Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
34 Sat October 1, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 9.1












Description:
Ingredients: 1.5lbs lean ground beef
1 cup diced onion
1 can (4oz) sliced mushrooms; drained
1lb bag frozen broccoli flowerettes; thawed
1/2 bottle ragu alfredo sauce
salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste
extra parmesan cheese for the top
How To Prepare: Brown ground beef with onions. Drain if needed. Add salt, pepper and gralic powder to taste then add the mushrooms and broccoli. Cover and let steam for about 5 minutes over medium heat, stiring occasionally.
Raise heat to high, pour on alfredo sauce* and let simmer 2-3 minutes to heat through.
Top with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and enjoy!
*Note: use as much alfredo as you like. I find 1/2 a jar is enough, but it you want it more soupy, add the whole thing!
Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 7
Preparation Time: 25-30 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Fri February 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes great, easy to make
Cons: none

this is a wonderful recipe!!, the only thing I did differently was to put the mushrooms thru my food processor to make them small, out of sight out of mind kind of thing, even my 5yo loved it!!!
Review Date: Wed March 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, tastes really good.
Cons: None

For my taste an entire jar of the alfredo sauce is the way to go, and with the new low-carb sauce that Ragu has put out it even lowers the carb count a bit.
Review Date: Sat March 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons:

Made this for dinner yesterday and it was so easy to make and tasted very good. I used the whole jar of sauce and it came out perfect.
Pillowtrot
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Chongqing, China
Posts: 2191
Review Date: Tue June 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, tasty, fairly easy
Cons:

This was quite good. We served it for some guests and everyone had seconds -- some even had thirds! Definitely needs the whole jar of alfredo sauce. I cut back on the broccoli and there was still just a little too much of it. Also, I doubled the amount of mushrooms and that was just about right.
Review Date: Sat June 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so easy to make and very tasty
Cons:

Review Date: Thu August 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so easy to make
Cons:

I am a working mom so this is a very easy and very good meal especially if you're on the run. My husband really like it too!! Smile
idahospud
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: Idaho
Posts: 26
Review Date: Thu August 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and fast
Cons:

All five of my kids (18 months to 11 years) gobbled this up, as well as my husband. Along with a salad, this recipe (using the whole jar of alfredo sauce)was enough for our family of 7. My kids asked me to make noodles or rice for them to put this on next time.
SPECK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2383
Review Date: Sun September 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy
Cons: non

I really can't recommend this recipe because you might eat it in one sitting!!!!
It was great and I am thinking I might try to make it with chichen also. Highly recommend.
Thanks Dottie
Review Date: Fri November 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This was very good & filling! My son even liked it!! I think next time I'll try it with the Carb Options Chedder Sauce (from ragu)!! Yum!
FigxNewton
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Review Date: Sat November 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: None

I tried this recipe using chicken and it tasted wonderful. I also omitted the onions since I had none on hand, and it still came out great. I'll take extra broccoli for mine, please!
rolley
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: October 2003
Location: Florissant, MO/St. Louis metro area
Posts: 1701
Review Date: Sun November 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, everyone enjoyed it
Cons:

I made it for the opening weekend of deer season (rifle) and all four of us loved it (Grandpa, Dad, Mom, & 12 year old son). I forgot to put in the onion and mushrooms (running around like a chicken with my head cut off with all of the last minute prep to do) and it still wasn't lacking. I did double the recipe, though (big eaters) and we had enough leftover to take to a friend (his wife was out of town). He liked it, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Delicious!
Cons: None

My fiance isn't on a low carb diet so, sometimes it's tough to please both of us.


I gobbled this up AND had it for lunch the next day, much like a previous poster, he went back for seconds also! Definatley recommend!
Review Date: Sat February 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make
Cons: None

Man was that easy and delish! Will definitely make again, and it made a lot too! I love mushrooms, so I doubled it to 2 small cans. Yum!
cmiller130
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Genoa, OH
Posts: 242
Review Date: Wed March 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy
Cons: None noted

Even liked it better the next day! Bet it would be good with the cheddar Cheese Sauce.
chicketychun
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 141
Review Date: Sun March 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very filling
Cons: none

I made this, but used fresh veggies and the Carb Options Double Cheddar instead of the Alfredo. It was really really good. Reminded me of Hamburger Helper, but with broccoli instead of the pasta.


