Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Weight Loss Journals (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/weight-loss-journals/)
-   -   Removing thorns from the purple rose (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/weight-loss-journals/768408-removing-thorns-purple-rose.html)

purple rose 04-19-2012 07:14 AM

Removing thorns from the purple rose

I have always been an extremely private person.

So much has happened in my life in the last year and it is difficult to remember it all, so I have decided to write it down.

I have been doing Callanetics for 6 months now and it has completely changed my life.

Before I started, my body was to the point of a tired 70 year-old man.
(I walked like Tim Conway doing his old man impression)

I had no energy, constant knee pain and no libido. I had been in perimenopause for about 2 years and I felt like any future I had would be grim and painful.

I have been the same weight (give or take 10 lbs) since I gave birth to my first son. Yes, I have been overweight for years but it never bothered me. (except for my "Santa belly") I knew that all my maternal aunts and grandmother were extremely overweight, so I figured it was my destiny.

My weight has never been an issue before 2008. I was diagnosed with metabolic syndrome. My doctor put me on high blood pressure meds, high cholesterol meds and metformin for pre-diabetes. He told me to lose 40 pounds. At that time, I weighed 195.

Dieting was a new concept to me. The last diet I had been on was in 1983.

I started a diet program that was a cross between the Atkins and the American Diabetics diet. But, I knew I had to give up my sodas. I was drinking (6) 20 oz bottles per day. I dropped my carbs to below 20 per day and started eating more fruit instead of unhealthy snacks. I lost 35 pounds in about 2 weeks. The pounds just melted off me.