Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
7 Sun June 22, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.1












Description:
Ingredients: 1 package (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed
1 cup chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. heavy cream
2 Tbsp. cream cheese
2 Tbsp. mayonnaise
1 tsp. Thicken/Thin not Starch
Vege Sal (or Salt) & Pepper


Optional: 2 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
How To Prepare: Saute onion in butter until transluscent in a medium skillet. Add mushrooms and saute until both onions and mushrooms are soft and cooked.


Add in thawed chopped spinach and mix well with mushrooms and onions.


Add cream, cream cheese, and mayo. Stir in until everything is melted and/or incorporated. Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle Thicken/Thin not Starch over entire pan and stir in until the liquids thicken. (Optional: sprinkle 2 slices of crumbled bacon over everything.) Serve hot.


Notes:The Thicken/Thin Not Starch is optional, but it makes things really nice and creamy. Guar/Xanthan gum could also be used for this (although I do not know what amount).


PER SERVING (1/4 of recipe)
Calories: 180
Fat: 16.75g
Saturated: 7.75g
Poly: 3.5g
Mono: 4.75g
Carbohydrates: 6.5g
Fiber: 3.25g
Protein 3.75g


If you don't use Thicken/Thin, it won't change the digestible carbs because it is all fiber. If you add bacon, it adds a bit more protein and fat, but no carbs.


If I'm hungry, 2 servings with a few ounces of some leftover meat makes a delicious and very filling meal with only 6.5g carbs (assuming the meat you use is 0 carbs).
Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6.5g tot - 3.25g fiber = 3.25g digestible carbs
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


tawnyna
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 37
Review Date: Sat April 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Revised to Broccoli
Cons: nothing

My family hates Spinach and mushrooms so I wondered if they would like it done in broccoli. Oh my goodness this was so good! Even my daughter ate two helpings! We had this, the Fake mashed potatoes (made from Califlower), and the chicken with cream cheese and green onion filling. It was one of the most wonderful meals. Almost like being in a restaurant! Thank you!
Pillowtrot
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Chongqing, China
Posts: 2191
Review Date: Thu April 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy, delicious
Cons: Tastes too good -- you'll want to eat it out of the pan!

I made this last night and it was excellent! The only changes I made were using fresh spinach (mcuh cheaper and takes about 30 seconds to chop) and adding some minced garlic along with the onions.


Too good! I wanted to eat the whole thing!
Review Date: Sat November 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: a little too much mayo

This was delicious!!! I didn't have any thick/thin, but I added a little mozz/cheddar cheese to it at the end and let that melt in to really hold it all together. The only thing I will change next time is to halve the mayo. The taste was good, but the smell was just too much for me. Excellent recipe and it will be made MANY more times!!!
SweetTLC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 216
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I like the use of mushrooms...very creamy and very low carb.
Cons:

This is a very delicious, quick and easy recipe for creamed spinach. The addition of mushrooms was a great idea. I only used one Tbls. of mayo and added an additional Tbls. of cream in its place. We love garlic so I added about 1/2 of a clove of chopped garlic. This recipe is a "keeper". Thanks and God bless.
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Tue February 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted a lot better than it looked
Cons: Took a long time to make

Great taste. I used fresh spinach, left out the mushrooms and did the bacon on top.


I was surpised though, it didn't make very much - surely not 4 servings which was fine because my kids wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole! It did take quite a while to make so I probably will only make this when I have time.


SPECK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2383
Review Date: Tue March 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I feel healthy because I ate spinach!!!! lols
Cons: none

I thought this was awesome!!! I was skeptical but pleasantly surprised. I had it for leftovers and it was even better. I will be making this again very soon.
Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Sandra
microbiology1
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 1584
Review Date: Sun June 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons:

I ended up adding twice as many mushrooms as recommended because I wanted to use them up but it was still great.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.