Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
39 Thu September 13, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers None indicated 9.4












Description:
Ingredients: 1 oz unsweetened baking
chocolate
1 stick butter
8 splenda packets
4 tablespoons peanut
butter


How To Prepare: Melt slowly together until
smooth. Spoon into muffin
cups lined with paper or
alumnimum cups (the
aluminum ones pop off
easier). Put into freezer for 1
hour.


Makes 12 cups.
Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2.2g
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Ruby64
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: June 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1077
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, fast
Cons: Addictive! :-)

We keep some of these in the freezer all the time. They make a quick sweet snack. Even those not low carbing like these!
sunsplash
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 473
Review Date: Mon February 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
Cons: none

These are the best low carb treat I have had, it's also close to the best non low carb treat I have had as well!
Happylowcarbing
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 195
Review Date: Thu February 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Absolutely delicious!
Cons: None, if you can stop at just one!

This recipe is so quick, so easy, so delicious! I will definitely be making it again!
Winstonian
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 150
Review Date: Fri March 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and great tasting!
Cons:

These are really great and so quick! My DH said that these taste better than the real thing, and I agree. Definitely a must try.
JVL Candle Lady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 68
Review Date: Tue April 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, delicious.
Cons: Addicting

mama-dodge
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 67
Review Date: Fri April 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast Convenient
Cons: Absolutley NONE

This is the best creation!!!! I agree they are addicitng, but oh so worth it....
GinaFaye
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 80
Review Date: Mon May 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smooth tasting
Cons:

Excellent version of PB cups; great tasting straight from the freezer; smooth and delicious!
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Can you have these on induction??
embutterfly75
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16
Review Date: Mon June 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I've tried this recipe a few times because it got such good reviews. But everytime i make these they taste so bitter, i can't eat them.
Mayzr97
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 2
Review Date: Thu June 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick
Cons: None

A must have in the freezer at all times!!!
mandyc74
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 95
Review Date: Fri June 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste!
Cons:

Just made these. It took me a total of about 5 minutes. I melted them in the microwave for just over 1 minute. They were messy when I was eating them, but finger licking good!
azktycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2001
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 204
Review Date: Sat June 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: tastes bitter!

These are really easy to make but mine came out tasting bitter! What am I doing wrong??
They looked so good too. Sad
Review Date: Sun July 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

From the reviews, I was really excited, but disappointed when I tasted this recipe. Something wasn't right. Maybe too much splenda?
Ladidah
MyFile 1.jpg

Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: June 2003
Posts: 9759
Review Date: Sun August 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, delicious
Cons:

I would use unsalted butter for this recipe. I am not normally a baker and they tasted a little salty with regular butter.
Review Date: Sun September 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sweet and easy
Cons: a little bitter

I enjoyed this candy and will definitely make it again. However, it did have a fairly pronounced bitter taste to it. I didn't use Splenda; I used an off brand, so that may be the reason. but, it is still quite tasty!
Review Date: Wed November 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I love this recipe!
ChaseTyMadi
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 43
Review Date: Tue January 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make, delicious!!!
Cons: none

These are too good! We keep these in the freezer at all times. I think it's much better to use unsalted butter, though.
michelle779
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 385
Review Date: Mon May 23, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!!!
Cons: Too buttery-will use less butter next time

Very good!! I used Nestle's Pre-melted Unsweetened Chocolate & Carb Options peanut butter & these definitely hit the spot! The only problem I had with them is they had a bit of a buttery taste. I will use less butter next time. Highly recommended!!
DebinOR
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 11
Review Date: Fri November 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: Hard to stop eating

These satisfy that 'need' to have a little something after dinner.
Review Date: Fri December 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful
Cons: I wanted to eat the entire pan :)

I used unsalted butter which was good. I also used peanut butter that had no sugar added (Peter Pan) this cut down on the carbs. I also made them in the minature muffin cups.
densgrl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 113
Review Date: Tue December 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome
Cons:

These are super easy and they taste great
Review Date: Thu December 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great for a chocolate fix
Cons: none

I use the unsalted butter too. Splenda I use 1/3 cup. I add a tablespoon of cream. Just had one out of the freezer, yum.
rockcandy47978
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat May 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: too BITTER

I made this and it was waaaaay to bitter. It was not even edible! I even added a couple extra packets of sweetner on the second batch---still yech! =(
hunnybunny32hare
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 22
Review Date: Fri November 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): creamy and cures the chocolate craving
Cons: a little bitter

I think you need to use less chocolate and more sweetner.
Review Date: Thu December 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome.
Cons:

These are great! I increase the number of Splenda packets to 12 -- that seems to make them just sweet enough.
LeighAnne
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 411
Review Date: Wed October 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Cheap
Cons: None...if I can stop at one!

