Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


85333DCAM0566.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
4 Sat November 28, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3
85333DCAM0566.JPG


85333DCAM0566.JPG
supersize









Description: A good low carb soup to to warm you up on a cold winter day.
Ingredients: 1 lb Sausage
1 lb ground beef
1 small head cabbage
1 can beef broth
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
1 can sauerkraut
1 tsp onion salt
1 tsp celery seeds
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dill weed
3 cups water
1 tbsp corn starch (Or other thickner)
How To Prepare: Quarter, core and chop cabbage. In a large pot, combine cabbage with spices, beef broth, 2 cups water. Bring to a rapid boil, reduce heat to medium and cover, stirring occasionally.


Combine sausage and beef in a separate pan and fry until completely cooked, set aside.


After cabbage has cooked for 30 minutes, add meat, tomato sauce and diced tomatoes. Mix cornstarch, (or other thickner), in last cup of cold water stir until completely dissolved. Add mixture to soup and stir thourougly. cover and Cook on medium for another 30 minutes or until cabbage is cooked stirring occasionally.
Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: About 5 carbs per 8 oz. serving
Preparation Time: 1 Hour
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 1
Registered: May 2004
Location: East Tennessee VOLS Country Go BIG Orange!



Review Date: Fri April 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make, very tasty
Cons: none

This recipe is very easy to make and is VERY tasty. I usually add a drop or two of tabasco to each serving to give it a little extra kick.
Review Date: Tue February 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Flavor
Cons: none

My husband is Polish, he calls this "Polish Soup" !
It was delish & made enough for left-overs... The recipe doesn't mention when to add the kraut or whether to drain it, so I drained it, and added it when I added the tomatoes. I did not add a thickener, I prefer 'brothy' I only added the hot sauce to my bowl and let others add it as they liked. The soup is a good soup, perfect for cool soup/sandwich dinners!
pawcat73
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 71
Review Date: Wed September 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy and filling
Cons: none

Absolutely delish! I am writing this as I am eating it and cannot tell you just how good it is. I didn't add the corn starch cause I really like brothy soups, but yummy!!!
JTucson
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sat November 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

Loved this recipe. I added tony's creole seasoning to it to spice it up and used Rotelle's tomatoes and chilis. Will make it again.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.