Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
43 Sun April 10, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 32 ounces cream cheese
1 cup splenda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract


1 teaspoon lemon juice
4 eggs plus 1 egg yolk
3 tablespoons sour cream
How To Prepare: With an electric mixer, combine the cream cheese and splenda at slow to medium speed, scraping sides often. Add all other ingredients except eggs. When completely mixed (with no lumps), add the eggs and egg yolk, one at a time, beating very slowly. When eggs are incorporated, do not mix any more. Over-mixing the eggs is a contributing cause of cracked cheesecakes. (The leading cause of cracking is over-cooking, so donât believe any one who tells you it is normal for a cheesecake to be cracked; it isnât.) Always treat the batter gently.


Pour the mixture into the springform pan. Place the pan on a very large piece of aluminum foil, and fold the foil up around the pan to create a watertight barrier around the cheesecake. Then place the barrier pan in an even larger pan and fill the larger pan halfway with water. This is called a water bath. It is a gentler way to cook the cheesecake.


Place the entire water bath containing the cheesecake in a 300-degree preheated oven. Cook for 1 hour and reduce heat to 200 degrees for 1 more hour. Turn oven off and leave cheesecake in until the oven is completely cool. The cheesecake can even be left overnight at this point. Cracks can also occur when a cheesecake cools too quickly.


It may be beneficial to run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake, separating it from the sides of the pan. If your goal is to serve the cheesecake on a different dish without the bottom of the spring form pan, then the pan can be lined with parchment paper before the batter is poured in. Make sure to grease both sides of the paper. This will make for easy removal of the cheesecake later. It works best if the cheesecake has been refrigerated fully before trying to remove it from the bottom pan.
Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 5g
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


Lila
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 1640
Review Date: Tue January 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It tastes great!
Cons: I see none

I have made this recipe several times and Love it. My husband will eat it all in one sitting if I don't watch him.
a380_54
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2003
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin
Posts: 363
Review Date: Mon February 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Made this recipe, and oh how tasty it is!!
Cons:

Wonderful and easy recipe to follow.
decodiva27
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 729
Review Date: Mon February 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious & simple ingredients
Cons: water bath thing a little hard to magae- mine still got wet somehow

It didn't look great, but it tastes awesome! I will make it again- Hopefully with better looking results.
Review Date: Sat February 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't made this but I want to. What size pan do you use?
Kiky
Reality TV Guru

Registered: February 2004
Location: In The Middle of Red Sox Nation And Patriots Country
Posts: 15007
Review Date: Sun February 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): EASY!!! I LOVE easy/simple recipes!!!!!
Cons:

I am not a big cheesecake person but we were having company and I needed something sweet to have. THIS WAS PERFECT!! It was SO good. The company we had isnt a "LC" couple and they had no idea!! They didnt even ask why there was no crust! LOL.
GREAT recipe I will make this next time we have company or such!!
kglowack
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 611
Review Date: Mon February 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
Cons: None

I halfed the recipe and made it in 5 custard cups (baked at 350 for 30 min. and 250 for 30 min. in water bath). I also replaced the vanilla with Nature's Flavors white chocolate flavor and added some NF sugar-free raspberry topping (before baking I just swirled it into the cups). It turned out excellent (I reduced the amount of Splenda though because I was adding the raspberry syrup).
bryarsmom
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 126
Review Date: Sun February 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, creamy and delicious
Cons: Disappears too quickly!

Very pleased with all beachgirl's cheesecake recipes. This one cracked but didn't detract from overall flavor. Nice, creamy texture-even using the low-fat cream cheese.
Husband giving you a hard time about going LC? Let him have a taste of these cheescakes!
meye2boys
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Alaska
Posts: 327
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The best cheesecake ever
Cons: none

This was so good. Will definetly use it every time I need to make a cheesecake.
dog crazy
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 32
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This cheesecake is the best!!!! I am not particularly good in the kitchen, but this recipe was easy to make, turned out perfect with no cracks at all and is delicious. Even my husband who is not a LC'r loves it!!!!
Review Date: Sat March 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Good
Cons: None

I made this cheesecake and LOVED IT. Had to freeze the rest of it before I ate the whole thing. LOL I will be making this for Easter dinner.
PaChris2
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2001
Location: New Cumberland, PA USA
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mon April 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Easy to Make
Cons: tastes too good :)

This is the first cheesecake I have ever made. I have eaten plenty, but never attempted to make any. It was not difficult - I think it turned out perfect!


