Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
21 Mon November 19, 2007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers None indicated 9.4












Description:
Ingredients: 1/2 lb. hamburger
1/2 lb. italian sausage
olive oil
italian seasoning
pizza sauce (ragu makes one that is very low in carbs)
motzarella cheese
toppings to taste (I like pepperoni, onion, green pepper and mushrooms)
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 450.
Mix hamburger and italian sausage and press in a baking dish (I use 8" x 10"). Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with italian seasoning and a little salt and pepper. Bake until almost done (10 minutes or so, depending on pan size and meat thickness). Remove from oven and top with sauce, toppings and lots of motzarella cheese, sprinkle with a little more italian seasoning. Put back in oven until cheese is golden brown and bubbling.


I get requests to make this all the time. Everyone says it tastes just like pizzeria pizza!
Number of Servings: 2-4 depending on hunger level
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: not many, most come from the sauce
Preparation Time: 10 to prepare, 30 or so to bake.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Mon February 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is the best!
Cons:

Press your sausage and beef cruss as thin as possible. I use an eight by thirteen pan and get the meat crust down to 1/4 thickness. I load the pizza up with onions, black olives, pepperoni and tons of cheese.
Every one in the family loves it.
swilson
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Posts: 8
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very flavorful and very good as a leftover
Cons:

This is a very very good dish. I made it and had plenty to take for leftovers for lunch. Reheated, it was just as tasty. Adding the italian sausage gives it a better flavor that the typical "crustless" recipes there are that just use a hamburger "crust". GOOD STUFF!!!!!!!!!
azktycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2001
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 204
Review Date: Mon March 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make! .
Cons: Non

Very very good..the whole family loved this one!
karenry
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 138
Review Date: Sun April 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Toppings were reminiscient of pizza
Cons: The 'crust'

Sorry to be a wet blanket, but I could not stand this. Yes, the topping reminded me of pizza, but I couldn't get by the meat 'crust'. I doubt that I will make it again, but if I did I would try to get the crust very, very thin. Ate one piece and tossed the rest.
Review Date: Tue April 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!!!!
Cons: Nothing

The only thing I did wrong was put too much meat in, but that was my fault. Everyone loved it! Especially my kids. It was so easy and good really tasted like pizza, and I LOVE PIZZA. My kids loved it too so Thank you sooo much. It was AWSOME
OE53
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Quebec
Posts: 106
Review Date: Tue April 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes like real pizza
Cons: none

This was fantastic! I made it to take to a pot luck, and people asked my WHY it was called crustless. They didn't even notice the difference.
Review Date: Tue April 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Every time I make this and take the leftovers to work, I have people drooling over it! It's SO GOOD!!! This is a staple for us.
Cons: none

I would recommend this recipe to anyone who misses Italian food and pizza. It's great.
Pillowtrot
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2004
Location: Chongqing, China
Posts: 2191
Review Date: Tue June 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This hits the spot when we want pizza -- it is one of the family favorites.


The only trouble I had was that the "crust" shrinks considerably. I roll it out very thin and cover as much area as possible because it always shrinks by about 1/3 when I cook it.
Review Date: Mon June 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just Like PIZZA!
Cons: Thin out that crust!!

Great Recipe! The italian sausage is a great mixture along with seasoning. Load up the toppings! We loved it!
maryjopye
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: beautiful east tennessee
Posts: 24
Review Date: Sun June 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make two at a time
Cons:

this is great!...i usually make two at a time and save one for the next day...we like sauteed mushrooms, sliced black olives, and a smathering of minced garlic here and there... the ragu brand pizza sauce is great...have made this 6 or 7 times and always get raves!
michelle779
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 385
Review Date: Mon July 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: none

This is the best low carb pizza recipe I've come across! very tasty & easy to prepare.
Review Date: Mon July 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy and delicious
Cons: doesn't make much, so make two pizzas!

Easy and flexible. Even the kids loved it. Not much sauce is necessary. I found Wal-Mart brand pizza sauce to be lowest in carbs and had great flavor.
kkbright
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 157
Review Date: Wed August 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and super good
Cons: the "crust" shrinkage

My husband absolutely LOVED this dish - even more than "real" pizza! I think when I make this again, I will increase the amount of hamburger to hopefully have less shrinkage. Very good!!
abyw1922
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Posts: 5
Review Date: Tue August 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is an awesome recipe...my family loved it! I will definitely make it again.
SkeeterN
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2004
Location: West Central Ohio
Posts: 18356
Review Date: Tue October 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic!
Cons: plan for crust shrinkage

I have found that if I use a good sirloin ground beef and the Bob Evans Brand Italian sausage it doesn't shrink as bad as other brands but still shrinks.


I purchased 2 pizza pans, the largest Wal-mart had I think might be a 16 inch and the 2 of the next smaller ones which may be a 14.


Divide the meat mixture in half and press as flat as possible onto the largest pan and follow instruction for spices and such then bake the 10 minutes. It will shrink as quite a bit but if you then transfer the crust (meat) to the next smaller pan and doctor it up. While it is in baking clean grease off and make a second one.


My family wants this so often it's become a staple in my home.


Thank you.
Nanders
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes like a real pizza
Cons: Shrinkage

My husband is the biggest pizza fan out there so I should not have ever made this. (I have to make it now once a week!) It's now easier to keep him on the low-carb diet since this pizza is so much like the real thing.
JadedOne
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4492
Review Date: Mon January 10, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It tasted alot like the real thing!
Cons:

I use an 8x10 glass pan to bake mine in.
I press the crust meat mixture on the bottom as well as up the sides. Get the mixture as thin as possible. I would even consider using more of a 1/3 &1/3 mixture vs 1/2 and 1/2.
This recipie was very good though,and i would definatley make it again!
melentz
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 14
Review Date: Wed January 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasted great
Cons: shrinkage

I filled in the places where it shrunk with canadian bacon and just topped it like the rest of the pizza.
oceanna
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2003
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sat May 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste
Cons: meaty

I've made this quite a few times and my (non-lc'ing) family loves it! I use the leanest meats available & then roll it extremely thin to the absolute edges of my pizza pan--not much shrinkage!
The only drawback--*I* know the crust is meat and, although I eat meat, I don't like to think about it. lol! Loading it w/ healthy veggie toppings fixes that, though. Wink
c-u-lean
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 120
Review Date: Fri June 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy
Cons: meaty, probably my own fault

Very good. I think I used 1/2 pound more meat than it calls for (just cause that is how my meats were packaged). Definately going to reduce it next time.
Is the crust supposed to be crispy? That is how I imagined it, but it didn't turn out that way at all.
Dig62
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 36
Review Date: Mon November 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty, very filling.
Cons: None.

This recipe saved my butt today! There's definitely no mistaking this for a traditional crust pizza, but it has enough pizza flavor to kill your craving. I'm thinking of trying it again with taco seasoning in the crust and topping it with salsa, cheddar, shredded lettuce, and sour cream.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.