Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
122 Fri September 3, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers $2.00 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 8 Jalapenos -- tops removed, cut in 1/2 and seeded
8 Strips lean bacon
Cream cheese
toothpicks
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 350. Stuff each 1/2 of a jalapeno with cream cheese and wrap with a 1/2 piece of bacon. Secure with toothpick. Bake at 350 until bacon is at desired crispness(I like mine just slightly crisp, about 20-25 min). Warning! These are addictive! I've never been a big fan of bacon, but I love these! The jalapenos are not that spicy after they are baked, but have a wonderful flavor.
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: no counts provided
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick & easy
Cons: DON'T get the jalapeno oils on your hands!!

This is an excellent recipe! We loved it and will make it again and again. FYI, you should wear gloves when seeding and handling the jalapenos! Trust me, you will love it!
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): flavor, easy, colorful
Cons:

They were absolutely DELICIOUS!! The flavor was excellent. I was very impressed by how easy they were to make and I have made them twice this week!
Review Date: Thu February 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great - Easy
Cons:

Awsom~ what an unusual combo of flavors!
decodiva27
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 729
Review Date: Mon February 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make & yummy
Cons: I cooked mine 40 minutes and the bacon was still chewy and uncooked-looking. Better make sure to only use the center cut bacon.

These were a hit at teh party, just make sure to use the leanest bacon you can find. Next time I am going to try to precook the bacon a minute or 2 in the microwave before wrapping the peppers. I didn't use gloves and all was well.
Review Date: Mon February 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Men taking water pills need to be wary of the jalepeno peppers


trust me, habanero oil is WAY WAY worse!!!!


Nah!
Review Date: Wed March 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty
Cons: preparing the peppers takes a little time but not bad

These are soooo good. I would eat them even if I weren't a low carber! You can very the hottness by how much of the white pulp you leave in. If you remove all of the white and seeds they aren't hot at all. (At least to me) Thanks for this recipe, it is a new favorite!!!
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I didn't have cream cheese so I substituted shredded mozzerella and a little mild Rotel. They turned out WONDERFUL!
Review Date: Sat March 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste Great!
Cons:

These are awesome. I doubled the recipe and they were gone in minutes. I added some shredded cheddar cheese to the cream cheese and also half cooked the bacon before wrapping the peppers. I will be making these again and again.
KristinsMom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 19
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious & Fairly Easy
Cons:

Awesome flavor. Precooking the bacon just a little will help reduce the fat...especially if you like your bacon crisp. No matter how many you make, they are gone in minutes. Thanks for the recipe...I needed something new
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY!
Cons: time consuming

These are so good! I can't wait to make them again. My husband said he could eat a hundred of them. I did think they took a long time to prepare though, getting the seeds and white stuff out.
Review Date: Sat April 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Does anyone know the carb count on these?
Review Date: Sun April 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

On fitday.com I figured that 10 jals with 20 tblsp cream cheese and 10 slices of bacon have about 12 net carbs. So about .5-.6 carbs for each 1/2 jal appetizer. That is my best guess.
Review Date: Tue April 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great tasting, easy to make!
Cons: They don't stay around long enough

These were wonderful! I was skeptical since they only have 3 ingredients and looked so simple to make, but the flavors just go beautifully together.


We have made these twice so far, and my husband ran to the grocery store at lunch just to get more peppers for tonight.
Review Date: Wed April 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy to make
Cons: a little time consuming

I made them for my co-workers, I made them very hot, and we all loved them. They are addicting.
Review Date: Thu April 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great tasting little snack!
Cons: none

What a great recipe! I especially like them cold! For some reason I like them after I have made them and put them in the fridge...just me though! Totally recommend!
Review Date: Sat April 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
Cons: too hot!

