Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Vegetarian (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/vegetarian/)
-   -   Newbie Here (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/vegetarian/733789-newbie-here.html)

TimeToGetThin 09-03-2011 10:36 AM

Newbie Here

I'm Vanessa, and have been a vegetarian for 23 years now. After a carb filled pregnancy I managed to gain 50 more lbs on top of the 60 I already needed to lose. :( Much to my horror, after giving birth in June 2011, I stepped on the scale and I was 234 lbs still!! I lost 18 lbs between June and September 1, and since adopting the low carb lifestyle again, I have lost an additional 6! I know it is mostly water weight now as it is the first week of induction, but I am so happy that I am not starving all the time anymore!

The local moms group started a Biggest Loser challenge September 1 - December 1, and I am determined to win!!

Looking forward to journeying with you all.

Nigel 09-03-2011 01:36 PM

:welcome:

TaDa! 09-04-2011 04:53 AM

Welcome Vanessa! You can do it!!!!

Our start weights and goal weights are nearly identical, lol!! I lost the weight on Atkins as vegetarian .. have you read the new book? New Atkins For A New You? Good vegetarian guidelines in there!!!

Congratulations on that nice 6 lb drop!!! and on the birth of your baby!!!!

:love:

Pauline

TimeToGetThin 09-06-2011 07:22 PM

Wow Pauline you are such an inspiration!! :) Were/Are you hardcore atkins to the letter? I am not limiting my veggies right now and I am having nuts for snacks....so I am a bit of an Atkins slacker.

I havent read the new book but thats great that its more veggie friendly! Will have to pick it up

nzmegs 09-07-2011 02:38 AM

You should get yourself over to the New Atkins website. i have recently discovered it and it is very inspirational. there are many vegetarians there, but plenty of great information.