Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
5 Sun October 28, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0












Description:
Ingredients: 2 cups cooked chicken -- diced bite-size
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 can tomatoes with green chilies
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese -- or pepper jack
3 each whole wheat flour tortillas -- **or low-carb specialty
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 350f. Spray a round casserole with cooking spray (the casserole should be just a little bigger than the tortilla). Mix the chicken cubes, cream, 1 cup cheese and tomatoes w/green chilis and season with salt and pepper to taste. Spoon a small amount into the bottom of the casserole and then place a tortilla in it. Spoon 1/2 the chicken mixture over the tortilla, top with another tortilla and then the chicken mixture again, reserving some of the liquids. Finish with the final tortilla and spread the
liquid over it, then top with the additional shredded cheese. Cover with foil and bake for approx 45 minutes or until bubbly and slightly thickened.


**The whole wheat tortillas I get (Homestyle Kitchens brand organic flour tortillas) are 21g carbs each; 2g fiber; 1g sugar; 4g protein; 90 calories each. They are fat free and come in several 'flavors' like pesto, cilantro, etc.
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 14g total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


jtex
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 117
Review Date: Thu October 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy!
Cons: not enough chicken

I live in Texas, and I'm told this is a Texas "country" staple, so I had to try it. It was GREAT. The only thing I did differently was add more chicken. I liked it better than "real" King Ranch Chicken! Definitely a keeper!
Not2BaBeachballBride
TICKER.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Posts: 568
Review Date: Sat January 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Freakin' Awesome!
Cons: You will want to eat every last bit...

I haven't ever tried the high-carb version - never heard of it before. Tried this one with very little variation: used diced tomatoes without chili's and seasoned chicken with cilanto, cumin and mexican chili powder when cooking to make up for lack of chilis- IT WAS AWESOME. SO loved it too and he isn't low carb. It is so good. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Review Date: Fri May 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent
Cons:

I grew up on the "real" King Ranch Chicken, so I was skeptical about this one, but I was very surprised. Like someone else said: it's awesome.
TAMUKmom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon May 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is good.
Cons:

I used corn tortillas instead of low carb flour. I live near the famous King Ranch and usually the recipe calls for corn tortillas which do not have a lot of carbs.
Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is just excellent .
Cons:

I love this better than the original King Ranch Chicken. I did use corn tortillas that had less carbs.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.