Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
5 Thu December 4, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 9.3












Description:
Ingredients: 2 eggs
2 tbls. heavy (whipping) cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tbls. water
1 tbls. olive oil
2 1/2 tbls. wheat gluten
1 tbls. soy flour
1 tsp. baking powder
3 packets of Splenda
1/4 tsp. salt
How To Prepare: Mix the eggs with an electric mixer until foamy. Add heavy cream and mix again for about 3 minutes (get some air into the liquids). Add vanilla, water, and olive oil an mix in. (I usually put everything into a mixer on a stand with a bowl attached and let it run while I get each ingredient together.)


Add the Splenda and salt and mix again.


This is *very important*: Sift the wheat gluten, soy flour, baking powder into the liquid ingredients. If you do not sift them, the gluten and soy flour will tend to clump and you will have flat, eggy pancakes.


Mix well then drop batter by 2 tbls. at a time onto a hot, buttered griddle. Turn over when the edges start to dry a bit and a few bubbles form on the top. If you wait too long to turn them over, they will not rise as much.


This recipe actually makes cake-like pancakes which are very close to the real thing but you have to follow the instructions.
Number of Servings: 6 small-med. pancakes
Preparation Time: 20 min.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


Jacqueline747
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat February 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fluffy and yummy
Cons:

I was a bit worried when I was mixing the ingredient together. The batter seemed really runny. I just about added more soy flour..but stuck to measurement.
Just to let you know I have tried every single low-carb pancake recipe there is!!
Anyways... THESE ARE THE BEST PANCAKES EVER!!!
samaria
Guest

Registered: May 2004
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 68
Review Date: Sat June 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

how many carbs?
kat82501
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 746
Review Date: Sat August 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great texture - just like a "real" pancake
Cons: The soy flavor may bother some

Since DH and I rarely eat breakfast together, I made these up for dinner with bacon & eggs. Yummy! Totally satisfied my pancake craving, and my picky DH loved them too. I added a little cinnamon to the batter to mask the soy flavor a little more. The batter does seem runny - but just use a hot griddle and they'll cook perfectly. I figured 11 carbs with 1g fiber for the full recipe. I got a total of 8 three- to four-inch pancakes.
kat82501
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 746
Review Date: Mon August 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A++++
Cons:

Makes great waffles too!


Boudica
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2007
Location: Embracing mackereality!
Posts: 2705
Review Date: Thu December 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make, tasty
Cons: ADDICTIVE

I ended up cutting the Splenda & vanilla extract out of the recipe and replacing the water with Davinci's Vanilla Syrup. Delicious!! For 240 calories (in half the stated recipe) it is going to definitely become a staple in my night time snack rotation!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.