Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
12 Mon July 30, 2007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 8 large eggs
1.5 c heavy cream
1 c bacon bits
8 oz shredded sharp chedder cheese
1 c cooked chopped spinach
How To Prepare: Mix eggs & cream. Add Bacon, cheese and spinach. Mix well.
Pour into a 9-10 pie plate that has been buttered. Bake at 325F for 45-60 Minutes. This keep well and can be reheated in the microwave
Number of Servings: 8
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2.45
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Sat May 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make, very versatile, and tastes great - even without the crust!
Cons: It took me a little longer than 15 minutes to prepare everything, but as this is my first quiche ever that's probably to be expected. Next time it will be a breeze!

This was the first quiche recipe I've ever tried to make on my own... and boy was it easy with great results! It keeps wonderfully and is very filling. Definitely a dish I will be preparing - and experimenting with! - often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good-cooks well and slices for storage.
Cons:


I used real bacon because did not have bits.
Will definitely make again. I will try sausage
next time.
Review Date: Sat July 31, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make and taste great!
Cons:

Very quick to make if you use a hand-blender for mixing the eggs and cream, and use bacon bits rather than frying your own bacon. Even my daughter loves it and she hated the smell of spinach. Once she tried it she loved it also.
Lora
weight.png

Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: October 2003
Location: Charm City
Posts: 4902
Review Date: Wed August 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, quick and delicious!!!!
Cons:

Loved it!!! Very easy, small amout of prep time and tasted great!! My new favorite breakfast dish! Thanks : )


( I did substitute real bacon for the bacon bits)
Review Date: Fri November 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make and everyone loved it. Great leftovers!
Cons:

joefl72
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Madeira Beach, FL
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu March 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: It has way more then 2.45 carbs per serving

8 eggs= 8 carbs
1.5 cups of cream= 2 carbs per tablespoon, 16 table spoons per cup= 24 tablespoons X 2 carbs = 48 carbs (might depend on brand, stop and shop heaving whipping cream lists 64 servings of 2tbs at 1 carb for each tablespoon)
8 oz of cheese= 8 carbs
spinich = 4-5 carbs for 1 cup cooked not raw


You can see this amounts to a ball park of 64 to 68 carbs for the entire dish which when cut into 6 servings amounts to at least 11 carbs per serving. I think it is important to post this as I am sure some would love to pig out on this recipe as I did only to find that it has a lot more carbs then stated in the recipe. Even if you use the calculations off atkins.com instead of off the packages like me, you will see it is much more then 2.45 per serving. Just an FYI
sdh
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 73
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make and keeps well for leftovers
Cons:

I used real bacon and substituted half&half for the cream and came up with 4.25 net carbs per serving. I got 8 servings out of this recipe. Will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
purplelinny
Guest

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 193
Review Date: Sat July 30, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to prepare & filling
Cons: See my review

Before adding the spinach, bacon and cheese, I beat the eggs and cream very well to make it a little frothy. By doing this, I had enough to fill two 9" pie tins - one with a corned beef crust and one without.


They rose like a souffle and settled when cooled. So I had a fluffier type of quiche. Still very tasty.


I calculated the values for my method as follows:
Heavy cream - 10 carbs
Cheese - 5 carbs
Eggs - 6 carbs
Spinach - 7 carbs
Real Bacon - 0 carbs
Tinned corned beef - 0 carbs
Total------------------> 28 carbs
2 x 9" tins = 16 serv.
1 serving--------------> 1.75 carbs
NewMomMimi
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 10
Review Date: Tue February 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy Recipe
Cons: I just want to eat the whole thing

I've never made a quiche before and this was so easy! I know I messed up all the ingredients because I lost my measuring cups, but it still turned out great. It was so yummy!
Review Date: Tue May 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very wonderful and filling!
Cons:

This is a wonderful dish. My son who won't eat vegetables loves this and wants it even for dinner!
greeniss
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 457
Review Date: Sat July 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons:

Very easy to make, and tastes great!
Review Date: Mon July 30, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): loved it
Cons:

i also put in some sausage chunks and also a bacn bit crust it was great


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.