Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
44 Thu May 5, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description:
Ingredients: 1 lb. very lean hamburger
1 small chopped onion
4 slices crisp-cooked bacon, chopped in bits
3 eggs
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup half-n-half
8 oz. shredded chedder or swiss cheese
garlic salt to taste
black or white pepper
How To Prepare: Brown hamburger in skillet with onion. Remove and mix in bowl with bacon pieces, breaking up any larger clumps with a fork or pastry mixer until you have a fine mix. Drain well of any excess grease and press into the bottom of a deep-dish pie pan. Set aside.


Preheat oven to 350ˇF.


Combine remaining ingredients in mixer bowl and whip well. Pour mixture over beef "crust" and bake 40-45 minutes until top is browned and "set". Cool 15-20 minutes before slicing. This can be packaged in Ziplocs or plastic containers for meals quickly microwaved over the next 3-5 days. (Does not freeze well, though.)
Number of Servings: 6
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2.2
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Thu January 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good
Cons:

Excellent taste! Very rich and filling.
Morpheus
I LIKE BEER

Registered: January 2004
Posts: 5140
Review Date: Fri January 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I'v had this twice, and it is awesome. Also, it makes a great breakfast alternative tojust plain eggs!
Review Date: Sat February 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste
Cons: A tad time consuming - cooking plus 1 hour of baking/resting

Really, really good! Truly delicious, really easy to make, and best of all, a low carb baked meal! Just be wary of the time - preparing the ingredients plus 40 to 45 min to bake, then has to sit for 10 - 15 min. Would definitely recommend it though, and will make it again!
Sherry6633
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 9
Review Date: Thu March 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is Excellent..
Cons:

This was so good it will now become one of my regular meals I cook. Everyone loved it. I thought it was quick and easy to cook. Thanks a bunch for a great recipe.
Review Date: Wed March 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is the best one yet. East to make and everyone loved it
Cons:

Instead of half & half, I used heavy whipping cream. Quiche, came out create!!
Review Date: Sun March 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious-great for everyone, not just low carbers!
Cons: none

This was wonderful. I think next time I might try using a spicy cheese like pepperjack! It might just give it an extra kick.
Review Date: Thu March 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: a little time consuming

My whole family really liked it a lot. Especially my 16 year old daughter...she gave it an 11. I will make this again.
Review Date: Sun March 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This was great! Thank you for sharing.
Cons: Well...actually I like putsing around in the kitchen :^)

Review Date: Mon March 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty! Leftovers were great for breakfast the next day!
Cons: Slightly time consuming from start to "fork" - but worth it.

I think it would be easy to make alterations, and am planning on trying it with spinach or broccoli. Also will try making it with italian sausage instead of the beef.
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes wonderful.
Cons: None

I thought it was an excellent meal and easy to make. I think it was even better as leftovers for the next day or two.
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great!!!
Cons: none

Easy to make if you use the pre-cooked bacon, which I did.
Cooking time was slightly less than stated, so watch you don't burn it.
I used swiss cheese....superb!
Might try adding an extra egg next time to make it a little fluffier, but it's hard to improve on perfection.
emc317
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2003
Location: Daytona Bch, Florida
Posts: 19
Review Date: Mon April 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy
Cons: None

This was wonderful and was even better the next day. This is great to have on hand for a quick lunch or snack. I used half swiss and half cheddar. Awesome!
Review Date: Tue April 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and reheats well
Cons:

My husband loves it!
Review Date: Sun April 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste is good, great for leftovers
Cons: hamburger "crust" and egg filling don't exactly blend

I will make the dish again. I added diced portobellow mushrooms fried in the bacon grease. I wondered if you added the hamburger to the egg mixture -- perhaps added another egg -- instead of as a crust, what it would be like. Perhaps I didn't press the "crust" down enough?
Review Date: Sun May 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good!
Cons:

This was very good and easy to make. We loved it and I enjoyed it for breakfast the next day. Even my 15 month old loved it which is great for such a picky eater!
Review Date: Wed May 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious! A great alternative to just plain meat each night.
Cons: none

This was so good. My husband loved it and wanted the leftovers for lunch the next day. I used heavy cream in place of the half & half to cut the carbs down further. Absolutely delicious!
Review Date: Wed June 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and quick to prepare
Cons: none

this was excellent and makes a really great breakfast. i baked one on a sunday night and had breakfasts done for the better part of the week
brr9270
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 185
Review Date: Mon July 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy!
Cons: a little time consuming.