My family thought it tasted great too!
Review Date: Tue April 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make!
Cons: None :)

This is the first low carb cheese cake I have ever made, You cannot tell the difference! It is "Off the chain"


No cracks, smooth, creamy delicious! I made a
topping with sour cream, splenda and vanilla...
yummy!
SweettoothLady
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Posts: 6386
Review Date: Thu April 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy in my tummy
Cons: Waiting for it to chill is torture

So good people don't even care that it is low carb. They gobble it up. Took it to church and it was the only dessert that was finished.
Mimi13
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2003
Location: An island in Florida
Posts: 1349
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Review Date: Thu May 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): haven't made it yet
Cons: No pan size recommended

This recipe doesn't tell you what size pan to use... does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks!
Jessi
LCF Game Room Groupie

Registered: November 2000
Posts: 22642
Review Date: Sun June 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is an absolute joy to bake and eat!! Thank God for BeachGirl!!
Cons: NONE

Review Date: Wed July 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderfully creamy and delish
Cons: long baking time

All Beachgirl recipes are wonderful. I make one a week and still run out.
rola51
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2004
Posts: 2110
Review Date: Sat July 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy!
Cons: None!

I had tried another low-carb cheesecake recipe, but it doesn't compare to this! This is creamy and delicious - and it's true...no cracking! It's the first time I've used a water bath, and it was easy, and the cheesecake came out perfect! I'm soooo impressed!
rola51
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2004
Posts: 2110
Review Date: Sat July 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy!
Cons: None!

Sorry for the double - I used a 9" springform pan...HTH!
Review Date: Mon July 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very, very tasty! Easy to make!
Cons: None

This was so good and so easy! I tried one of the other reviewers suggestion and halved it and used custard cups. Great low carb treat!! I did cut back on the Splenda, as I don't like it overly sweet.
Review Date: Sun August 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): sound basic recipe
Cons: none

One of the best recipes I've gotten off this site. I couldn't help but fiddle with it, though. I added more sour cream as I like that flavor. I also substituted 1/3 of a cup of Bailey's for 1/3 of the Spenda. (Yes, I know it's more carbs, but it was good.) Finally, I added 4 Z-carb bars to half the batter and made a swirl. Yum!
neworleanskitty
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: November 2003
Posts: 9217
Review Date: Fri August 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not difficult, delicious, perfect for low-carbers
Cons: Baking time is 2 hours, so you need to commit

I've baked cheesecakes before, and have gotten rave reviews, but I've been hesitant to try them with splenda instead of sugar (which is really all that crustless cheesecakes need to become low-carb) because I wasn't sure how they would come out. I tried this one after rave reviews. The process is a little different than what I was used to, but the results were just as nice.


I agree with the reviewers.


The instructions are easy to understand and to follow. You don't need to be a pro.


One thing I wanted to point out, to novices, is that it's really okay if your cheesecake cracks. I've baked many that have and it doesn't affect the taste or texture. If you're making a formal presentation of your cheesecake, it's nicer looking if it doesn't crack, but it's nothing to fret about, if you are new and not sure how long to beat those eggs in.


I've made a lot of oopsies with this recipe, like dunking in 4 times as much vanilla or forgetting that the last egg was supposed to be yolk-only... and SURPRISE! it's just as nice! So don't be afraid here...


Serve plain, or with jam, or with a berry sauce you made, and bon appetit!
neworleanskitty
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: November 2003
Posts: 9217
Review Date: Fri August 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ...
Cons: ...

One thing I forgot to mention is that I've cooked every single cheesecake in my life in a regular old glass pie pan. Every one called for a spring form pan, and I've just never gotten around to getting one.


