Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
11 Tue February 19, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7












Description: This tastes like the filling of twice baked potatoes.
Ingredients: 1 head cauliflower ( or 1 frozen bag)
1/2 C. shredded swiss cheese
1/2 C. shredded cheddar cheese
2 T. bacon crumbles ( I use the bottled stuff)
1/2 stick butter
1/4 C. sour cream
1 egg, beaten
Any spices / herbs. ( I use salt, pepper, garlic powder & chives)


Shredded cheese for topping
How To Prepare: Cut cauliflower head into quarters, removing any green leaves. Boil in salted water about 10 - 12 minutes, until very soft. Drain well.
Put cauliflower back into same pot (that should still be fairly hot). Mash with potato masher / mixer. Add cheeses, bacon, butter, & sour cream. Mix well. Add beaten egg & spices / herbs. Put mixture into casserole & bake 20 minutes. Add cheese for topping, and cook until cheese is melted.
Number of Servings: approx 6
Preparation Time: 20 minutes prep - 30 minutes cook
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


Review Date: Sat January 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This recipe is a favorite.
Cons: Time consuming - do it on a weekend night

I grated the cauliflower instead of boiling it, and left out the egg. I love this recipe! Yum! It should be called, "I Can't Believe it's Not Potatoes".
poopsie2223
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2009
Location: Colorado Rockies
Posts: 1260
Review Date: Sun January 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made this without the bacon bits and it was excellent, very convincing. My potato-loving husband didn't even know these weren't real potatoes.
ncgirl05
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2003
Location: Mt Orab, OH
Posts: 69
Review Date: Sun March 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I could OD on it
Cons: Takes a little time but so worth it

So delicious! I make it over and over again :-)
HeyCE
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Review Date: Mon December 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste, fulfillment, ease of making
Cons: takes a little time but is fast

I just made this recipe and have just enjoyed my first helping. What a satisfying recipe! This is my first time having mashed cauliflower and I am really surprised by how good it tastes. I even forgot the egg and it still did well. A little dollop of sourcream on top finishes off the recipe. It is very filling and I'm going to freeze some portions to enjoy later this week. Thumbs up to this one!
TOBEthinAGAIN
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 999
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious! We loved it.
Cons:

This will be a standard side dish at our home from now on!!
natepickle
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 229
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): could not tell the diff between the spuds and this
Cons: none

This taste just like a twice baked potato. My 13 year old son ate it up ( didnt tell him it was cauliflower), my wife knew what it was and said" that is amazing, it taste like potatoes". Definitely a keeper
sTaRiA
weight.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 187
Review Date: Thu May 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, delicious and very filling!
Cons: Nothing

We had this with lamb chops and turnip chips. Ate it all up and so my fiancé who is not LC. She had some bread on the side but I wasn't even jealous! I will make this a few tImes a week :-)
Review Date: Sun October 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious
Cons: None!

Even my husband and kids who HATE veggies love this recipe!!
natural_born_texan
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 449
Review Date: Sun November 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons:

I made this recipe without the bacon since I didn't have any. I sprinkled the top with a few french fried onions during the last 5 minutes of baking time. Turned out to be very good. My 10yr. old really liked it; she even had a second serving. Glad I tried this---it's a keeper.
krisfrogten
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Posts: 289
Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
Cons: none

My parents invited us over for dinner but were serving baked potatoes. So, I took this as a side for my husband & I. Well, everyone at the house tried our cauliflower, and raved at how yummy it was. Thank you!!
Kleweless
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2013
Location: Port Hope, Ontario
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue February 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: none

I had my family over for dinner last night, and decided to try this, as I have no potatoes in the house. EVERYONE loved it, even my picky daughter-in-law!! I didn't have any swiss cheese, so I used marble.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.