Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
7 Wed March 20, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0












Description: I found this while hunting the web on how to make spaghetti squash. It's very informative.
That's why I called it what I did.
Ingredients: Spaghetti Squash


When buying spaghetti squash, look for yellow hard squashes that are heavy for thier size. Look for 8-9 inches in length and 4-5 inches in diameter. Avoid any squash with soft spots and green color is a sign of immaturity. The average four-pound spaghetti squash will yield about 5 cups.
How To Prepare: *Bake it - Pierce the whole shell several times with a large fork or skewer and place in baking dish. Cook squash in preheated 375 oven approximately 1 hour or until flesh is tender.


*Boil It - Heat a pot of water large enough to hold the whole squash. When the water is boiling, drop in the squash and cook for 20-30 minutes, depending on it's size. When a fork goes easily into the flesh, the squash is done.


*Nuke It (this is my favorite)- Cut squash in 1/2 lenghwise; remove seeds. Place squash cut sides up in a microwave dish with 1/4 cup water (I use a glass pie pan). Cover with plastic wrap and cook on high for 10-12 minutes, depending on size of squash. Add more cooking time if necessary. Let stand covered, for 5 minutes. With fork "comb" out the strands.


*Slow Cooker - Choose a smaller spaghetti squash (unless you have an extra large slow cooker) so that it will fit. Add 2 cups of water to slow cooker. Pierce the whole shell several times with a large fork or skewer, add to Crok Pot, cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours.


***Once the squash is cooked, let it cool for 10-20 minutes so it will be easier to handle, before cutting in 1/2 (if it wasn't already) and removing the seeds. Pull a fork lengthwise through the flesh to separate it into long strands.


Toss with seasonings or butter if desired.
Number of Servings: depends
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: I figure around 8 carbs for 1 cup, could be different though
Preparation Time: depends
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 55
Registered: January 2005



Lehgrad
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2005
Location: Boston
Posts: 2028
Review Date: Mon August 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is exactly what I needed! Nuking is the way to go.
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): toss with garlic and butter
Cons:

If you toss the "noodles" with a little butter and garlic powder and some Italian spices, it has a great taste.
Review Date: Fri May 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great when craving pasta
Cons: none, that I can think of

Really hits the spot when I'm craving some noodles. Tastes great with a litle butter and salt.
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8787
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Exactly what I needed
Cons: None

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this in the recipe room. I don't make it very often and always forget how best to do it. I appreciate this reference and reminder of how easy it can be to prepare. Thanks!
Peach123
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6
Review Date: Tue December 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Thank you for posting this. I just bought a spaghetti squash today and it's sitting on my counter, waiting for me to learn how to cook it!
Jonahsafta
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: December 2007
Location: LV
Posts: 2355
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Exactly what I was looking for
Cons:

I so appreciated this...Ive been having fun with the squash. This made it so much simpler.
Review Date: Wed March 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Our family loves this with homemade spaghetti sauce and parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.