Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
14 Sat August 15, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 4 large eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup water
3 tsp. vanilla
4 T. butter
1/2 C. almond flour
3/4 C. Splenda
1 C. coconut (unsweetened)
How To Prepare: Place all ingredients into a large bowl. Blend until well combined. Pour into a greased (I used Pam), 9" pie dish and bake at 350 degrees for approx. 1 hour or until set well.
Tastes amazingly like rice pudding! Really nice :-)
Number of Servings: 8 generous servings
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: not available
Preparation Time: 15 min. or so
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


soonerlandjoe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: southeast oklahoma
Posts: 9
Review Date: Sun April 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): REALLY EASY - BAKES UP WONDERFULLY
Cons: AN HOUR COULD BE TOO MUCH TIME..KEEP WATCH ON TIME

THIS RECIPE WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE. HOWEVER, IT IS WISE TO KEEP A WATCH ON THE TIME. THE FIRST TIME I LEFT THE PIE IN THE OVER OVER 1 HOUR AND THE BOTTOM WAS BURNT. WHEN I CUT THE TIME TO 50 MINUTES, IT CAME OUT JUST GREAT. THIS TASTES WONDERFUL, THIS RECIPE IS A KEEPER
Buckstop319
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue April 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful
Cons:

This is so much like the original recipe. I cut back on the splenda by 1/4 cup and it was good but probably needs the full amount of sweetness. I cooked mine for right at 45 minutes. Just cook until the edges start to slightly brown and a knife inserted in the middle is clean (and the middle is not "wobbly" anymore)--similar to a pecan pie. GREAT recipe. Thank you!
Review Date: Sun February 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: none

I followed the recipe exactly but baked it for 45 minutes as recommended by the other reviewer. It turned out great. My husband said it was "restaurant quality". This recipe is a new favorite. I'd like to know the carb count if someone can figure it out.
Review Date: Mon March 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

For the whole pie:
Calories: 1829
Carbs: 42
Fat: 177
protein: 33
fiber: 7
net carbs:35
franzie99
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Review Date: Thu March 31, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I need to know if there is anything I can substitute for the almond flour. I'm allergic to almonds! I've got soy flour, carbquick, flax seed meal.... Any suggestions? I find that I run in to that problem frequently... I find a recipe I'd love to try, but can't b/c of the almond thing!
Thanks!
ByeByePounds
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Posts: 45
Review Date: Fri May 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make & do not need many ingredients
Cons:

I have made a similar recipe using carbquick in place of the almond flour and I also used LC hoods milk in place of the heavy cream and water and the recipe turned out wonderful . kept an eye and cooked it for about 50 minutes .
Review Date: Sun June 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I substituted zero-carb bake mix for the almond flour, and it came out great. It's been a struggle not to eat the entire thing in one setting!
Review Date: Fri November 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This recipe was good, but it's more like a pudding than pie. I couldn't even fit it all into a 9" pan. I ended up using a 7x11" pan.
Maria Lisa
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2002
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Posts: 147
Review Date: Tue December 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent
Cons: The non-LC'ers scarf it up before i can get a second piece.

Excellent
LibertyJen
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky / Cincinnati
Posts: 534
Review Date: Mon October 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy treat: I let the top get browned, tastes like toasted coconut!
Cons: Not sure I baked it long enough

I used an 8" pie plate ... the pie stood up like a souffle. The bottom is very much a custard, and the flavor is great! This will be a staple in my recipe box!


I found the unsweetened coconut in the third grocery I tried. Kroger has it in the Baking Aisle, next to the sweetened stuff ... I bought the Kroger brand for less.
thenewme2be
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2007
Location: Can, Fl, Can (S Ont)
Posts: 323
Review Date: Sun July 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fab l/c version, ( I have used this orig rec for years...cant wait to try
Cons: Needing to find the ingredients..... but will do it !

I saw this on Hour Magazine almost 20 yrs ago, I think... and have made my own adaption to it. I use the same idea, (can add more eggs, if you like) and I remove the sweet, to make a savory version .... with ham (or any other meat) , green beans/spinach,(or any other veggie) and seasonings,along with ontions, cheese, etc.... to make a Quiche like dish.... It is great on Christmas morn, or an easy dinner, or anything..... Now that I am L/C'ing it, I cant wait to try.
thenewme2be
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2007
Location: Can, Fl, Can (S Ont)
Posts: 323
Review Date: Sat March 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cant wait to make it, delicious !
Cons:

I love the original recipe and have used it for 20 yrs,.... I made it the other day, and thought, "I should try to figure this out".... and you have... !!! FANTASTIC..... CANT WAIT TO TRY YOURS . THANK YOU SO MUCH !
LoCarbinIt
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu April 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sounds delicious and something great to have with a spring-time picnic
Cons: higher in carbs than I would like per piece but it is great to have on occasion

Has anyone tried this recipe using coconut flour in place of the almond flour? I have some and will give it a try and hope the outcome is just as good!!..Thanks for submitting this delicious dessert
Review Date: Sat August 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and recipe can be adjusted to your taste
Cons:

I love this recipe. It is somewhere between a cake and a pudding. I baked it for 55-60 minutes.


I used low carb flour instead of almond flour and it turned out great.


The second time, I added more splenda to make it sweeter and added an extra half cup of coconut.


This will be a regular for me!


The seonc


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.