Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
8 Thu June 7, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8












Description: I tried the cheese taco shell recipes from this site and had poor results in a frypan. They stuck. Then I remembered a "mistake" my daughter made as a teen. She put a processed cheese slice on a greased (sprayed) plate in the microwave and cooked it. Hmmmm...I said, "I wonder?" and voila! It's perfect.
Ingredients: one process cheese slice
How To Prepare: Spray a small microwable glass plate.
Place a cheese slice on it. I have a 1,000 Watt oven and cooked it on high for exactly 40 seconds.
I think you'll be as impressed as I was! It steams and puffs and when you remove it it firms (or hardens...depending on how long you leave it in)
At 40 sec it still remains pliable. After one minute it has brown areas and was much crisper..good for crackers. When you get it just right at all the various stages, you can fold it in half for taco filling etc etc. Re-spray the plate each time. I do 2 cheese slices for a great hamburger. I also tried 1/3 c grated cheddar and it worked beautifully too!Quick and easy and no hassle!
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: usually about 1 carb. Check pkg label
Preparation Time: less than a minute
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Sarmay
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2001
Location: Where pigs fly in Ohio.
Posts: 2160
Review Date: Sun January 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and tasty
Cons:

I've heard of this many times, but never tried it until the other day. I put the cheese slice on parchment paper and then microwaved it, then sprinkled it with a tiny pinch of cayenne pepper. It was like a spicy cheez-it cracker! Very satisfying if you need a little cracker action!
LeeAnnetteJ
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat April 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Easy
Cons:

As soon as I read this I ran into the kitchen to give it a try. I cooked this long enough to be a "taco shell." It was perfect! Simple, inexpensive, tasty and induction friendly. I filled my shells with shredded chicken and a Tablespoon of salsa.
Just Jan
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2011
Location: Small Town, ON, Canada
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sat May 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So quick and easy
Cons:

I did the same as Lee and ran into the kitchen to try this! Excellent!
Review Date: Tue June 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): 40 seconds to heaven!!!
Cons:

read this and jump right up and tried it. added some italian seasoning to it and wow what a great sub for a cracker
SurpriseMe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue June 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy and Versatile
Cons:

It's does work! :D


I cut mine into four squares and used it to dip in my Babaganoush. Yum
Review Date: Tue June 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

As soon as I read this, I jumped up and made some. I sprinkled mine with cayenne pepper also. Super Yummy and so fast and easy to make.I love it!
marnao122
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 3
Review Date: Thu August 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I have been doing this with cheese slices for years and I love it. I like sprinkling mine with Italian seasoning and garlic powder before microwaving it. Good for also dipping in a low carb sour cream based dip.
Bethturvey
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Lambertville,mi
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu June 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome as a taco shell!
Cons:

Like the others, I also ran into the kitchen to try it. Delicious. I used slices of boars head Vermont white cheddar,sliced medium. 45 sec worked best for me.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.