Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Wed January 2, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $9.00 9.4












Description: Growing up in the south we always ate shepards pie. I made this on a whim the other night and it turned out fantastic. My husband went back and ate the whole casserole dish.
Ingredients: Cauliflower Mock "Potatos"


1 bag of Steamfresh Cauliflower
1 stick of butter
1/4 cup real whipping cream
heavy garlic
salt and pepper


Other Ingredients:
90% lean hamburger meat (1 pound)
1 can of Del Monte's seasoned green beans
1 small onion
How To Prepare: Brown your hamburger meat with chopped onion. Drain and set aside. Steam your cauliflower in the microwave for 5 minutes. Transport the cooked cauliflower to your food processor and chop it up until its not lumpy. Transport your cauliflower to your food processor and add cream, butter, garlic, and salt and pepper.


Layer in casserole dish this order. Green beans, hamburger meat, and then your "potatos". Cook at 350 for about 30 minutes. You can add cheese on top if you would like. It's good that way too.
Number of Servings: 8-9
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6 or 7
Preparation Time: About 45 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


Review Date: Mon November 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted soooo good!
Cons: Meat a little dry, added cream of Chicken Soup.

I really didn't believe that cauliflower could taste like "mashed potatoes". OMG, it really does! Didn't tell my picky eater that it was mock potatoes (he hates cauliflower). He ate 2 servings. Everybody loved it.
Review Date: Tue September 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): absolutely phenomenal
Cons: none

This tasted amazing. I did add a little ketchup because I couldn't find seasoned green beans. That obviously upped the carb count a little. It tasted amazing, though! Sugar-free ketchup could probably be substituted, though. One other thing--"heavy garlic" does not mean 3 cloves. I just kept throwing it in there and it literally burned my tongue with garlic. But it still tastes amazing! This is by far one of the best recipes I have had lately, and I will be making it again. Kudos for finally making a fauxtato recipe that actually tastes good! Smile
treelover
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 82
Review Date: Sat November 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and yummy
Cons: not a thing

Yum! Very tasty! I omitted the green beans and in its place put in a good handful of mushrooms. I brought this dish for lunch for three days in a row and looked forward to it every day. In fact it was much better the next day than the first night.
Review Date: Sun March 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $9.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hearty Comfort food
Cons:

It's been cold and rainy and I wanted some good comfort food. I was making a dinner for about 9 people so I doubled the recipe.
My substitutions:
Double the recipe
2.5 lbs of ground chicken
2 cans fat free condensed cream of chicken added to the pot of cooked ground chicken. Let that simmer about 10 minutes.
Added Garlic to the chicken/soup pot instead of the cauliflower.


This was simply fantastic. It was exactly what the soul needed! Not only that, but only 3 of us are low-carb eaters, and yet everyone (kids and teenagers) went back for 2nds. I think next time I'll triple the recipe so I can have some leftovers!
mrferret
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun June 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Absolutely Fantastic
Cons:

A surefire hit with me and my DW. A few conversions to english measurements and it all turned out wonderful. First homecooked low-carb meal thanks very much !
mrferret
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed January 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: None

This has become a staple of our cooking with just a few substitutions :-)
Dropped the garlic and whipping cream and added a Knorrs stockpot to the beef when frying..


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.