Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
7 Sun December 11, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $15.00 10.0












Description:
Ingredients: 14 1/2 ounces canned
tomatoes -- Hunts choice
cut diced tomatoes
8 ounces tomato sauce --
Hunts
14 ounces beef broth --
Swanson's
14 ounces water
1 1/2 pounds lean ground
beef
1/2 large yellow onion --
diced
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne -- to
taste
pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt -- add more
later if needed
1/2 teaspoon ground black
pepper
1 teaspoon ground oregano
-- or blended Italian
seasoning
15 ounces black soybeans
-- drained and rinsed,
optional


How To Prepare: Preparation: In a large
kettle, brown ground beef
and onions, breaking up
well, until cooked through.
Drain all fat. Add spices and
continue to cook and stir for
a few minutes, then add the
remaining ingredients.
Reduce heat, cover and
simmer for at least 30
minutes or until reduced
slightly. Add beans, if using,
in the last 10 minutes, just
long enough to heat
through. Black soy beans
have a softer texture than
pinto beans and will break
down faster if cooked too
long. Add water or more
broth if necessary -
sometimes it cooks down
faster than anticipated.
Serve hot.


This is actually better the
2nd day - reheats well - add
beans when reheating, if
using beans.
Number of Servings: 9
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 88g carbs total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Brandiva
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: December 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4842
Review Date: Sun August 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best LC Chili recipe!
Cons: none

This recipe is one of my staples for my LC lifestyle. The spices are better than any prepackaged seasonng you can purchase in the store.
HeatherJanet
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 452
Review Date: Sat January 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): spice blend
Cons:

Review Date: Tue November 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

Very tasty. I left out the 14oz of water and simmered a little longer because I like a thick chili. My husband loved it.
Mona
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: Creswell, OR
Posts: 4189
Review Date: Wed November 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): perfect blend of spices
Cons: too watery with addition of water

Awesome chili! Next time I will leave out the water because I had to simmer it a long time to get it to proper consistancy, and I was hungry! haha.
SkInNy JeAnS
weight.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: canada
Posts: 210
Review Date: Sat November 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great blend
Cons: agree with the water

Smile
daydreamer84
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Saint Louis area
Posts: 10
Review Date: Fri July 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ?
Cons: ?

question? the carbs is that for the whole dish or per serving?
mccb17
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Washington, DC/Northern NY State
Posts: 865
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to prepare, great taste
Cons: Agree... no need for more than a few ounces of water.

Made this last night, and it'll be my lunch for the next few days. I left the beans out and only used 1/4 of an onion to reduce the carbs a little, though I did substitute 1 fresh, fine-chopped clove of garlic for the garlic powder. I also used some red pepper instead of cayenne, and some curry powder instead of straight cumin.


Either way, a very flexible and easy recipe. Great stuff!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.