Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
7 Thu October 11, 2007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3












Description:
Ingredients: 2 teaspoons olive oil --
divided
3 pounds beef chuck -- cut
into 1/2-inch cubes
2 1/2 teaspoons salt --
divided
1 cup chopped onions --
finely chopped
1 cup chopped green bell
peppers
2 teaspoons chopped
jalapenos -- finely chopped
5 cloves garlic -- crushed
2 tablespoons Chili Powder
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon ground red
pepper
5 tablespoons tomato
paste
Lime wedges and sour
cream -- for garnish


How To Prepare: 1. Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a
large skillet. Sprinkle beef
with 1/2 teaspoon salt.
Brown meat over
medium-high heat in two
batches; transfer to Dutch
oven. Pour drippings into
one-quart measure; add
enough water to make 4
cups.


2. Heat remaining oil in
same skillet. Add onions,
peppers, jalapeno and
garlic; cook 4 to 5 minutes,
until softened. Stir in
remaining salt and spices;
cook 1 minute. Stir in
tomato paste; cook 1
minute, then add 1 cup
water mixture. Bring to a
boil; scrape up any brown
bits and stir into beef. Add
remaining water; bring to a
boil.


3. Cover and simmer over
low heat 1 1/2 hours.
Increase heat to medium;
uncover and cook 30
minutes more.


4. Garnish with lime and
sour cream, if desired.
Makes 6 servings.


Source: www.lhj.com
NOTES : Counts for lime
wedges and sour cream
not included in totals.
Number of Servings: 6
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 9.3g
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Tue March 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): spices
Cons: None

I really liked this recipe when I first saw it because it looked like an authentic chili. The first time I made it, I entered it in a local chili cook-off and won first place. It has amazing flavor!
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's all good!
Cons: None

Fantastic! This is one of the best chili recipes (low carb/NON-low carb)I have ever tried. Great stuff!!
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Great!
Cons:

My hubby loved this! We didn't miss the beans at all. Great flavor!
AmyJuli
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: October 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 7927
Review Date: Sat April 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Very good chili, perfect amount of spice. I did find it a tad bitter, so I added about 1/4 c Splenda.
Kiara874
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: December 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15170
Review Date: Wed January 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Great!
Cons: None

I made it without the jalapenos as my 5 yr-old was eating it too. It was FANTASTIC. I also used a little splenda to counter the acidity of the tomato paste.


I never liked chili before, but this is GREAT!
todunlop
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: North East, CT
Posts: 582
Review Date: Tue March 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, Tastes great
Cons:

I make this a lot. The whole family loves it. If you need beans in your chili I've added a can of black soy beans once. Which was also excellent and gives you more fiber and protein. I usually end up adding more chili powder and cumin to taste.
SashimiMark
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2007
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 2867
Review Date: Thu October 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's chili!
Cons: Still too high in carbs for me to eat often. Maybe on maintenance.

I made this tonight. It was wonderful. I added some black beans to it. Very delicious.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.