Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
28 Sat March 19, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description:
Ingredients: 1/4 cup flax seed -- grind -
should make 1/2 cup
ground
1/4 cup protein powder
2 tablespoons oil
1/4 cup artificial sweetener
-- splenda is best
1 egg -- beaten
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons banana
extract -- or flavor of choice
1/4 teaspoon salt substitute
-- gives potassium
1 ounce chopped nuts --
optional
1/2 cup water
How To Prepare: Mix the above, let sit for a
few minutes to thicken if
necessary. Spoon into 6
non-stick (I
spray with pam) muffin tins.
Bake 25-30 minutes at 350
degrees.
NOTES : FREQUENTLY
ASKED QUESTIONS
Posted by Kay >^..^<


Q: Where can I get the
flaxseeds?
A: At a health food store.
Usually in section where
'bulk' products are sold.
Q: How do I grind them?
A: Use a coffee grinder. A
blender also works. And
some stores sell them
already ground, as
'flaxseed meal'
Q: Do I measure the flax
seeds before or after
grinding?
A: After.
Q: Where do I get protein
powder?
A: Health food store. GNC.
There are many, many
brands and varieties.
Always remember you want
protein powder with the
lowest carbs, hopefully 0
carbs.
Q: What is Splenda, and
where can I get it?
A: Splenda is a sugar
substitute, made from
sugar, which is basically
not 'recognized' by the
body, so it kind of just
'passes' right through,
unnoticed. You can get it in
stores if
you live in Canada. In the
USA, you must order online
at www.splenda.com for the
time being.
When you get to the
splenda website, click on
the "Message to people
with
diabetes" to get to the order
form. Rumor has it this
wonderful product will be
distributed to
stores starting the end of
the year (we can only
hope!!).
Q: My muffins were too
hard. What did I do wrong?
A: Did you remember to add
the water? (Don't laugh;
people have forgotten.)
Q: The muffins seem bland.
A: So, add more extract ---
everyone has different taste.
You can pretty much have a
zillion
different flavors of muffins.
Try maple flavoring, or
pineapple with a dash of
rum
extract & unsweetened
coconut (pina colada! Ole!).
How about spice:
cinnamon, nutmeg, a pinch
of
ground cloves. How about
adding some peanut
butter? Or some
unsweetened cocoa? Or
orange. A good place online
to get different flavored
extracts is
http://www.spicesetc.com/
Q: Can I use an artificial
sweetener (such as Sugar
Twin or Equal) other than
Splenda?
A: Sugar Twin should work
okay, but Equal breaks
down in the heat when you
bake the muffins and
therefore is not
recommended . Splenda is
definitely the sweetener of
choice.
Q: Can I use packets
instead of
measure/spoonful/granular
sweetener?
A: Packets don't seem to
give as good results. You
can always try it, but for best
results, use
the
measure/spoonful/granular
kind.
Q: Can I use Soy Flour
instead of protein powder?
A: Yes, but some people do
not like the taste as well.
Feel free to try it if you don't
have a
problem with the taste of
Soy products. Also, realize
that soy flour has
carbohydrates,
and you will need to add
them to the carb count for
your muffins.
Q: Can I use any protein
powder?
A: Any protein powder
should work. The main
types of protein powder are
made with Soy, Whey or
Egg. Some protein powders
use a blend of two or three
of those. Protein
powder can be found in a
variety of flavors and
unflavored. The base recipe
calls for unflavored
protein powder, but feel free
to experiment with flavors to
your liking.
Q: What is the proper
consistency of the muffins
once they have been
cooked? Do they have a
bread-like texture? Just
wondering what to expect
when I have gotten it right.
A: If you measure the flax
seeds before grinding, the
results will still be very
good, but
produce a much more
dense muffin. When the flax
seed is measured after
grinding
(which is what you are
supposed to do), the result
will be much better: very
moist, with a
texture similar to a fluffy
wheat bread.
Q: Can I use Flax Seed Oil
instead of Flax Seeds?
A: NO. You can not use the
oil. The ground flax seeds
make up much of the bulk
of the muffins
and is essential to the
recipe. Plus, the seeds
provide much needed fiber.
Q: Can I use Atkins Bake
mix instead of protein
powder.
A: Yes, just make sure to
adjust the carb count, since
the bake mix contains more
carbs than the
protein powder called for in
the recipe.
Q: Dobie says to let the
batter sit to thicken, but how
long should I let the batter
sit?
A: it only takes a few
minutes to thicken up. It
should be noticably thicker
just in the time
between dropping the first
spoonful of batter into the
muffin pan and the last
spoonful.
Make sure you grind the
seeds very well, into a pretty
smooth, fine powder. It also
works best
to mix the dry ingredients
first, then add the wet
ingredients.
Q: Can I eat Dobie's muffins
on the induction diet?
A: Yes, just be sure to count
the carbs. The carbs Dobie
has listed are the
"bioavailable"
carbs. That means the fiber
carb count has been
subtracted from the total
carb count.
You are allowed to count
the resulting number as the
amount of carbs that are in
the muffin.
Depending on the exact
extracts, spices, nuts, etc.
you put in the muffins, the
"bioavailable" carb count
can vary from around 1 carb
to about 2 carbs per muffin.
Note: Dobie
has researched the carb
count in the ingredients,
especially the flax seeds,
even
talking with the Flax Seed
Council to verify the carb
count. She is very
comfortable with the
carb count she has listed.
As always, however, feel
free to adjust the carb count
to
your own calculations if
you're more comfortable
with a different number.
Just remember to count
it!
Q: Is it OK to use cupcake
'papers'?
A: NO!! If you do, the muffins
will stick to the paper, and
you'll 'lose' quite a bit of the
muffin!
And, some afterthoughts:
Best of all, remember you
can experiment with
whatever you like. I strongly
suggest your first
batch be made exactly as
the recipe says so you have
a good idea what the
muffins are like when made
Dobie's spectacular way.
After that, modify to your
heart's (or
stomach's) content and
share your experience.
Also, if you want to bake the
batter in a loaf pan, go
ahead; it works great that
way too.
And, for total decadence,
why not mix cream cheese,
vanilla extract, Splenda & a
bit of cream to
make cream cheese
frosting for the muffins /
loaf???
Number of Servings: 9
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 20g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


