Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Supplements and Low Carb Products > Vitamins and Supplements
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Jetvictor
Why iron free?

Many people on the board has recommended to take multi-vitamin with iron free. Now, I'm no expert on supplements or anything but can anyone tell me why iron is bad on low carb diet? I'll try to find some but just wondering.
Jetvictor is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2010, 05:30 AM   #2
Senior LCF member

Gallery: Leo41
Stats: 340 then/145 now
WOE: Low carb/calorie cycling
I haven't seen the posts you mention, and the only reason I take an iron-free multivitamin is that 1) I'm post-menopausal, and most women don't need additional iron after menopause--that's why my Centrum Silver is iron free;
2) My blood tests show that I have more than adequate iron, and it would be dangerous to supplement.
Leo41 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 05:33 AM   #3
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: mom2crzyboyz
Stats: 196/157/150 5'9"
WOE: Low-Carb/Atkins
Start Date: 1/1/10
A big reason is because iron is very constipating and since this WOE tends to do that to you also it just adds to the problem. We get a lot of our iron from the protein we eat on this plan anyways.
mom2crzyboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:22 AM   #4
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: lkelley36