Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
4 Thu October 18, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8












Description:
Ingredients: Brussel Sprouts 12 each
Olive Oil 1 Tsp
Bacon, chopped 4 slices
Shallots, chopped 1 Tbsp
Garlic, minced 2 cloves
Butter 1 Tbsp
Salt and Pepper to taste
How To Prepare: 1. Fill a medium-sized pot with water and salt and bring to a boil over high heat.
2. While water comes to a boil, put bacon and olive oil in a medium saute pan and slowly render until slightly crisp.
3. Meanwhile, remove any loose leaves from sprouts, trim ends, and score an X on the bottoms. Blanch in boiling water for 2-4 minutes (depending on size) until they can be pierced with a knife without much resistance.
5. Prepare a bowl with ice and cold water. Remove blanched sprouts from boiling water and put in ice bath to stop cooking (1-2 min.). Drain and cut into quarters. Set aside.
6. Add shallots and garlic to bacon. Continue cooking over low heat until softened, 4-5 min.
7. Raise the heat to medium and add brussel sprouts and stir well. Cook for about 5 minutes. Be careful not to overcook.
8. Season with salt & pepper and serve.
Number of Servings: 3 portions
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: about 6.2
Preparation Time: about 20 min.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Wed January 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, quick
Cons: none

This is a great recipe! It has quickly become one of our family favorites. Even my wife, who used to hate Brussels sprouts loves this. My 5 year old also loves it. Because it's hard to find good Brussels sprouts year round here, I have even used frozen sprouts and it turns out fine. Just be sure not to over cook them. I also use the Hormel bagged pre-cooked bacon-bits and this becomes a quick and easy recipe. Yum!
ny_shelly
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2006
Location: Rochester, NY but originally from Pittsburgh
Posts: 3667
Review Date: Sun March 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Disguises brussel sprouts
Cons: Getting the sprouts to correct tenderness

I hate brussel sprouts, but I really liked these alot and so did my 13 year old and husband.


I didn't use shallots, I used about 1/4 of a yellow onion sliced very thin. I didn't use butter. I used about 2 TBSP garlic that's already minced and comes in a jar with olive oil. I used a couple TBSP olive oil extra. I used about 3 slices of bacon, cut up. I followed the cooking instructions for the Brussel sprouts. I think next time I'll blanch them a little longer, but my husband liked them a little firm. I guess it depends on taste. Just make sure you don't do mushy. The blanching makes them a pretty green color.
garnet10
lilyslim.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 964
Review Date: Sun May 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great way to prepare brussell sprouts
Cons:

I really enjoyed this! It was easy to make, and the sprouts tasted really good with the bacon. I'm still searching for a recipe where I can really carmellize the brussell sprouts, but this was good and I ate the rest of it cold the next day.
pantherider
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 3
Review Date: Thu October 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

I LOVED this! Even the Husband who doesn't like sprouts liked it. I did cook the sprouts longer so they were softer, and I drained some of the grease, but it was awesome!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriendsŪ is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.