Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


49365chimichanga.gif

 
Reviews Date of last review
10 Mon November 21, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
49365chimichanga.gif


49365chimichanga.gif









Description: Yummy, cheesy chimichangas.
Ingredients: * 2 - 4 large low carb tortillas
* 1 pound of ground beef
* LindaSue's Seasoning for Tacos
* 2 - 4 ounces of shredded cheddar cheese
* 1 - 2 ounces of cream cheese
* canola oil
* chopped tomato and green onion for garnish (optional)
* 1 ounce of cream cheese and 1 ounce cheddar cheese to melt on the top of the chimichangas(optional)
How To Prepare: Brown the ground beef in a skillet and drain the oil from the pan. Add the taco seasoning to the ground beef (Use just enough for one pound of ground beef. I used Lindasue's Seasoning for Tacos...the link is at the bottom of my post). Add a bit of water to the skillet and stir the mixture over medium heat for a few minutes until the seasonings are incorporated and the water has evaporated. Take a tortilla and at one end, add 1/4 - 1/2 pound of meat, one ounce of shredded cheddar and 1/2 ounce of cream cheese. This will create a VERY full tortilla. Carefully roll up the tortilla like a burrito or an egg roll making sure that the ends are tucked inside (if the tortilla is too full and hard to roll, you might have to remove some meat). Smear the inside of the exposed edge with cream cheese to seal the chimichanga up tight. Then fill, roll and seal the remaining tortillas the same way. Put about a quarter of an inch of canola oil in the bottom of a skillet and heat it up. Add the chimichangas to the hot oil with the exposed edge side up. Carefully fry the chimichangas and turn them so that they brown on more than one side. Drain on paper towels. The chimichangas are now ready to eat as is. OR, heat up your oven to approximately 450 degrees. Smear the tops of the chimichangas with a small amount of cream cheese and sprinkle a small amount of shredded cheddar on top. Place the chimichangas on a cookie sheet and bake until the cheese is melted. Garnish with chopped tomato and minced green onions and serve. These are so good...crisp, crunchy, cheesy and all melted inside...ooolala. You could experiment with endless filling ideas.


For large chimichangas and for the carb counts below, I used La Tortilla Whole Wheat Large Tortillas. I have also made small chimichangas using Mama Lupe's Whole Wheat Tortillas...if you use Mama Lupe's, adjust the carb counts accordingly).


For LindaSue's Recipe for Seasoning for Tacos: http://users3.ev1.net/~fontlady/sea..._for_tacos.html
Number of Servings: 2 - 4 (4 if you use 1/4 pound of meat per tortilla or 2 if you use 1/2 pound of meat per tortilla).
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: The carb count for one chimichanga using Large La Tortilla Tortillas, 1/4 pound of meat and with no optional items: Approximately 7.5 net carbs
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 216
Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota



Review Date: Mon March 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and Easy to Make
Cons: None

This was an excellent recipe. I added 1/4 onion chopped and 1/2 green onion chopped to the meat mix and it was very tasty!
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
momof4boyz
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2002
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 115
Review Date: Thu July 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

These are awesome! I'll be making these on a weekly basis. Not hard to make at all.
Review Date: Tue July 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yum Yum
Cons:

This was great! I used steak and added olives and green chille. I will make this again and again using different types of meat - can't wait to try it with shredded chicken. Thanks for sharing - the picture looked so good.
Review Date: Fri August 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

yum yum yum yum yum yum yum
Review Date: Tue February 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

So good for Mexican food lovers!!
Review Date: Tue February 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great for Mexican lovers!
camcam
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Review Date: Tue February 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

WOW - this turned out so good - it tasted illegal! It was easy to make (except for the splash of hot oil on my toe - next time I'll wear shoes!) and was yummy warmed up the next day too. Will be making this again and again. Thanks
enna1477
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 284
Review Date: Sat October 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent and tasty
Cons: none

Gosh, these were a huge treat! The whole family raved about them and even though I was initially intimidated by the rolling, the cream cheese seam sealer was a stroke of genius! I jazzed up the seasoning because we like things on the spicy side. Thanks so much for the awesome idea and basic recipe!
dkdex
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2008
Location: centralia,mo
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mon November 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

sounds good,i always crocked some beef or chicken shredded it and warmed meat in a skillet with a little seasoning stir it around a little add some salsa to make it a not so dry,then put some in shell top with cheese roll up and fry.i always put seamside down first,i dont know a carb count but i dont think it will be much if you use low carb tortilla,is just meat,salsa,cheese,they are great by themselves,but sour cream on them is good to


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.