javalishus
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 44
Review Date: Sat March 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and loaded with heatlhy ingredients
Cons: none, I love them

These muffins are delisious hot with butter. I use either almond or lemon extract. Alos good if you leave out the extract , add more saltdried minced onion and garlic powder.
Review Date: Tue April 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons:

This recipe is so easy to make and find ingredients for - tastes just like NutBread.
Kimberli33
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 7503
Review Date: Thu April 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, Tastey, and Healthy
Cons: None.

I added pumpkin pie spice to the recipe and then had them warm with butter and cinnamon splenda sprinkled on top.Yum!
dbarker
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Sunny FLORIDA
Posts: 192
Review Date: Thu April 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dense, rise just like real muffins!!
Cons:

I make 2 dozen a week, just love them. Eat two for breakfast and several times a week, I eat two as a snack. I use Davinci syrup in the place of the sweetner and subtract the volume from the water in the recipe. I also love the almond extract flavor.
RowanGrey
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 212
Review Date: Wed May 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Filling, tasty, and versatile
Cons: Yield is a bit low, you might want to double the recipe

What a great recipe! I substituted SF vanilla syrup for the Splenda and brought the carb count way down. I also used Atkins Bake Mix instead of the protien powder. I made mine in a loaf pan, and cut the resulting skinny loaf into quarters (3g net carbs each). Flavor can EASILY be changed by using different combos of SF syrup and flavor extracts. I'd bet even non low carbers would dig this for breakfast!
Review Date: Thu July 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy & very yummy
Cons:

I must be the world's worst cook - well at least the worst in Australia. Anyway I've tried tons of recipes re lowcarb cooking (sweety things) and they are just rubbish so I was sceptical to say the least. Anyway I even used 1/2 almond meal instead of flaxseed (in Oz this is called linseed) and they were really really good. I didnt need to cook for as long as stated but that would be because of my oven - only 15-18min maximum. I also put in an extra 1/2cup almond meal cos the mixture looked really really sloppy and although probably not a light as they should be were still yummy. I used banana flavoured protein powder to get an extra bananary flavour.