Review Date: Tue April 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast and easy
Cons:

i used 2 lbs of ground beef and 1 whole jar of sauce and it was great!!!! I even made low-carb pasta to go with it, a complete meal in less than 15 minutes.
WatermelonMist
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
Review Date: Mon May 23, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was delicious!
Cons:

This recipe was easy to make and was super yummy and filling! I used a whole jar of the alfredo sauce to make it more soupy. Lovely!
Review Date: Fri June 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy yo make and FANTASTIC taste!!
Cons:

What a great dish!!!! Thumbs Up!:d
lizzy9volt
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue August 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): DELICIOUS!
Cons: Kind of tedious to make...

I decided to make these after seeing all of the reviews, and although I was worries they might be too hot, they were JUST right!!! I used turkey bacon instead of pork, and didnt have to worry about crispiness, they were perfect!
carissa_konrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 400
Review Date: Thu December 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: not very flavorfull

I had to add a ton of extra spices and cheddar cheese for it to have enough flavor for my dh and myself. Sorry....maybe I'm the one who messed up, but I didn't care much for this.
westiesam
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 139
Review Date: Mon January 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very quick to make
Cons: None that I can think of!

I used the lower carb Ragu Alfredo sauce and though this dish was great! Nice change of pace.
Cathlena
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 413
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

This dish is DELICIOUS!!! I have failed with Low carb in the past because I didn't get creative enough with cooking. This is one dish I will prepare quite often!! I am not a mushroom eater, so I left them out. THANKS!!
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8021
Review Date: Tue February 21, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make and fast
Cons: didn't taste as good as I hoped

I tried it even though it didn't really sound that great to me, b/c of all the rave reviews it received. I hate to disagree, but my family wouldn't even eat it. I did't like it either, but at least ate some of it. Sorry, I dont' like to be negative, but wanted to share my opinion.
LeighAnne
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 411
Review Date: Mon November 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): FAST!
Cons: none

WoW was this great! My boyfriend loved it also. I will definitely be making this again!
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri May 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Great and Very Easy
Cons: Looks a little like dog food

Even though this doesn't look the greatest when it's done, it tastes great and it's really easy to make. Once I convinced my kids to try it, they loved it too.
Review Date: Wed May 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make - quick!
Cons: Doesn't look great when it is done

THIS WAS WONDERFUL! It was easy to make, and everyone loved it. We double the recipe for a group of 8. The only problem was that is doesn't have a very pretty presentation. But I think with some plate creativity you could come up with some.
gettinserious
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: November 2002
Location: Crossroads of America :D
Posts: 7271
Review Date: Sat November 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): simple
Cons: none

This is great stuff! I made it with Classico Brothers instead of Ragu. Has 3 carbs per 1/4 cup and it was great. They also have more selection. The one I chose, porabello mushroom went well with the canned mushroom ingredient.
Review Date: Thu March 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY
Cons:

WOW! I used Steamfresh broccoli and I added a little splenda brown sugar to the meat. OMFG!!!!!! It was to die for. After I combined everything I baked it for 20 minutes with freshly grated parmesian cheese on top. WOW WOW WOW!
Desertduck
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2002
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 98
Review Date: Thu July 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make!!!
Cons:

This is awesome! My family loved it!
cozysensation
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6
Review Date: Sun April 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I am very impressed with this Hamburger Helper style dish. I did add some extra herbs (fresh basil right before I added the alfredo sauce). And I had a jar of roasted red peppers in the fridge..Great way to enhance the meal..and this will be great for my non-low carber in the house. She just has to cook some rice or angel hair pasta. I likey a lot!
Review Date: Thu August 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty and filling.
Cons: none

My husband cooked this for me the other evening and it turned out wonderfully. I will be using this recipe again in the future. Thanks for posting it.
Review Date: Tue August 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so easy and delicious
Cons:

Easy and delicious. I used the roasted garlic alfredo from Ragu (the whole jar), and broccoli/cauliflower mix for the veggies. My two non LC friends LOVED it over egg noodles.
vilanteira
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1067
Review Date: Thu September 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so delicious and very easy
Cons:

I made my own alfredo sauce from scratch, because I love real hwc and butter. Added some squash instead of the mushrooms, and the result was fabulous! It wasn't just me drooling at the dinner table, I can tell you that!
leisha
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2005
Location: Luverne, Alabama
Posts: 1813
Review Date: Sat October 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): different, filling and easy
Cons:

...forgot to add onions but I can't imagine it could be much better! This was very good and different and easy!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.