Excellent. I will use unsalted butter next time though. But overall terrific!
WI_SLEDDOGS
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Location: Fox Valley , Wisconsin
Posts: 109
Review Date: Thu November 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy
Cons: non

these taste verry verry good!!
a note for those of you who its too
bitter for, check the % of dark
chocolate your using, unsweetened
of course. If you dont like dark choc,
you wont like a 99% dark.
caters
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2003
Posts: 731
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast to prepare
Cons:

I made mine with Torani sugar free vanilla syrup and they turned out awesome! No bitter flavor at all
juddinminime
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: January 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 4497
Review Date: Tue February 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works well for that chocolate craving!
Cons: Dont use real peanut butter for induction

I used a SF peanut butter, for induction.
These taste great I will keep them in the freezer for sure!
dirtgrrl88
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mon August 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Creamy!
Cons: Slightly bitter

I had a slightly bitter taste..so i added more splenda and some sugar free vanilla syrup..man these were good. creamy texture of a peanut butter cup. Just what i needed..tho i could eat all of them right here and now lol
kbragg
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2007
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 77
Review Date: Wed September 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
Cons: A little too rich

These were awesome! They're a little too buttery but that's kind of a good thing...it'll keep me from eating all twelve in one sitting!
Review Date: Wed December 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, quick, easy ingredients
Cons: after taste

I made these with 12 packets of splenda like suggested, I would probably cut it to 8. No room in the freezer, and I planned to just put them outside. Living in NJ, in December I figured it would be cold enough. Nope, it was 60 overnight. So, I refrigerated them. They felt like fudge. I didn't like the aftertaste. Then, I froze them and they were great. A lot less of an aftertaste. It's probably my fault though. I wish there was a way to fill these with PB, maybe I'll try making a cup, fill it half way, freeze it, plop PB on it, freeze it, then fill the rest with chocolate, like a Reese's PB cup.
tinamariec
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 96
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Yummy! Easy to make!
bugandbeetle1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Can someone tell me if regular peanut butter like Jif could be used? They all have hydrogenated oil.
carolescott
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed May 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

i do not find them bitter as long as i use splenda. last time i used the vanilla flavored splenda. awesome! next i'll try the caramel splenda. i also use unsalted butter. i have sprinkled a walnut or 2 on them too.
Review Date: Tue June 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super easy and delicious!
Cons: none.

I loved this recipe! I am super new to the low carb world and needed a sweet fix, and this was absolutely perfect! Smile I didn't put as much splenda though and it was awesome.
Review Date: Thu October 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great taste
Cons: none

Wow - these are great! After reading some of the reviews, I tried it with only 6 tablespoons of unsalted butter. I didn't have any cupcake liners, but did have a plastic candy mold. I filled my turkey baster (sp?) and filled the candy molds within seconds. The only thing I struggled with was getting them out of the molds, as they remain a touch 'soft' even after they're frozen. I had to use a knife to pry them out, and then slightly marred each one. Any suggestions? I'm wondering how silicone molds would work....?
zulloc
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 39
Review Date: Tue July 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): calmed my sweet tooth
Cons: none

Thanks for posting this recipe. Also thanks to all the other reviewers. I used unsalted butter as others suggested. Also my bakers cocoa was 100% so I used 2/3 cup granular splenda and a splash of caramel flavored sugar free torani syrup.
Once we poured them into the cupcake pan we put a tiny dollop of peanut butter in the middle of each one.
They turned out wonderful. My kiddos loved them.
They did have a bit of a artificial sweetener taste but that is to be expected when you use artificial sweeteners.


~Carole
avocadocat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy!
Cons: ate too many!

To avoid the saltiness issue, I used 1/2 a stick of butter and the rest (1/4 cup) coconut oil. I also added a tablespoon of heavy cream to make it a little milkier, and I was using stevia extract. Tried 1/4 teaspoon (yes, it's very concentrated) but might use just a tiny bit more next time. They popped right out of the cups, and they taste AMAZING!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.