I tried these tonight & found them way too hot. It may be that I didn't get all the white out of them, but I did try. The first one I ate I thought was ok, but as I started to eat the 2nd one I realized I was on fire! My cream cheese filling came back out & was practically gone when I took them out of the oven. The bacon never did turn crisp, even though it was ok the way it was. Perhaps I could eat them with anaheim peppers instead...
Tippy Toes
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 4176
Review Date: Sun April 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): husband loved them
Cons: too hot for me

I would only not recommend this because it was too hot for me! But, the hubby begs to differ and he ate the whole recipe!
Review Date: Sun May 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: Burning eyes

This was very quick and easy to make. I wish I would have worn gloves when I made them though. I used center cut bacon and cooked them a little longer. My husband and I both loved them!
Review Date: Thu May 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): unique taste
Cons:

These are quick and easy to make and taste GREAT.
Review Date: Wed May 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Oh my goodness-YUM
Cons: cleaning the peppers

I would eat these anytime-anywhere. Served some to friends and they were a hit! Even my grumpy old husband loved them
Review Date: Tue June 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): absolutely yummy
Cons: can't seem to make enough

these are absolutely delicious! my husband and I ate the whole batch the first time I made them. They are addicting.
julieloubert
Guest

Registered: June 2004
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 7
Review Date: Sun June 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

For years I have eaten jalepenos stuffed with cream cheese... I never thought to cook them or to wrap them with bacon... how wonderful! I pre-cooked my bacon for a minute in the microwave. I was able to absorb a lot of the fat into paper towels with this method. The peppers were still a little hot, but not as hot as when I eat them raw.
MaryJean
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 926
Review Date: Mon June 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): doesn't seem like "diet" food
Cons: cooking time is short, needed 40 minutes

We loved these and served them at a party. We want to try the recipe again with a jack cheese for a stronger taste.
MaryJean
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 926
Review Date: Thu July 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): they are delicious
Cons: the cooking time was closer to 40 minutes to get the bacon done right for us

This were great. We served them at a dinner party and there wasn't one left.


We plan to try another batch but use jack cheese for a stronger taste.


We alternated the tray with jalepeno halves filled with peanut butter and it was a very nice presentation and combination of flavors.
jdennysgirl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 320
Review Date: Thu July 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I second the wearing gloves suggestion! I prepared them last night to take to a poker game this morning and my hands are still burning! I don't know if the peppers are just going to be really hot, or if my skin is too sensitive but they started stinging last night and they still are. It sounds like they will be worth the pain though! LOL! I am baking them now. Ought to go good with a couple of Miller Lites and a Royal Flush!
SCOTTSDALEJULIE
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: November 2003
Location: SCOTTSDALE.AZ
Posts: 4054
Review Date: Fri July 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: none

I made these but instead of putting the bacon around them, I used Hormeal real crumbled bacon, and just cooked them until the cheese was hot and jalies a little done. Great.
Review Date: Mon July 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick to make
Cons:

Great! I just made them my husband took a shower and I left him 3! To good to share
Chrystine
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2004
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1664
Review Date: Mon July 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So easy and tasty too!
Cons: None

We loved them! Next time I will try pepperjack or cheddar instead of cream cheese, but they tasted wonderful. I made enough to have leftovers for tomorrow. Smile
Review Date: Fri July 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and easy
Cons: de-seeding the peppers

I only tried this because of so many positive reviews. It is wonderful! My husband loved it too and he doesn't like cream cheese. This one is a winner in my book. Thanks for posting it.
Review Date: Sun July 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make and delicious.
Cons:

They were DELICIOUS!! The flavor was excellent. Very easy to make. I made them for an office potluck. Several people request the recipe.
brr9270
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 185
Review Date: Mon July 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

These were really good, and I was worried they would be too spicy. Everyone really liked them. I made sure to get all of the seeds and veins out. Also the suggestions to use gloves is a must. 3 days later, and my hands still burn a little.
Review Date: Tue July 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gooey and delicious!!
Cons: Long preparation time (cleaning the jalepenos)

OMIGOD -- these were awesome!! I precooked the bacon on papertowels in the microwave for 2 minutes, and added about a cup of finely-shredded cheddar cheese to the cream cheese stuffing. Baking time was approximately 30 minutes. Recipe only served two at my house -- we ate them all!!
Amussue
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 258
Review Date: Wed August 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and guilt free
Cons: Gutting the peppers

I love jalepeno poppers and these were just like them! Absolutely delicious!
Tiggeroo
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 262
Review Date: Wed August 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The family loved them
Cons: Taking the seeds out. I had DH do that.