I guess it would be nicer with it... I think? I've never tried. No one has ever noticed (that I served it to) and it certainly doesn't change how it's baked or prepared. So if you don't have the springform pan, don't be afraid to try it.
michelemomof2
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5096
Review Date: Mon November 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rich and creamy texture
Cons: None

This is a delicious recipe and no one would know it is a sugar free, low carb cheesecake. So yummy! I highly recommend this recipe.
collrob2101
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: January 2004
Posts: 7873
Review Date: Mon February 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made this recipe last night using the waterbath method. I was excited that it came out with no cracks. Overall the cheesecake was good, but had a eggy taste to it. Next time I make it I will use less eggs and add a touch of heavy cream. The eggy taste goes away if you top it with some whipped cream.
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY
Cons: a litte eggy taste, but not enough to keep it from being enjoyable

This is very yummy. I was surprised at how creamy it came out. It did have a little eggy taste to it, but it wasn't too bad.


Just before baking, I added big gobs of sugar free blackberry jam, and swirled them in. It was a yummy addition.
SweetTLC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 216
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This recipe was very easy...very tasty and very adaptable.
Cons: I could taste the Splenda a tiny bit...might combine sweetners next time.

I read all of the reviews for this cheesecake before making it. I did do what another reviewer suggested and I replaced one egg and the one yolk for an equivalent of heavy cream. It probably did change the texture a bit...it might not have set up as well but it was EXCELLENT just the same...super creamy, rich, delicious...not too sweet. I swirled some raspberry low carb, sugar free jam in before baking. I am eating a piece right now and it is really fantastic. My husband is going to LOVE this!! I would serve this to company. Thanks for a fabulous recipe. God bless.
Review Date: Fri February 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make; uses common ingredients; very low carb count; delicious
Cons: Plain; slightly eggy taste

One of the reasons I chose this recipe out of the many cheesecake recipes on this site is that it uses only normal ingredients that you can find at any grocery store. This was sort of a last-minute project, so I didn't have time to go out and find things like almond flour and designer protein.


This cheesecake was very easy to make. I followed Beachgirl's instructions pretty closely and it came out beautifully with no cracks and a perfect creamy texture. My whole family (including non-LC people) loved it.


As some other reviewers mentioned, the cheesecake had a somewhat "eggy" taste, even though I only used 3 whole eggs + 1 yolk because I was using extra-large eggs. Also, with no crust or flavorings, it was a little plain for my tastes (I'll probably try one of Beachgirl's flavored cheesecakes next time, or add a simple nut crust). I topped it with some sugar-free strawberry preserves (which doubled the carb count, but since it's very low in carbs in the first place, not a big problem) and it was great.


In case anyone's interested, I calculated the nutrition information for 1/12 of a cheesecake (toppings not included):


Calories: 318
Fat: 29.6 g
Saturated Fat: 17.2 g
Cholesterol: 163 mg
Sodium: 264 mg
Carbohydrates: 5.1 g
Fiber: 0 g
Sugars: 2.7 g
Protein: 7.6 g
Net Carbs: 5.1 g
lbaile2
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2004
Location: north carolina
Posts: 1543
Review Date: Tue March 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

i have made several of beachgirls cheesecakes and have liked them all. I took this one and skipped the vanilla, added 1/4 to 1/3 cup of unsweetened lime juice, the zest of one lime and the juice of one lime. came out wonderful. keylime is one of my favorite flavors and this was very good.
TheBluegrassBabe
Live. Love. Lounge.

Registered: February 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 6897
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so yummy, wanna eat the whole thing!
Cons: so yummy! :) wanna eat the whole thing.

