Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


77607pound-cake.jpg
77607crumb-cake.jpg

    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
13 Mon November 19, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2
77607pound-cake.jpg


77607pound-cake.jpg









Description:
Ingredients: 3 1/2 cups Carbquik
1 1/2 cups Splenda
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
6 whole eggs
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
How To Prepare: -Heat oven to 350┬░F.
-Grease angel food cake pan (tube pan, 10x4 inches or 12-cup bundt cake pan) and dust with Carbquik.
-Beat all ingredients in large bowl on low speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl frequently. Beat on medium speed 4 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Pour into pan.
-Bake 55 to 60 minutes or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. -Cool 5 minutes; turn pan upside down onto wire rack or heatproof serving plate. -Remove pan; cool cake completely.
Number of Servings: 16
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 1 Gram
Preparation Time: 60 Minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Sat February 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice taste, good with berrys and/or low carb ice cream
Cons: wanted to eat to much while it was still warm

I'll use this recipe often especially when making low carb trifles at holiday time. I might try almond flavoring in the next one.
suzg
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 244
Review Date: Sun February 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I love this recipe! I make it regularly.
MiRedkitty
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Posts: 412
Review Date: Tue March 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): texture, taste, appearance
Cons: can't think of a darned one!

CarbQuik is a fantastic product! I made a 1/2 recipe in a loaf pan. It came out about 2 1/2 inches high, with good color, dense and smooth texture. I think that the cream cheese makes the difference. I served with Berries and whipped topping and it's to die for! I give it a 9 only because it was "just short of heaven"!
bybs54
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: West Central, Illinois
Posts: 6777
Review Date: Sun March 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: The carb count on this is way off!

The carbquick alone has 45 carbs...splenda another 36...that's 81 carbs not counting anything else...with 16 servings its over 5 carbs. Just wanted to make sure everyone knew that it really isn't one carb... Smile
Review Date: Tue May 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Aren't some of those carbs from fiber though?
Julievan
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 87
Review Date: Sat September 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): this cake is great good texture very smooth
Cons: no cons with this one

this is the best LC cake i have made going to use Davinci syrup in the next one dont know what flavor yet
momof9
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 437
Review Date: Sat May 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great taste
Cons: none

great with strawberries and cream.
Review Date: Fri April 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantastic taste
Cons: none

My mother is an underweight diabetic. I discovered Carbquik on the internet and thought I would give it a try. She needs to watch her carbs but loves her sweets. I used high calorie ingredients such as unsalted butter and full fat cream cheese. She has gone thru 2 cakes in 1 week so I tried to do a chocolate version of it. I added one small box of sugar free chocolate pudding mix and added 1 extra egg because the batter looked to thick. It had a "somewhat salty" taste to it but she didn't notice it. I think that next time I will try 3 cups of the carbquik and 1/2 cup of coconut flour to cut down on the salt take. I also would probably try adding extra splenda to offset it. I am going to try this in orange and lemon also and see how they turn on.
Review Date: Fri April 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great taste but watch the bake time
Cons: really none at all

I would cut down on the bake time. Try testing it around 10 minutes before the actual bake time stated. I have noticed that by using splenda that the goods seem to bake quicker. I have found this to be true when baking banana bread, muffins, etc with splenda.
hockey_gal
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2010
Location: West Coast of Canada
Posts: 1255
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy to make - one bowl and pan
Cons: can taste the carbquick

The carb count is 21 net Carbquick, 6 eggs, 35,25 splenda, 16.7 cream cheese which totals 78.95 or 4.93 if you do 16 servings.


I cut the recipe in half for fear of wasting ingredients. But I'm sorry I did bc it was FANTASTIC! I added a tsp of lemon extract (which is half my normal lemon pound cake recipe. I only had to bake for 30 mins.
BirdDancer
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 165
Review Date: Mon January 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low carbs and filling portion size
Cons: a little dry - needs whipped cream and berries

Mine tasted a little like a sweet bisquit rather than a pound cake, but with whipped cream and berries that was just fine.


I worked out the nutrition information on Fitday.com and it was just over 1g net carb (like 1.14565g or something) for 1/16 of the cake. I used a light butter and real butter combo and Neufchatel cheese (which is maybe why it was a little dry) to lower the calories to the 100s and keep the fat close to 10g per slice. I also used liquid Splenda, otherwise the net carbs would have been over 2g or 3g per slice. I baked it the full 55 mins, but checked it at 35 like one suggestion said. The toothpick came out wet a 35.
Review Date: Sat August 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste, texture, crust
Cons: does make a mess while beating. :0)

So yummy and tasty, we had it with fresh fruit and whipped topping. Great plain, with butter, with preserves, with ice cream......you get my drift.
stickergoddess
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 273
Review Date: Mon November 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

pretty good. but i think next time i will cut down a little on the carbquik and add some almond flour.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends« is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.
á