They were to hot for me but the rest of the family who does not eat LC ate them up. YUM YUM they thought. I didn't have the heart to tell them they were LC. lol I also added some cheese to the cream cheese. Had DH remove the seeds and later on he forgot and took out his contact lenses it ruined that pair Sad .


Thanks again
Review Date: Fri August 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome taste and easy
Cons:

Brother-in-law,who is also on a low carb plan, loved this appetizer. I might try cheddar cheese next time.
Review Date: Thu August 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Totally yummy and low carb
Cons: Burned my hands and eyes!

These are awesome. My husband and I ate all of them in a few minutes. The only thing is I didn't wear gloves and when I went to take my contacts out, OUCH!
MelissaE
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Posts: 13
Review Date: Thu August 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great combination of flavors!
Cons: Better if bacon cooked beforehand

These are great! I really like the blend of flavors. The peppers are still a tiny bit spicy but not overbearing. I cooked the bacon beforehand which made it easier.


Like other people posting, I should have worn gloves when cutting the peppers as well. Fingers burned for the rest of the day!
cydnpeysmom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sun September 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy, and delicious
Cons:

These were great! The second time I made them, I cooked the bacon til crisp, crumbled it, then added it to the cream cheese along with some shredded cheddar! Then scooped into the pepper. They were even better, this way. Just my preference though!!! Everyhing's better with cheddar!
KeepsakeDolly
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2004
Posts: 61
Review Date: Fri October 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delish
Cons:

I have put pepperoni in the cream cheese.
lovemyfamily
weight.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 566
Review Date: Fri October 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful recipe!
Cons: Yeah I would say wear gloves esp if you wear contacts!

Man I should have read all the post after this recipe about wearing gloves. I didn't wear them and my hands never burned but OMG when I took my contacts out that night. I washed my hands several times that day but apparrently the jalopeneo oil didn't come off. Try Jalopeneo oil in your eyeball! OUCH. I couldn't wear my contacts for 3 days and had to call off work one day cause of it! But they were Great!--Yeah and I know I can't spell. such is life
FigxNewton
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not difficult to make
Cons: Not as tasty as expected

I just made these and I do agree that the combination of ingredients goes together well. However, I didn't find these to be as flavorful as I thought. I think the cream cheese is a little too subtle for my tastes. I will try it again with a stronger cheese, or mixture of different cheeses.
amennenga
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 104
Review Date: Sat November 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): for non-low carbers as well
Cons: scooping out the seeds is awful!

These are addictive and if I want any for myself, I either need to make a double batch or hide some.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent!
Cons:

I've made these a couple of times. The last time I cooked the bacon first. Then I chopped it and added it to the cream cheese mixture.
Review Date: Sat January 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love them!
Cons:

I made these for poker night and all of our friends who are not "low carbers" loved them. I did add some chopped shrimp to the cream cheese for a varity. Smile
Review Date: Mon January 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): help
Cons:

When you say cut in half , which way? so they make a cup or make a boat? I can't wait to try them
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So Great!
Cons:

So fast and easy! I make them all the time, everyone who trys them just loves them. I put a little shredded cheddar on the cream cheese before I wrap with bacon. I have also tried the Aloutte brand flavored cream cheese, the cilantro lime flavored is great with this!
boxernut
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Cape May County, NJ
Posts: 526
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Loved them! So did Hubby!
Cons: Need to wear gloves when preparing

These where great, I did have a few that where way too hot in the batch, I think I left too much of the white pulp in them, next time I will makes sure I cut it out.
A58Doozie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: MT
Posts: 67
Review Date: Mon February 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Too Yummy!
Cons: There are no negative aspects...

These are way too good!
I like to crisp fry the bacon, chop up, mix it in with the cream cheese.
I sometimes add a little Emeril's Essence & like it very much.
I put foil on the baking sheet & spray on a little cooking spray.
Easy & hardly any clean up.
Anybody that has tried these are amazed they are so good and ask for more!
Deb
Review Date: Tue February 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best food I've ever eaten!!! Quick and easy!!!
Cons: none, this is absolutely perfect!

WOW!!! Thanks so much for posting this incredibly delicious recipe! I used to always eat jalapeno poppers at restaurants and the ones from the store. These are 100 times better!! And no nasty breading on them either! I find if you get out all the white stuff and seeds it's very mild and sweet. Absolutely excellent!
mom2fourboyz
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2004
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1280
Review Date: Sun February 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sooo yummy
Cons: not one

I have made these and my whole family loves them. I have done it exactly like the recipe and I have embelished it. I too, like to crumble the bacon in the cream cheese. It was just easier. Or break the crisp bacon up and place on top. I have added cheddar cheese and carl budding ham both great. I am going to try monterey jack and avacado next time. My poppers have NEVER been hot at all. Only sweet. I remove all seeds and "white". My 4 yr. old eats them. I would suggest if you thought they were to hot to make them again and remove all white, I bet you get hooked!
lori813
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mon March 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons:

Thank you for this recipe..I make them constantly and love them.
Review Date: Wed March 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks great & tasts great!
Cons: None found.

This was very tasty! Tried it with red jalapenos and veggie cream cheese and was delicious. Then tried it with green jalapenos and regular cream cheese and was just as good.
Review Date: Mon March 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing
Cons: Greasy

The best snack (lc or non-lc) i've ever had!
Greer'sGal
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: Dela-WHERE?
Posts: 1879
Review Date: Sun March 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy & Easy
Cons:

My husband and my kids loved this as much as I did. The one thing I did differently is I did not wrap the bacon around the pepper, I just laid it on top. OMG, we could eat these every day! The guys didn't even miss the breading!
There are so many things you can do to change these up, too! Different cheeses and meats! I can't wait to try some new concoctions!
Thanks, Mary Ann!


Thumbs Up!
Review Date: Fri March 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great
Cons: n/a

I tryed with a mixture of chesses that was even better
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I used plain whipped cream cheese and added a packet of taco bell seasoning. This brings an all new dimension to this already wonderful recipe! Crispy bacon is a must.
ixtapacheryl
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 5800
Review Date: Sat April 30, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quck and Easy
Cons: Didn't make enough

Gosh - I was skeptical - but I was proved wrong. I just bought 3 peppers and crumbled the cooked bacon in the cream cheese and baked them for 30 minutes. OUTSTANDING.


My husband even joined me - which really surprised me because he doesn't really like hot peppers. I was also surprised that they were not hot while eating but 5 minutes after finishing them - I can feel a little heat.


I am definitely making these again (in greater quantity) and it won't have to be just for company.


ixtapacheryl
dietsprite
Guest

Registered: August 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 878
Review Date: Sun May 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): They taste wonderful!
Cons: You should wear gloves while preparing, and it takes a while to prepare.

These were wonderful! They do take a while to prepare, so I don't often have time to make them, but they are definately worth the effort!
I cook mine extra long to reduce the spicyness(sp?) of the jalopenos, but besides that I followedthe recipe.
Review Date: Mon May 23, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and delicious and taste just like jalapeno poppers!!
Cons: definitely use the gloves!!

WOW!! DELICIOUS!! thought my popper days were over. surprised my husband with these as a snack today. we both loved them. too bad i only had 4 jalapenos in the house. can't wait to make them again.
Low-Carb-Kevin
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu May 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really great recipe...
Cons:

I, too, can't take things too hot. I've made these in the past and had a little trouble getting the "heat" out of the peppers. So tonight I tried something different. I soaked the peppers (after splitting them and gutting them of the seeds and white pulp) in chilled water mixed with a couple teaspoons of baking soda. It seemed to do the trick because I couldn't taste any heat whatsoever in the couple I've had so far... Either that or I just ended up buying a handful that weren't hot to start with.
I'll try it again with follow-up batches as well, but if you find them too hot you might give this trick a try.
Low-Carb-Kevin
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu May 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great recipe! Topped with cheddar cheese... precooked bacon.
Cons:

I'm not sure what happened, but my post is missing. Let me try again.


If you don't like your peppers hot, try soaking them in chilled water mixed with a couple of teaspoons of baking soda. I tried this tonight on 6 peppers cut and gutted and it seemed to totally remove any heat found in the pepper. It was either that or I lucked out (for me anyway) and got 6 really mild peppers...
Review Date: Thu June 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SOOOO Good!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: You eat to many. LOL

These are so great. I've got hooked on them and eat them almost everyday. Only thing is if I make 20, I eat 20.
emmajoan
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 3973
Review Date: Sat June 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste great, low carbs
Cons: taking the seeds out of the jalapenos

OMG, these are awesome!!! I have heard people rave about these left and right- I can't believe I didn't try them sooner! I made a few tonight to see if they were good enough to take to a party, and WOW, they are great! My SO was raving about them more than me, and he doesn't eat LC stuff!
Review Date: Fri July 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste!!
Cons: a little time consuming

I wrapped a whole slice of pre-cooked bacon on each jalapeno and they turned out nice and crispy! No grease or undercooked bacon. We just love them! Very addicting and hard not to eat too many!
Review Date: Wed July 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): These are awesome!
Cons: none

I served them at a party and 24 disappeared in 2 min (I was the only one on low carbs).
lindsay4916
Guest

Registered: August 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 6
Review Date: Wed August 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy to make
Cons: the oil can burn

I loved these!!! they are so good and easy to make. i add shredded cheddar cheese to the cream chese and its delicious. my boyfriend even loves them and he normally hates jalepenos. like the others i would reccomend wearing gloves when dealing with the jalapenos.
annie0458
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 76
Review Date: Sat August 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons:

the company and family loved these. Next time I need to double the recipe!
Review Date: Sat September 10, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): love love love this recpe
Cons: none

cdn_gal
Daddy's Girl

Registered: September 2005
Location: Vancouver Canuck Land!!!
Posts: 8119
Review Date: Sun September 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I have been making these even before I started watching what I eat. I cook them on the BBQ, instead of the oven, and they are delicious!
Charski
Gadget Gal

Registered: September 2004
Location: Mostly in the kitchen!
Posts: 39504
Review Date: Fri November 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simply delicious
Cons: WEAR GLOVES!

I always use half softened cream cheese and half shredded extra-sharp cheddar to stuff. Also, sometimes, after wrapping the bacon around the pepper and securing with a toothpick, I shake them in a bag of half crushed pork rinds and half Parmesan cheese. Adds a nice "breading" sort of dimension to these already delicious goodies. I've also deep-fried them after breading and they come out awesome!
densgrl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 113
Review Date: Tue December 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love them!!
Cons:

These things rock!!
terrintrace
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: florida
Posts: 11
Review Date: Tue January 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): these are the bomb!!!
Cons: none

i only cooked 4 peppers,but i wrapped a whole piece of thin bacon around each one and cooked until bacon was crisp.yum yum yum,and i saved the pepper flavored bacon grease.maybe i will cook some green beans in it.
shoo
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2005
Location: BC
Posts: 2281
Review Date: Tue January 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
Cons: DH's complaints about seeding the peppers

We tried them using partially cooked bacon once and then another time wrapping the peppers with proscuttio.mmmm.
Debbie Nelson
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon January 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So darn yummy!!
Cons: So darn yummy!!

I couldn't type a post right away after I just made these as I was eating half the batch, lol!


I just wish someone would clean the peppers for me as that part is kinda the downfall but still not bad and is sure worth it! Next time I'm going to try those folks's ideas to mix some shredded cheese into the cream cheese.


I've been a low carber for over 2 years and sure wished I'd seen this recipe sooner!! Thank you!
UtahWineoh
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: UTAH!!
Posts: 28
Review Date: Tue January 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

These were very good. Once cooked the peppers actually had a sweet tast to them. I'll be making them again for the Superbowl party!! It's easy to eat the whole batch though.
Page:  1 · 2 more


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.