
with ice)and add 6
tablespoons of table salt.


Place the seal sandwich
sized bag into the gallon
bag and seal the
gallon bag. Shake the entire
contents for at least 4
minutes (shake longer
for harder ice cream).


Once desired hardness
has been achieved, remove
smaller baggies and
rinse throughly with cold
water (if you miss this step,
you may wind up with
salty ice cream!)


Recipe makes about a 1/2
cup of ice cream.


I have doubled the recipe
and it still works well. I am
also sure that
you can add additional
ingredients (cocoa powder,
etc) to create different
flavors of ice cream. Lastly
for our friends and relatives
who aren't
on low carb diets, they can
use milk and regular sugar
rather than the
cream and sugar
substitute.
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 5g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


michigangrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2003
Location: Livin' on a Prayer
Posts: 866
Review Date: Tue February 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good!
Cons:

Review Date: Wed February 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): much cheaper than the store bought and tastes better
Cons: my hands got cold

This is awsome. I can have home made ice cream and I don't even own a ice cream maker. It tasts just like the Atkins Vanilla Ice cream and is much less expensive. Thank you very much for this recipe.


A little addition to the recipe instructions: I noticed when I removed the sandwich baggie from the ice the ice cream was lumpy. After washing the bag off I cut the corner of the bag instead of opening like usual. Then I squeezed the contents out and it worked out all the lumps.
Jacqueline747
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Thu March 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy yummy yummy
Cons: Very addicting!!

WARNING: VERY ADDICTIVE!!! REALLY HARD TO STOP AT JUST ONE SERVING!!!


I am soo confused!!! Why does this work so well??? I can't believe it!! This is the most amazing ice cream I have ever tasted!! I am soo not kidding!!! I made 3 servings.. eeegads!!! All to myself!! OInk oink
julieloubert
Guest

Registered: June 2004
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 7
Review Date: Sat June 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
Cons:

Satisfies ice-cream craving. I probably should have shaken it for more than 4 minutes, though. It was more like the consistency of a fast-food vanilla shake, and tasted like one too! (this is a good thing). I am going to save my bag of ice-salt to try this recipe again in the near future. By the way, cutting the tip off of the zip-loc bag to squeeze out the ice cream is helpful.
Review Date: Thu September 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons:

I love this! So quick and easy! My hubby was quite impressed. Next time I'll add some unsweetened cocoa and make some chocolate ice cream. YUM!


The possibilities are endless, flavorwise. You could make the vanilla base and add a bit of DaVinci syrup to it. make it whatever flavor you want!


This recipe is great for those who don't own ice cream machines, or for those like me that hate dragging out the machine and spending the time to use it.
Review Date: Mon October 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very yummy!
Cons: hands get cold while shaking, wear gloves

I tried this last night, and I'm glad I did. Very good. My husband and daughter loved it too. I would never have thought it would work. Good idea for those without a ice cream machine. Next time I will try to flavor it different. Worth a try!!
carissa_konrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 400
Review Date: Mon May 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): amazing taste
Cons: nothing

This stuff ROCKS!!! I think I'd rather have this than the regular ice cream. Good thing it only makes one serving, otherwise I would have difficulty controling myself!
mom2ovd
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 165
Review Date: Thu June 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sooo Good
Cons: None

This tastes awesome. My daughter wanted to taste it and loved it. I had to make a serving for her. It was so much better than I thought it would be.
Review Date: Sun February 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Very Good
Cons: None

This was sooo good! My grandfather used to make homemade ice cream in an old fashioned machine on his farm when I was a kid....this tasted exactly like that!!! I just added a couple tsp. of coca powder and it was so great.
sumi
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2006
Location: THE BOONIES!!!
Posts: 156
Review Date: Sun September 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

note: it says 10 servings is it 5 carbs a serving? and that means the servings are 1/4 cup?
NoAngel
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: New Yawk
Posts: 83
Review Date: Sat November 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, Fast and Good
Cons: None..unless you get salt in your bag

I used Sugar Free Davinci Strawberry Syrup instead of Vanilla. I also used fiberfit instead of splenda. Really, really good. I made a double batch and only ate less than half. I still want to know how this works?!
NoSugarShell
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2007
Location: Hurst, TX
Posts: 1343
Review Date: Mon February 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Awesome
Cons: Not enough!

Great ice cream...the only problem is you need to double or triple the recipe if you want more than a couple of scoops but the ice cream is awesome. I used Stevia as the sweetner and it was perfect.
tinamariec
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 96
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great recipe! Easy to make!
lionessmo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8
Review Date: Fri January 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty and easy!
Cons:

Surprisingly good for such few ingredients. The perfect sweetness and it's satisfying. I didn't feel the urge to immediately make another. Thanks for sharing!
pgray1229
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 128
Review Date: Wed May 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't tried this yet, but I don't get how 1/2 cup heavy cream can make 10 servings.. Maybe someone can enlighten me.
Review Date: Wed August 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1.79 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice summer treat
Cons: trying not to get salt in it!

VERY tasty! Now, I can have ice cream, too! Serving size is small though (guessing serving is the 1/2 cup) , but better than nothing!
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8959
Review Date: Fri January 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!! products on hand
Cons: High in cals

Delicious! Fun to make and tasty- made choc. w/ cocoa pwder.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.