Well done - great recipe.


Sharon
Perth - Western Australia
javalishus
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 44
Review Date: Sun November 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): These are wonderful muffins
Cons: none

This is my second rating but wanted to mention 1 tsp pineapple extract and 1 tsp coconut extract for pinacolada muffins. Excellent!
bablondie25
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 43
Review Date: Fri November 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great, haven't had a muffin in years!
Cons: none

These are great..felt like I was having real muffins again. I wonder if there's a substitute for flax seeds?
karenry
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 138
Review Date: Fri November 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Nutritional Values from Life Form:(w/o nuts)
Cal 130
Total fat 8 gms
Sat Fat 0
Chol
karenry
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 138
Review Date: Sat November 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Nutritional Values from Life Form:(w/o nuts)
Cal 130
Total fat 8 gms
Sat Fat 0
Chol 36 mg
Sodium 276 mg
Total Carbs 2 gms
Fiber 1 gm
Sugars 0
Protein 7 g


Adding walnuts increases calories to 159 and carbs to 3 gm
Meerkat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 49
Review Date: Fri November 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, quick to make and satisfying
Cons: It's a little gooey? even though it's cooked properly

I'm crazy over muffins. I have a whole batch of atkins blueberry deluxe muffins sitting in the freezer, but I had to resist them due to the high carb content(8g). So I found Dobie's muffins.
It took me less than an hour to prepare the batter, bake and cool them. I couldn't resist tasting one before it was cooled, and my goodness this tastes wonderful! I also added a wee bit of almond essence. Really hits the spot when I need something sweet and bready.
Only thing is, I think flaxseeds have a rather gooey texture to them. I'm thinking of trying this with almond flour and perhaps soy flour in the future.
Great recipe!!!
Meerkat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 49
Review Date: Sat November 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes amazing overnight.
Cons:

You really have to wait overnight before you taste this one. Seriously. This morning I had one and it tastes so good. I can foresee that I'll be having trouble with control here. I read somewhere that LC baking tastes better overnight, and it's really true. So if you're intending to have these muffins, make them the night before, and put yourself in a straightjacket to stop yourself from pinching them! I wish I could re-rate this a perfect 10, but it seems I can't. Anyway, 10/10!!!
michelle779
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 385
Review Date: Fri April 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great tasting
Cons: None

I've had several different muffin recipes & this is one of the best I've come across. I made mine with peanut butter. Highly recommended!
silentkate
Guest

Registered: August 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2980
Review Date: Sun April 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make and came out great.
Cons:

I got flax seed meal for the first time today and this is the first recipe I made with it. I loved it! My protein powder is strawberry flavored so the muffins were strawberry flavored and they were great. Smile Now I need to buy banana protein powder so I can make banana nut muffins.
splot
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Posts: 5
Review Date: Sun May 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Not sure why nobody else noticed this, but is this recipe for 6 or 9 muffins???
It says "spoon into 6" but then down below it says 9 servings!
splot
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon May 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy and yummy!
Cons: Kinda odd texture

Very very good!
I made them doublesize with Atkins vanilla shake mix as my protien powder, added pumpkin pie spice and a little extra cinnamon and cloves. Also sprinkled the nuts (pecans) on top so they'd toast. Had a couple with butter, warm from the oven, they were really good. I'd been missing my bran muffins, these are a great substitute!
I am a bit worried they won't keep cuz they're so moist inside. I'll have to refrigerate them so they don't mold too soon.
Also, it looks from MY calculations, like a DOUBLE batch like I made should only have 20 grams net carbs! Not sure if maybe my box of flaxmeal disagrees with Dobie or what...


