Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Health Support Groups > Thyroid
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 03:38 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: AZ.twinmom
Can too much armour cause weight gain?

I'm a fitness instructor so I'm very active. I eat a clean diet 85% of the time. I've been on Armour for 7 yrs and within the the last 6 months I"ve gained 10 lbs. It dawned on me that my doc increased my dose by 1 grain around the time the weight started coming on. I'm on 1 1/2 grains in the morning and 1 1/2 in the afternoon. Has anyone else had this issue or even think it's possible for this drug to cause weight gain? I never miss the doses but will say that I don't take it everyday at the exact same time. I try, but it doesn't always happen.

I'm almost hyperthyroid with the amt. I'm on, but she's letting me stay on it because my t3 is still in on the low side. She tests free t3 free t4 and TSH

Last edited by AZ.twinmom; 08-21-2013 at 03:40 PM..
AZ.twinmom is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Gallery: DebbyL
Stats: 168/130/128
WOE: Maintenance
Start Date: WtLoss->Sept11-Oct12->Maint.
Hi,
I was just wondering the same thing. This morning I got my thyroid news email & was able to find the symptoms of over-medicating... It does say that some people will gain wt. with becoming hyperthyroid, but losing wt. is more common.
My appetite & wt has been creeping up this month & I'm trying not to panic... but I am the one that's controlling how much I take... I increased it myself & now that I am getting more hyper symptoms (also getting palpitations, overheating & bloody noses) I'm cutting down.
But I also deal with adrenals & take isocort, so not sure which thing is off. I probably need to go back & see the naturopath again.