Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Other Plans
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 08:27 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Charly54
Ketone levels, the more water drank the lower the readings are,right?

I am new to a low carb diet, been on it about 1-1/2 months.

I am 58, 5'8", 160-lbs, never worried to much about what I ate until I had a stroke 1-1/2 months ago. It wasn't a bad one, it effected only my balance. After it happened I would drift to the right bad when trying to walk, had to use a walker to walk straight for 2-3 days. 1-1/2 months later I have little signs of drifting to the right, about back to normal.

My cholestrol was 275 and Triglycerides 467. The doc said to go on a low carb diet so I figured out what to eat by research online. My daily carb intake varies from 40-50 up to 70's, depends on my will power.

Here's my main question:
Does water intake effect the color readings on the ketone strips? Seems like the more water you drink the lighter the color on the ketone strips. The less water you drink the darker the color, is this right?

I bought those ketone strips, normally I test my pee when I wake up, it normally reads trace(5mg). This mourning when I tested it was 40. I thought it was a bad reading so I tested again an it was the same. Why all of a sudden did it read lots of ketones. My carb intake yesterday was average, it was not way low, probably around 50-60.

5 hrs later I tested again and it was back to trace(NOTE: my pee was clearer not as yellow). Between testings I had 2-3 cups coffee, 3 bacon, 2 eggs, 1 pc toast, and about 12-16 oz water. Did the coffee and water delute the ketone count?
Charly54 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-2012, 03:50 PM   #2
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Charly54
ketone levels