LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 07:22 AM   #1
Big Yapper!!!!

Gallery: julieboolie
Stats: 272/152.4/155 Size 26/8/4-6 :)
WOE: one day at a time!!
Start Date: July 14, 2003 - every day!!
Julieboolie's Journal

Well, I used to have a blog. But, I can't seem to find it!! Not sure where the blogs went? So, I think I will start a journal. I need somewhere to document where I am, where I've been and where I'm going!!

Reader's Digest history: I have been obese all my life. I was a size 14 in 6th grade, and managed to continue gaining up to college. I did the Slim Fast plan for a year at 18 and lost down to 175. That, plus aerobics was really exciting. I as a size 14 my first year of college. But, as w. crash diets, it didn't last. I gained back up to a 22/24 by the time I graduated. I then moved home to PA, and took a job as a chemist. I ended up spending a few years in the food & confectionery division, making and eating too much candy. I got all the way up to a size 26.

I met dh in 1996, and got married in 1998. I starved myself on a low fat diet before our wedding and managed to get down to 195. I hated every second of it, and once the wedding was over, I ate again!! I popped back up to about 240 for a while.

2 babies, 3 miscarriages, 2 kidney infections, pneumonia, gall bladder disease and surgery and 5 years later I am up to 272 and barely fitting my size 26's. A friend tried and lost with Atkins and encouraged me to read the DANDR book. I did, and it was like a lightbulb. I had been so deprived of fat, that the idea of eating it instead of carbs really appealed to me.

So, in July 2003 I started. Decided to give it 2 weeks and see what happened. I was a very slow loser every time I'd tried. Well, I lost 12lbs in those 2 weeks and felt great. Satisfied and lots of energy!! I love Atkins!! Over the next year I lost just about 100lbs. By July 2004 I was down to about 175 and the happiest (and smallest) I'd been since I was 18. A whole new life!!