Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
7 Mon July 12, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 32 ounces cream cheese
1 cup Splenda
1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
1 teaspoon Fresh lemon juice



4 Eggs, plus 1 Egg yolk
3 tablespoons Sour cream
1 1/2 cups blueberries (see note)
¸ teaspoon nutmeg
How To Prepare: With an electric mixer, combine the cream cheese and splenda at slow to medium speed, scraping sides often. Add all other ingredients except eggs. When completely mixed (with no lumps), add the eggs and egg yolk, one at a time, beating very slowly. When eggs are incorporated, stir in the blueberries by hand. Do not mix (with an electric mixer) any more. Over-mixing the eggs is a contributing cause of cracked cheesecakes. (The leading cause of cracking is over-cooking, so donât believe any one who tells you it is normal for a cheesecake to be cracked; it isnât.) Always treat the batter gently.


Pour the mixture into the springform pan. Place the pan on a very large piece of aluminum foil, and fold the foil up around the pan to create a watertight barrier around the cheesecake. Then place the barrier pan in an even larger pan and fill the larger pan halfway with water. This is called a water bath. It is a gentler way to cook the cheesecake.


Place the entire water bath containing the cheesecake in a 300-degree preheated oven. Cook for 1 hour and reduce heat to 200 degrees for 1 more hour. Turn oven off and leave cheesecake in until the oven is completely cool. The cheesecake can even be left overnight at this point. Cracks can also occur when a cheesecake cools too quickly.


It may be beneficial to run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake, separating it from the sides of the pan. If your goal is to serve the cheesecake on a different dish without the bottom of the spring form pan, then the pan can be lined with parchment paper before the batter is poured in. Make sure to grease both sides of the paper. This will make for easy removal of the cheesecake later. It works best if the cheesecake has been refrigerated fully before trying to remove it from the bottom pan.


NOTE: If using frozen blueberries (which I did and they work fine), pat them dry with paper towels to remove the excess moisture.


Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 7
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8672
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty easy and DELICIOUS!!
Cons: Need to freeze or you'll eat it all!

I loved this cheesecake. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg and it was great! I also substituted mixed berried (blue, straw, black and raspberries) because that was all I had. It was a pretty swirled effect and tasted superb. It was a hit at the baby shower I made it for. Highly recommend it.
Lori
Capture.JPG

Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: May 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 21605
Review Date: Sat October 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It tastes amazingly good
Cons: It was a little difficult to mix

I made this for my DH for his birthday. I added a sprinkling of chopped hazlenuts on top and a little whipped cream. It was Excellent!!


We ate a piece warm then put it in the fridge overnight. It was wonderful both ways - never cracked - but the texture was much more like cheesecake after being in the fridge.


I used frozen blueberries - little tiny ones.


I Highly recommend the recipe.
sdh
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 74
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

excellent
Review Date: Thu January 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wow!
Cons: the wait ;)

This is just what I wanted. I used the frozen mixed berries. I love this!
Review Date: Fri January 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I just wanted to say that I am in love with this recipe. I have used mixed berries, strawberries, and blueberries and I am thrilled with the results beyond belief! I highly recommend this recipe.
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: nutmeg

i thought the cake was good except for the added nutmeg the nutmeg stole the flavor from the blueberries. texture was nice, ill try this again without the nutmeg and have a feeling it will get a 10 rating
lulamc
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 105
Review Date: Mon July 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is the best cheesecake I have ever had in my life! Perfect! Used fresh blueberries and it is perfect! Portion control is the only problem!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.