Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


280soup2.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
12 Tue February 15, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 9.6
280soup2.jpg


280soup2.jpg









Description: OMG.. this soup is really good... I can see me eating this a lot and it is induction friendly!!


This recipe is my own creation.. please do not copy for the purpose of publishing or use on any other site without my expressed permission.
Ingredients: 1 cooked and cut up Roast
2 cans stewed tomatoes
1 28 oz can green beans
1/2 head cabbage chopped up
3-4 stalks celery sliced
1 medium onion diced
2 cups beef stock from the roast (I pressure cooked my roast in water or you can boil it to get the beef stock)
5 beef bouillon cubes
6 cups water
How To Prepare: In a dutch oven or stock pot add 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 2 cups beef stock and the 6 cups of water.


Stir in onion, green beans, celery and cabbage. Bring to a simmer. Once simmering add in bouillon cubes. Cook until veggies are done and then add in your cut up roast.


This recipe says it is 9 carbs but 3 of those carbs are fiber so if you are a subtractor it is only 6 per serving... but that is all in veggies.


enjoy
Number of Servings: 12 good size servings but could be cut down to a cup at a time.
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 44 Calories; 1g Fat (11.7% calories from fat); 2g Protein; 9g Carbohydrate; 3g Dietary Fiber; 0mg Cholesterol; 452mg Sodium. Exchanges: 1 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Fat.
Preparation Time: 20 minutes or so
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Recipe.jpg
Administrator
 
Posts: 40,043
Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois



Review Date: Tue June 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent for a soup craving
Cons:

Great recipe! Subbed stewed tomato with Rotel tomatoes. Will definitely make again!
Review Date: Sat June 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sounds tasty
Cons: 9 carbs

I would be tempted to eat 3 - 4 portions.
Thanks for the post OP!
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40043
Review Date: Wed July 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make.... Freezes well!!
Cons: none

This will be great in the wintertime also... Yes it has 9 carbs but 3 of them are fiber so it is only 6 net carbs... and it is a whole meal in itself so that carb count isn't bad... and they are all veggie carbs so you can't go wrong there.



cheri
Crace
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 4
Review Date: Fri July 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very filling and tasty
Cons: none

I think I should add much more meat, I must remember that adkins is primary a meat diet, and that vegetables do have carbs. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I added Cream of Tomatoe Soup and I used Soup base instead of the Bouillion. Soup base is harder to find in the stores sometimes but much better then bouillion. The use of onion and Celery gave it great flavor...I think I will try this with Chicken, I know that onion and celery go great when seasoning chicken.
HeatherJanet
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 452
Review Date: Sun October 30, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great meal in a bowl! Instead of 2 c. beef stock I used the leftover juice from cooking LindaSue's Laredo Barbecue Pot Roast. I also used roast pork and I added an Indian bay leaf for a slightly sweet taste.
mooosey
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Location: Toronto,ontario, canada
Posts: 63
Review Date: Sun November 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Induction friendly???
Cons:

Are you saying that it is ok to have can veggies,beef cubes and canned tomatoes during induction??? I cant believe it...I have to double check lol.
Review Date: Tue January 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): VERY tasty!
Cons: prepare ahead, takes time!

Fantastic meal! Everyone loved it! Huge pot, enough for lunch, dinner & lunch again!
Two notes: You may want to add 1 addt'l cup of broth (to get more soup/sauce), ALSO- I added Salt, Pepper, Savory, and 2-Bay Leaves while cooking. GREAT FLAVOR! (...only thing missing was the cornbread!)
Review Date: Sun July 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks great!
Cons:

A very large recipe... how does it freeze?
GABEHO
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2006
Location: California
Posts: 254
Review Date: Tue November 28, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty! Full Flavor!
Cons:

Family doesn't like cabbage, so I left that out, but it came out great! Everyone loved it. Will make it again... Great for winter nights... Smile
jdsgirl
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 25
Review Date: Tue October 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: None

I cooked my roast in the crock pot all day, I used fresh green beans in place of canned, and beef broth in place of bouillion. I also added bay leaves and sea salt. This recipe is excellent and easy to make. I will keep a pot of this on hand for an entire week of lunches.
ga_kimmie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 704
Review Date: Fri August 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, taste great!
Cons: None

We loved this recipe! I cooked the roast in my crockpot yesterday and then today I tossed the roast and all the veggies and liquids into the crockpot together and cooked on high for 4 hours. We ALL ate this for dinner and loved it...including my 18 month old and my non-LC husband. My husband said it was a great recipe to "add into our rotation". It makes a big batch so I've already filled small containers and put in the freezer to grab and take for lunch.


The only modifications I made to the recipe were:
I used petite diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand
I used 3 boullion cubes instead of 5 to keep the sodium content down
I grated a medium zucchini and threw it in with the rest of the veggies
Kaarren
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 297
Review Date: Tue February 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Ideas
Cons:

I want to give this delicious sounding soup a try!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.