Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
8 Thu March 29, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers None indicated 8.5












Description:
Ingredients: 7 packets of unflavored Knox Gelatin
one small teflon-coated saucepan
1/2 cup of water, cold
1 tablespoon of Pure Anise Flavoring (ok, so ya caught me, its actually anise candy but licorice candy is really flavored by a combination of anise and licorice root)
3/4 cup splendiferous Splenda
a long sheet cake pan or cookie sheet, tinfoil wrapped, lightly coated with oil.
For those of you who, like myself have missed the heck out of black licorice flavored chewy candies and have noticed, due to the rarity of demand (let's face it- not too many people like it) it is an almost impossible flavor to find in sugar free....


i have stumbled across an incredible edible breakthrough!


Yes, chewy black licorice candy is now something you can create for your very own private chewing pleasure, right in your own home!


YES! You read that correctly....IN YOUR OWN HOME!





How To Prepare: Dump all 7 packets of gelatin powder into the pan, add the Splenda, pour in the water and mix untill you have a semisolid spongy lump, then turn on the heat to medium and stir untill it is all melted, add the tablespoon of Anise flavor, continue stirring for a short time- a minute or two- not long and then pour into long stripes onto the foil wrapped pan, let it setup a bit and then place in the fridge, in a few minutes you can peel off the strips of gummy candy and chew away!
I was going to try making this authentically black, but i don't have any food coloring- so mine isn't those beautiful glistening green/black strips....it looks like a big tapeworm.....



I hope someone tries this and likes it.... the recipe was adapted from a recipe in the RR here,listed under Gummy Bears, by "Unknown".
Number of Servings: one, unless you feel like sharing
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Count for the Splenda, but i think the Knox is carbless
Preparation Time: Gosh, like 10 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


pinkkittie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 69
Review Date: Tue March 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I can have black licorice again!
Cons: None

I've missed black licorice so much, and the one sf kind that I was able to find still had like 7 carbs per serving. This tastes exactly like good ol' black licorice minus all the extra stuff I don't want. =)
Ceze
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 555
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste!!!
Cons:

The texture is a little different than gummy candies but the taste is great. It was a hit with the licorice lovers I know.
joy2c
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: October 2000
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 6369
Review Date: Tue July 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Fun
Cons: None

To cut down on the carbs, I substituted 1/2 cup sf vanilla davinci's for the water and dropped the granulated splenda. I also added a little stevia. Came out excellent--basically no cals, no carbs with the davinci's!!! Lots of fun!
Review Date: Tue January 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, cheap, good
Cons: None

Thank you so much for posting this recipe !! My husband LOVES licorice, and you're right, it's impossible to find sugar free. Very simple to make - and it's ready to eat in just a few minutes. We also bought some root beer flavoring and I'm gonna try that today. Thanks again !!
absolutepenny
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 76
Review Date: Tue December 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and fast
Cons: none

This is soooo good! I have found SF licorice in Canada but it is very expensive. This is not bad and it is ready so quickly. I can just whip some up whenever I feel the urge.... Thanks!
Lucianna
Guest

Registered: July 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 20
Review Date: Sun August 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and easy
Cons: Texture

The licorice taste was there, but the texture wasnt very palatable, it was like very concentrated jello, very rubbery. The smell during preparation was also too strong. Salted dutch licorice is quite affordable and available in my area, so I wont be making it again.
Review Date: Sat September 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): this is what I've been missing
Cons: carb count

This is wonderful
Review Date: Thu March 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast, easy, great taste
Cons: horrid texture, awful looks.

Tried this out last night and it was easy breezy, and tasted phenomenal. The worst part was however, it looked like ghoul skin, it FELT like ghoul skin, and it probably had the same chewyness and slimyness as ghoul skin.


I recommend:
- get some super-black food coloring paste. 1/2 tbsp in the mixture should do the trick.
- pour the melted mixture into silicone ice-cube trays, put them in the fridge for a while and let it cool and set.


DO NOT do what i did: put the stuff in the freezer. It creates a weird frozen layer almost immediately, and the stuff dried out in an odd way. extremely gross.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.