Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Website/Technical Issues > Suggestions for the Webmaster
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 01:25 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Seeking
Stats: 265/241/170
WOE: Low Carb
Consensus (An Ongoing Community Project)

Hello people of the forum. Even though I am new to low-carbing and to this forum (or perhaps because I am new), I would like to discuss the subject of consensus. I know that many of you have been here far, far longer than I and have much more experience than I do, but I have a suggestion/idea to discuss.

As a newcomer to low-carb (only been doing this for a few months), I have encountered what seems to me like a whole new world with infinitely conflicting opinions. I would like for the low-carb community to come to consensus on some very important issues and subjects so that newcomers to the low-carb lifestyle, such as myself, have an easier time learning about it and putting it into practice.

My mother has type 2 diabetes and I firmly believe that if she followed a low-carb lifestyle, her quality of life would be improved. But like many people who have jobs and a life, she does not have time to wade through all the books and forums and threads and recipes and (often conflicting) information like I do. It's time for us to extract what we have learned from countless individual threads, published scientific studies, and (sometimes expensive) cooking experiments and streamline this into one or more organized and searchable databases so that this information is in a form that is much quicker and easier to obtain.

So I'd like to get a project going. And here's what I have in mind:

We in the low-carb community need to come to consensus on the following topics, by way of review and comparison of the scientific literature and the information that exists: