Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
10 Sun November 25, 2007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.1












Description: This is my version of oven fried chicken--taste a lot like Pop-Eyes chicken. A little spicy, crunchy and juicy--delicious!
Ingredients: 4 skinless chicken breast (coating stays on skinless better)


1 pack of ranch dressing dry mix
1 pack of Knorr Sazon seasoning mix
3 oz of crushed pork rinds (the cheap ones)
1/4 cup of fresh pamesian cheese
1 tsp of garlic powder
1 tsp of black pepper
1 tsp of lemon pepper
1 tsp of white pepper
shake of onion powder
2 eggs beaten
How To Prepare: pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
beat eggs--set aside for coating
combine all but chicken and eggs in ziplock and shake
pour coating onto a large plate
dip chicken in egg and press into coating mixture
coat both sides well and place in baking dish
(spray with Pam first)


cook for 45 min. to an hour depending on breast size--
chicken will be crunchy and appear "fried" (without the mess)
The whole family will love it, low carbing or not!
Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6 carbs for entire recipe
Preparation Time: 15 min, at best
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!
 
Posts: 4,176
Registered: April 2004
Location: Florida



Review Date: Fri August 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent for LC & non LC'ers!
Cons: I couldn't find the Knorr Sazon seasoning mix.

Delicious! I live in a very small town, and couldn't find the seasoning mix, but I made do with some other spices. I've found you can pretty much throw in whatever seasonings you like, but don't leave out the ranch mix! It really makes for the unique punch of flavor. My 4-yr old son loves it, and I also took it to a church potluck, and everyone wanted to know what the delicious coating was!
Davian
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 956
Review Date: Mon December 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best "fried" chicken recipe yet
Cons: Can not find Sazon season

I've made fried chicken using soy flour; pork rinds; and of parmesan cheese. This is by far the best of all. I omitted the Sazon and lemon pepper and added nothing else. It was still excellent. While it didn't need to have it, I served the chicken with Jalapeno Ranch dressing as a dip. My DH declared this the only "fried" chicken recipe in the future. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
WonderfullyMe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Posts: 3
Review Date: Thu May 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

While it was definitely tasty, it didn't resemble fried chicken whatsoever. More like chicken with shake and bake on it. That's the only "bad" thing about it. I went in thinking I would be able to fool myself into thinking it was fried. But the recipe is super yummy.


I couldn't find the seasoning mix either, and I live in a big city.. I actually looked on the Knorrs website, and it wasn't on there. So I just left it out.
WonderfullyMe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Posts: 3
Review Date: Thu May 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: Is there even such a Knorrs seasoning?

While it was definitely tasty, it didn't resemble fried chicken whatsoever. More like chicken with shake and bake on it. That's the only "bad" thing about it. I went in thinking I would be able to fool myself into thinking it was fried. But the recipe is super yummy.


I couldn't find the seasoning mix either, and I live in a big city.. I actually looked on the Knorrs website, and it wasn't on there. So I just left it out.
Bar10der
Sonny 07-05-2011.bmp

Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: July 2002
Location: forsaken desert
Posts: 13401
Review Date: Mon April 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): OMG Yummers !!!
Cons:

Very good although I tweaked it a bit. Used 6 chicken tenders. Didn't have enough pork rinds so I added a little bit of corn flakes to the pork rind mix. Used only 3 tbsp. of HD dry mix, some garlic & lemon pepper. Baked about 40 minutes.
Bar10der
Sonny 07-05-2011.bmp

Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: July 2002
Location: forsaken desert
Posts: 13401
Review Date: Tue April 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy and good
Cons:

Made this last night. After grinding the pork rinds, found I didn't have enough so I added some corn flakes to the mix. Used 3 tbsp. dry HV ranch, some garlic powder and lemon pepper. Using chicken tenders, bakes for about 40 minutes.
HBGal
Guest

Registered: April 2004
Posts: 900
Review Date: Sat June 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spicy and Delicious!!
Cons:

This tasted better than I expected! The look reminds me of my mom's fried chicken (not shake-n-bake like mentioned in a previous review, but I used real parmesean and not the canned stuff, so maybe that's why) and to me, it tastes just like a spicy chicken item you might get at a fast food restaurant. I'm definitely making this again. My husband loved it, too!
Review Date: Fri June 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sounds good
Cons: more carbs than stated

This says it is 6 carbs for the entire recipe, but the one pack of ranch dry dressing is 16 carbs and I am not sure about the other seasoning. Sounds yummy though. I use the Itailian salad dressing mix which is 8 carbs for the entire package mixed with 1/2 cup parmesan cheese and 1/2 tsp garlic powder to about 2 lb of boneless chicken breast and bake at 400 for about 20-25 minutes. It is really good. And entire batch this way would be 8 carbs. This will be about 6 chicken breast.
rican3
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2007
Location: So. Texas
Posts: 158
Review Date: Thu June 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent taste
Cons: more like shake n bake

Was dissapointed it was not more like fried , but the flavor was really good. My husband liked the flavor too. I have been using Sazon for years and if you can't find it look in the Spanish section at Walmart. That's were they have it here. Mine is made by Goya.
Rory
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 17563
Review Date: Sun November 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Sazon is a type of seasoning used is Spanish and Latino dishes. You can find it in most markets today, if not the Knors brand check out Goya brand. It can contain garlic salt, cilantro and achiote.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.