Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2013, 05:14 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Hot Potato
Stats: 117.4kg/107.1/99kg (first goal)
WOE: LCHF/primal/NK
Start Date: May 2013
Has anyone's thyroid/cholesterol worsened eating low carb or LCHF??

Hoping I can get some advice from people on this page. I'm a 42 year old female from Australia. I haven't posted on this forum for a couple of months, but I have been eating LCHF for around 5-6 months and have lost just over 10kg. My current weight is approx 107kg (so still obese).

I have just had some disturbing blood test results. I have always had perfect cholesterol (trig, LDL, HDL, total). I get it tested six monthly. It has gone from April's test results (first number) to now (second number) - HDL: 1.77 to 1.38, Trig: 1.2 to 2.5, LDL: 1.8 to 2.2, cholesterol: 4.1 to 4.7 The doctor is concerned.

What is even more concerning which, ironically, may or may not be the 'cause' of the high cholesterol numbers are my thyroid numbers. My TSH has gone from 3.3 to 18.1. My T3 and T4 have both fallen to below range This is while taking thyroxine (thyroid hormone replacement) so my TSH should be at 0.5.

I did some research and found that the cholesterol rise can be an effect of the thyroid problem so it *might* be that. However, what was disturbing - and some of you may be aware of this - is that there is a strong school of thought that low carb can destroy your thyroid. It is hotly contested (what isn't??? ) but I am sitting here wondering if maybe there is some truth to it....

So I am really confused as to what to do. I don't have a doctor to guide me through this (I mean a LCHF doctor) and, IF it is low carb that's doing this, obviously I don't want to further harm myself. Thoughts/advice welcome
Hot Potato is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-2013, 05:23 PM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: Ntombi
Stats: Restart: 360/294/190