Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Forum Jump

Old 04-15-2017, 11:03 AM   #1
Baricat
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Baricat
Stats: 240/125/135 Start:size 24, now:size 2.
WOE: LC for control of diabetes
Start Date: January 2007. Have kept weight off over 10 years.
Kevin's White Bread Question

Hello, friends! I'm new to the forum, and have spent many a night up way later than I should be reading voraciously so many of the earlier posts here. What fun!

The one that caught my eye was Kevin's white bread. I broke the 3-minute mile ordering all the ingredients like RWS and both WPIs. I made it this morning, and I'm not sure if I did something wrong. I don't recall reading anyone say it had a somewhat slightly bitter aftertaste. All I seemed to see were raves.

I followed the recipe exactly, and I am a retired pastry chef/chef de cuisine, so I'm relatively fluent in the process of baking.

To me, the mark of a successful bread is how does it taste "nude." No butter, no jam, not in a sandwich, just by itself. This isn't anything I would eat again that way, at least not as it is. The texture is all right. Dense, as expected from reading various reviews, but not objectionably so. This loaf is destined to be repurposed into breadcrumbs.

I've only made one other low carb bread recipe that I found on the web using mostly vital wheat gluten and flax, and experienced that same somewhat unpleasant taste. Made it twice, just to be sure it wasn't a fluke. It wasn't. Identical to the first results. (Those both enriched my breadcrumb canister, as well.) I thought it had to do with the large amount of VWG, but apparently not.