LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2013, 12:30 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: MerryKate
Stats: 252/196.5/150
WOE: Nutritional ketosis
Start Date: April 2011
Lybrel, PMDD and Low Carb

I wasn't able to find much information about using extended-cycle birth control pills while trying to lose weight on low carb, so I'm going to share my experience here.

I've been low-carbing since April 2011, and I ramped it up to nutritional ketosis levels in October 2012. I'm down 67 lbs. and hoping to lose another 35 lbs. However, I have had a horrible time with my cycle since I started low carb. I've always had PMDD, but controlled it (mostly) with St. John's Wort and a full complement of vitamins, fish oils, flaxseed and black cohosh. Low-carbing brought such terrible cramps that I couldn't stand up or walk, and I've had to miss work because of them.

My PMDD has also gotten worse, which is likely due to the fact that I'm in perimenopause. I've had months where I was crying every day for hours on end, couldn't socialize, and wouldn't leave the house on the weekend because I was so depressed. I couldn't trust my own judgement for more than a week out of the month, and really didn't know what to do anymore. Nothing I was taking made a dent in it, and I have been desperate.

After a lot of research online about the various options, I asked my doctor to prescribe Lybrel. It is essentially the same as regular birth control pills, but there is no week off - the hormones stay the same all month. A lot of women get breakthrough bleeding, which should resolve within the first 6 months. There are also the usual side effects, including weight gain and nausea, which concerned me. I don't want anything to interfere with my weight loss progress.