Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
27 Wed January 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3












Description: Tastes like White Castle burgers-just no bun!
Ingredients: 1 pound ground beef 1 packet onion soup mix or seasoning mixture (see recipe below) 2 eggs 1/2 cup mayonnaise 1/4 cup heavy cream 8 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded Salt and pepper, to taste If you'd like to save a few carbs, you can use onion powder and dry minced onions in place of the onion soup mix, which has 16 carbs per packet. I used a mixture of 2 teaspoons toasted onion powder (available from Penzeys, or use regular onion powder) and 1 tablespoon dry minced onion. I also sprinkled a little onion powder in with the egg/mayonnaise mixture. If you do it this way: 476 Calories; 41g Fat; 24g Protein; 3g Carbohydrate; trace Dietary Fiber; 2.5g Net Carbs
How To Prepare: Brown the hamburger with about half of the onion soup mix or seasoning mixture; drain fat and season to taste with salt and pepper. Stir in remaining soup mix or seasoning mixture and put meat in a greased 9-10 inch pie plate. Stir in half the cheese, then top with remaining cheese. Beat eggs, mayonnaise, cream and a dash of pepper; pour evenly over meat. Bake at 350º for 30-35 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Can be frozen
Number of Servings: Makes 6-8 servings
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 490 Calories; 41g Fat; 25g Protein; 5g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 4g Net Carbs
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 857
Registered: November 2002
Location: Northern Michigan



careb
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2504
Review Date: Mon November 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons: none

very good
gettinserious
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: November 2002
Location: Crossroads of America :D
Posts: 7271
Review Date: Sat November 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and tasted great
Cons: I think I needed more onions

I have never had a White Castle, so I'm not sure what this replicates, but I do know it is delicious.
Review Date: Sun January 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delish - really, really good, and my non LC family loves it too.
Cons: I had to work pretty hard to blend the mayo in ;^p

My family loves it!!! It's now a regular!
dvldawgmd
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 19
Review Date: Thu March 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make; tastes great!
Cons:

I haven't had white castle burgers since I left Virginia. This is a great recipe for bachelors like me!
Amussue
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 258
Review Date: Wed March 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I was shocked that it did actually taste very similair to a white castle. especially with a bite of pickle.. mine was kinda dry though, could of been my ground beef or cooked to long.
Newmoo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7
Review Date: Thu May 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUM!!!! Easy and filling too.
Cons: None

With a hubby and 2 boys, it's a challenge to make one dinner that all of us can eat. This is one of those dinners! My toddler even loved it. My husband grubbed it and my 9 year old had thirds. I was full off of 1 large piece, (with sour cream). I kept feeling like there was no way this is low carb, even though I'm the one who made it. Thanks for the great recipe!
MissMolly18
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Mn native living in NY
Posts: 413
Review Date: Wed August 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy!!
Cons: none

very easy to make! (i made it in my cheesecake pan and it turned out just fine!)


tastes great. thinking next time I may use mushrooms in it as well.


thanks for the recipe!!!
michelle779
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 385
Review Date: Tue September 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so delicious
Cons: kind of carb-y

This is sooooooooooooo good! I have it atleast twice a week! I love it with low carb ketchup!
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Tue October 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good recipe
Cons:

we all love it and family did too its easy to make and its keeper
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Tue October 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

its keeper
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Tue October 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great dish
Cons: we love it

we all love it will make it again
goheels
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 477
Review Date: Sun January 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons:

I made this today for the first time. It was easy to make and made a hearty meal. Thanks Linda for all your recipes.
tinamariec
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 96
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great recipe! Easy to make!
SoManyReasons
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 89
Review Date: Thu February 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, easy, and fast!
Cons:

This is awesome! I've never had White Castle so I can't compare, but this is absolutely delicious. I used freshly chopped onions instead of the dried stuff. Excellent!
Linny
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2003
Location: NW PA
Posts: 4801
Review Date: Sun February 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: Eat too much - lol

This is a very good recipe that I will definitely make again.
Review Date: Tue March 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons:

I've been to White Castle a few times and it does have a similar taste but I can't decide if I really like it or not. To be honest, after having the regular White Castle my stomach generally starts hurting not long afterwards. I think that it may have been too greasy or something from the grease from the melted cheese on top. Maybe I should have done something differently.
Review Date: Tue June 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make. So yummy!!
Cons: It was eaten rather quickly!

This is definitely a keeper! Even my husband enjoyed and went back for more! Thank you for posting this recipe. Thumbs Up!
lisa89
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 924
Review Date: Mon June 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and Low carb
Cons: None.

Very DELICIOUS!..goes great with most vegtables.
sufkcerts
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri February 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy
Cons: None

I used only 1/4 pkg of soup mix altogether and served with a sauce of 1/4 c Rotel tomatoes and 1/4 c mayonnaise. My husband loved it.
Review Date: Mon February 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and tasty
Cons: I worried my arteries were clogging with every bite!

I added sauteed mushrooms and did not use the onion soup mix bc too carby. I used minced dried onions, garlic powder and onion salt. Next time I will add chopped green pepper and a minced jalapeno.
heatherwagnon
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2010
Location: Vacaville CA
Posts: 592
Review Date: Thu May 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): freaking amazing!!
Cons: none

THIS is a definite make! Was totally awesome, and I've made it a couple of times since then. Its worth the try if you're not sure. Hubby and I loved it!
krazy
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 180
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
Cons:

I can almost can taste the bottom bun Smile thanks!
Tromawwf
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Ronkonkoma NY
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy to make!
Cons: My girlfriend wants me to make it all the time

This was my first recipe tried on here and I will defintaley be trying more!
smittin
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 30
Review Date: Wed August 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons:

my family doesn't like mayo and can taste it in the topping. any ideas on how to modify the egg mixture without using mayo? next time I'm gonna add mushrooms to the meat while it's cooking.
MrsBumble
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat November 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast and easy
Cons: None

This was fantastic!! Husband and both kids loved it too!
Review Date: Mon November 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple, fast, awesome
Cons: None

Just made this. OMG, it is SOOO good! If you don't try this........you are crazy!!! :-)
TimTaylor
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2012
Location: Central CA.
Posts: 5
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons:

This was pretty good but it really did not remind me of a White Castle burger. Well maybe a little bit. I will def. be making it again though. Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.