Taking the recipe to my mom's to try this weekend!
LolaLeeLolo
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2003
Location: Random provinces across Canada
Posts: 476
Review Date: Sat May 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good texture, lots of fibre
Cons: will mold quickly if you dont refridgerate or freeze

perfect addition to low carb diets, i usually use vanilla extract as my flavouring and it tastes great. when i was in later phases of atkins i added frozen raspberries to the recipe and they gave the muffins an added punch (watch carb counts!).
sometimes i add a little more flaxmeal than listed because im afraid of the watery consistency of the batter, but letting it sit for 5 minutes does help. freezes well.
splot
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Posts: 5
Review Date: Tue July 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): lighter, less gooey, rise higher
Cons: higher carb

I MODIFIED THIS RECIPE! (pros and cons are for my version)
And since the results were very good, I thought others might like to know. Smile


Dobie's recipe was good, but always came out flat-topped, and they were very gooey and strangely textured. So I started experimenting and came up with a variation that works out very well.


Instead of 1/2 C flaxmeal, I use 1/4 c flaxmeal, 1/4 c almond meal, and 1/4c (wheat or oat) bran. The bran absorbs some of the excess moisture and gives them a less gooey, more muffin-y texture.


Adding 2 t banana extract, 1/2 c splenda (instead of 1/4c) and 1/4-1/2 c chopped pecans makes excellent banana nut muffins! Enjoy! Smile
JadedOne
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4492
Review Date: Sun March 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

i made a cinnamon cream cheese sweetend mixture and spooned it inside the muffins before baking.
MMMMM
SweetTLC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 216
Review Date: Mon March 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, wonderful texture.
Cons:

I can't believe that I haven't tried these before!! They are excellent. I adore the texture. They are not heavy like so many low carb baking recipes. I made them according to the recipe using almond extract and almonds as the nuts. I did add a tad more flax because I was worried that they would be too runny. I will make this recipe again. : ) Thanks.
NBehr
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 36
Review Date: Tue April 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for you
Cons: none

Just FYI, Reynolds makes aluminum cupcake/muffin "papers." When I used them, the muffins didn't stick.
Review Date: Wed July 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent way to get in healthy flax
Cons: none

These muffins are, in a word, fantastic. I've made them twice now and I simply love them. The first time I didn't mix the dry ingredients together first and I used almond flavoring. I ended up with chunks of protein powder in my muffins and the almond was overpowering.


The second time I doubled the recipe, mixed all of the dry ingredients together and used butter flavoring. I've been eating two of them every day with my 3 PM cup of coffee and could not be more thrilled. Fantastic muffins.
shirlc
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 4094
Review Date: Sun August 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good taste, easy
Cons: None!

I was really glad I tried these. I haven't baked much low carb...just tried the revolution rolls last week. I like these much better! I used orange extract and chopped pecans.
geniag
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Location: California
Posts: 145
Review Date: Wed January 31, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty, lots of fiber
Cons:

I'm making these for several years now, don't measure flax seeds that much anymore, go by the texture. I add wheat bran for extra fiber, and they end up like real muffins, not flat or gooey, as someone complained. I also use the cupcake 'papers'(a NO on FAQ, but I hate washing the tins, they always stick, no matter what I do, so I use a spoon to take the pieces that get stuck to the paper - works fine). I eat 1 for breakfast with coffee every day (that's my entire breakfast, I'm not hungry after that).
bunnyliu
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 27
Review Date: Tue April 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

so is it 20g carbs divided by 9 muffins? Or 20g carbs each?
bunnyliu
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 27
Review Date: Thu April 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious!
Cons: flax seed carb content is a tad high

I evaluated the recipe on Sparkpeople's recipe nutrition counter, and each serving has about 10g of carbs (already subtracted fiber content). Is there any lower carb substitute to Flax seed because it's quite high. Also I always had to double this recipe to fill even 6 muffin tins! Are these supposed to be dinky muffins? Otherwise, Dobie can you explain why the carb count is so low despite flax seed's high carb content?
bunnyliu
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 27
Review Date: Mon July 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so many variations are possible, really truly muffin like!
Cons: 1 batch doesn't quite make 6 muffins (unless we're talking cupcake tins, then maybe, but these are not muffin sized. They're all so small!)

I just have one question. Many have asked but it has not been answered. Is this for 6 servings or 9 already? Please tell us!
pantherider
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat March 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: crunchy

I made these with raspberry extract, which i liked the taste, they seem very crunchy, but edible. I got 6 muffins out of the recipe.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.