Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 11:46 AM   #1
BMD
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: BMD
Stats: 242/242/180
Becoming Healthy Mama

Where do I start? With some history, I suppose.

In September of 2002, I was in a new city with a soon-to-be husband and fat. 257 lbs. My decision to give Atkins a try was almost random and definitely not very well thought out. But, it worked and I stuck with it and over the course of a year, I was down 60 pounds. And then with stops and starts over the next couple years, I hit the 90 pounds lost mark. I was below 170. Something I never thought I'd be; something I hadn't seen since early high school. I was in a size 14 and some 12's. It was amazing, but of course I wasn't satisfied.

And then life happened.

I finished my master's degree and got a fulltime job. A good thing, for sure, but that meant leaving a lifestyle of dragging heavy books all over campus and having plenty of free time to hit the trails on my bike to sitting at a desk 40+ hours a week with only the occasional stroll through the halls to a different office. Add 20+ pounds.

And then it was time to start a family. Except that didn't happen as easily as I thought it would and with every passing month, I was stuffing more and more comfort food (CARBS) into my face. Add 20+ more pounds.

And then I actually got pregnant. Holy weight gain, Batman! Add 60+ pounds!

Luckily, being pregnant in the heat of the Ohio summer had caused an insane amount of swelling so delivering a 7.5lb baby helped me lose 30lbs in a matter of weeks. And I was able to lose a few more over his first 2 years.

And then, we started trying for baby #2. Bring on the emotional rollercoaster and comfort food eating. Add 20 more pounds.