I really enjoy this cheesecake. I "kick it up a notch" I use a pecan crust, add a bit more sour cream and a bit more lemon juice and I also use 1/2 cup vanilla davincis and a little more than 1/2 cup splenda granular. I serve with blueberry sauce! It's just to good! Wink WITH my additions I calculated a serving to be about 6-7 net carbs....but it's worth it!
Gonna try the PB Cup one next! Smile
sdh
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 74
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great tasting
Cons:

hollyrae
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Posts: 181
Review Date: Wed April 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Delicious
binki
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: February 2004
Location: the 6th borough of NYC
Posts: 1673
Review Date: Sun May 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clear, easy instructions
Cons: doesn't include a crust

Perfect, perfect. I've made lots of cheesecakes but this one was the best looking one I've ever made. I added 1/2 cup of polydextrose to the batter but otherwise followed her directions exactly, and it got raves.


I made the following crust:


3/4 cup flax meal
3/4 cup almond meal
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons butter, melted
6 drops Sweetzfree (1/4 cup sugar equivalent)


Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl.
Press mixture into an 8- or 9-inch pie pan.
Bake at 375F for 7 minutes. Cool.
If recipe calls for unbaked pie shell, just chill for about an hour.
Jnen
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 43
Review Date: Sun December 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): simple
Cons:

This is DELICIOUS! I had to take the cake onto my DH's office to avoid eating the whole thing!!
Review Date: Sun February 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: not quickie to make

It's missing a bit of the "bite" most cheesecakes have and this may be because I forgot the lemon juice, but it's still pretty tasty. No one else notices the eggyness, and I'm not sure I do; it may in my mind since it was suggested in earlier reviews. I carefully sealed my springform pan with foil but still water got inside. Didn't affect it much though, the consistency was still very good. I let it sit in the oven overnight as suggested and the top cracked. Easily hidden with low carb syrup I suppose. I probably wouldn't have noticed or cared about the cracks either if it hadn't been mentioned.
smileyface
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 315
Review Date: Mon September 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): De-lic-ious
Cons: too good !!!!

Oh my gosh, this was so good. I took some to work and my boss was saying how good it looked. I told him he wasn't getting any. This will be made again and again.
Mindy5936
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 901
Review Date: Thu July 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Unbelievable!!!!
Cons: NONE

This is the creamiest cheesecake ever!!! I did make a few changes I used two full eggs and one yolk because I had extra large eggs, I added a few tablespoons of heavy cream and swirled in some SF raspberry jam! I actually think this is better than the cheesecake factory!!!
JerseyGirl1969
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 2147
Review Date: Sat July 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): You wouldn't know it's sugar free
Cons:

I had a family birthday party to go to, but wanted an option for myself. I made this and everyone had a piece and said you'd never know it was sugar free.


I did two alterations to it. I used 5 full eggs and lemon extract instead of juice, based on what I had handy.


I had made this one time before with lemon juice and frankly, it's more like New York Cheesecake with with the extract. It has a stronger flavor with the extract.


It's very creamy. Thank you to the original poster.
foxybeejer
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2008
Location: Green Bay Wi
Posts: 377
Review Date: Fri August 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: Wasn't what I expected

I thought that this was a bit hyped up. It was good but not as good as real cheesecake and I def. could tell a difference. It had a pretty good flavor but was a bit "eggy" to me. A nice treat but I probably won't make it again. I will try another cheesecake recipe that is on LCF.
sweetdreams
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 299
Review Date: Wed December 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great directions
Cons: Too good

Excellent cheesecake.
Review Date: Sun June 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, tasty
Cons: none!

Very good and very easy recipe! The only modification I made was to omit the lemon juice and use "Princess Cake & Cookie" bakery emulsion (From King Arthur Flour) - adds a creamy, rich bouquet and a light nutty taste (and a hint of citrus). Love this recipe!!
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good
Cons:

I've made this twice and it turned out perfect both times. I'm not a huge sweet person, but I did have to add another half a cup of Splenda to it to get it more to my liking. It's just a great recipe, easy to mix, easy to bake, and very easy to eat. I top my with a tblsp. of Sugerfree strawberry topping and whipped cream. I feel decadent when I eat it.
Review Date: Sun April 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: letting it chill

I had to have a taste as soon as it was room temp...gross...what are those ladies thinking. Then put it in the fridge, waited until the nest day...and oh my goodness..it was great.


Didn't have a spring form so used a 9X13 pyrex and it was fine


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.