Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Vegetarian (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/vegetarian/)
-   -   Help! (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/vegetarian/790410-help.html)

scarletfire 11-30-2012 06:39 PM

Help!

Newbie here looking for advice from people who have had success on LC veg diet. I am 5'7" and about 142 pounds so healthy BMI, BUT, I have been trying unsuccessfully to lose weight on a variety of diets for over a year (calorie counting, CLEAN program etc.) After seeing my brother have success (he is a carnivore for sure) on LC I thought I'd give it a try. I got a few books from the library (New Atkins and Eades 30 day) and did some research. For two weeks I ate under 50 net grams of carbs a day and did not lose any weight. I cheated over Thanksgiving because I was traveling and with family.

This week I got back on the LC train, except I have stuck to under 30 g. net carbs a day, and I've been pretty vigilant with no sugar whatsoever. It has been 6 days. I have had a bit of peanut butter but no fruits/beans. Typical protein shake for breakfast, salad for lunch, almonds/cheese for snack and meat sub+ veggies for dinner. I feel pretty exhausted. I like to rock climb and exercise a few times a week, and have not had the energy to do much. But, the worst thing is I haven't lost any weight. I am wondering if it is just impossible for me to lose 10 or even 5 pounds (seems like this diet works well for those with more weight to lose).
Here are my questions:
1) how long should it take to see results following this plan?
2) would it be okay to eat some carbs before vigorous exercise so I can make it through?
3) I work at 7 am teaching preschoolers, so caffeine is virtually impossible to give up. Okay or no?
4) as an athlete should I stick with this or try something else?
Any other advice? Thanks so much for your insight!

Librarygirl 11-30-2012 06:46 PM