LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2014, 09:12 AM   #1
ss1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: ss1
Stats: 160/137/130-125
Start Date: september 2012
possible hypo/vlc help!

Hi all, Im new to the thyroid board but have been low carbing for quite a while. About 2 years ago, I was overweight, tired all the time, losing hair etc. had some tests done and the doctor said I must be stressed because my lab work was fine. I dealt with this for a year and still didnt feel right. I found a holistic doctor and he said just by looking at me and hearing my story, I was anemic! And sure enough it was in the blood work from the previous year where my doctor said I was fine! Ive been taking iron since august and started to feel a little better but not much. My holistic doctor then diagnosed me as having Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Unfortunately most doctors dont recognize this as an actual problem so there are no medications for it but I have been on vitamins and supplements from my holistic doctor since but still dont feel good. About 3 months ago while getting a check up and another blood test, the doctor said I have a goiter! (When will the problems stop!) I got an ultrasound and they said everything was fine, I have some nodules but they didnt need to be biopsied. I started doing so research and it seems like all my problems are pointing to thyroid. Chronic fatigue has many of the same symptoms so I asked for more blood tests. The doctor was very reluctant in giving me what I wanted, claimed she "knew what tests to do" and still isnt running all the ones I wanted. I should be getting results today but I have been reading a lot of stuff about very low carb diets and people with thyroid problems SHOULDNT do them. I have been VLC for most of the year and 5 months ive been low carbing and have lost about 30 pounds in that time. Im 5'6 weight 126.6 and would like to lose just a few more but can only do that with VLC. I physically cant exercise so my cals are at 1310. my carbs are b