This is a little time consuming, but very good! I have used sausage in place of the ground beef before, but you really have to drain it very well.
Angie
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: July 2004
Location: Miami Lakes
Posts: 2073
Review Date: Mon July 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I love it, it was great
Cons:

This dish was wonderful, I made it Sunday and I ate 4 pieces, It was great, thank you so much for it.
rosie10
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 32
Review Date: Wed July 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: none

This was delicious! I used 2 lbs of ground beef instead of just the one and followed the rest of the recipe exact. It still held together very well when sliced. Probably alot more meaty this way, but all the other flavors still came thru. This will surely be a once a weeker!
Review Date: Wed August 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

This is a very good meal...quick and easy too Smile
Review Date: Sun August 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is definitely a keeper!! Thanks
Cons:

philly595
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 72
Review Date: Thu September 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

this dish was very good and easy to make.
Review Date: Sun September 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty & easy
Cons: needs salt & pepper

I thought this was great- even better as leftovers.
Stacey1968
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Review Date: Mon November 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): VERY easy to make ahead of time
Cons: NONE!! yum!

Absolutely wonderful! Cooked the bacon and onion with the beef and put it into a 2 L, rectangular baking pan! thanks for the great recipe!!!!
shamrockgirl
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Foxboro, MA
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue November 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

My husband groaned when he saw this cooling on the counter for dinner! I asked him to at least try it, he loved it! And he added salsa to his to spice it up a bit. It's great heated up the next day too!
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious, easy
Cons: none

This was a very tasty dish. I didn't have any bacon but I sauteed mushrooms and green pepper with the onions. It was scrumptious! Even better the next day.
Not2BaBeachballBride
TICKER.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Posts: 568
Review Date: Thu December 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, Pretty and Non LCers like it too!
Cons: none

Very tasty... leftovers are good. An added bonus is that my High Carbing SO loved it too! I ate it with some sour cream on top. Yummy!
chicketychun
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 141
Review Date: Sun February 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

Awesome!!! My whole family loved it.
tajjcl
Guest

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue April 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Taste!!!
Cons:

My husband absolutely loved this meal, he put salsa on top to give a little extra kick. Will make again and again.
Shells71
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 147
Review Date: Mon May 23, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and so yummy
Cons: none

This is the first LC recipe Ive tried...So easy..so yummy.. and everyone loved it, even my super finicky 8 year old!! I used heavy cream instead of h&h, turned out super fluffy...I will do this again, next time thinking of adding green pepper? maybe chopped broccoli and chicken instead of ground beef...maybe green beans
sunshineinut
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 349
Review Date: Tue January 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious, very quick to make
Cons:

My family loved it! It is perfect for dinner or breakfast.
oceanna
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2003
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sat May 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
Cons:

I make this all the time--it's sooooo good!!
curliegirl
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2003
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 1135
Review Date: Wed July 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Taste
Cons: none

This was easy to make and good. My husband thought is was great and asked me to make it again. It's a nice break from our usual chicken dishes.
Review Date: Mon October 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I am so happy you all really like this recipe! It is nice to see all the variations you are trying also. DH and I love it with 1/8-1/4 of a finely chopped jalapeno added to it also. I also make it occasionally with crumbled Italian sausage with some basil and/or oregano added. Many variations possible.
Thanks again for the wonderful reviews!
LeighAnne
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 411
Review Date: Sun November 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: none

YUM YUM! This is a fantastic recipe!!!
Review Date: Sun March 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make. This is a keeper.
Cons:

Thumbs Up!
Dig62
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 36
Review Date: Sun June 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Surprisingly filling. Tastes great!
Cons: Takes a while to prepare.

Awesome recipe. Will definitely make again!
Bissonnettemi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1085
Review Date: Wed July 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's so very good plus easy to make & bake
Cons: Cooked mine in a stoneware piedish, took 15 minutes longer.

My hubby loved it & I loved it. Hot, tasty, filling and satisfying. Will make again and again! Thanks!
ImRain
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu September 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Will definetly make again!
jay_sudderth
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue April 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Leftovers!
Cons: I hate cooking bacon, but I love bacon..especially fresh cooked!

Usually have it every other week, as my wife really likes this recipe.
Luvabeach
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Coastal NC
Posts: 150
Review Date: Sun July 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious
Cons: None

I have made this recipe for years, but without the bacon. It's a great breakfast meal and very filling. The hamburg can be replaced with ground sausage, but I'm sure calories and fat are increased.


This recipe is listed on Low Carb Luxury's website, and I think Linda's.
Review Date: Tue April 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to put together
Cons:

Wonderful recipe! Will be making this again adding in chives. And again with sausage instead of beef.
heatherwagnon
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2010
Location: Vacaville CA
Posts: 592
Review Date: Thu May 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so yummy!!
Cons: none

This was awesome!! I didn't weigh the cheese I grated but i'm sure it wasn't even close to 8 oz and it was just perfect. My husband and I devoured it! I think it's more like 4 servings instead of six cause one of 6 just didn't seem enough for either of us. This was totally awesome though!!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.