Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Other Plans
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 11:31 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Great Scott
Conflict - Alpha Linoleic Acid

2 different opinions here, trying to get to the truth. On page 343 of protein power Dr Eades is saying to get away from Flax and any oils containing ALA because they encourage the production of bad Eicosanoids.

On page 198 of the Atkins Vita-Nutrient Solution, Dr Atkins is in full support of using Flax products.

I have been supplementing with flax oil for many years and have always heard good things about it. I do have High blood pressure and there may be a link to a use of the flax.

Any thoughts?
Great Scott is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 09-09-2011, 11:47 AM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: porcupine73
Stats: 208/152/150, male 5'9", 39 y/o
WOE: Cure Tooth Decay, no snacks,slow burn weights+HIIT
Start Date: January 2010
It can be tricky to sort out when respected sources conflict. I have both those books so I could take a look through again. Personally I have opted to not use flax oil, since its beneficial fats can be obtained other ways. It seems I recall flax was more popular among vegetarians because it was one of the few plant sources of certain fats.
porcupine73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 01:19 PM   #3
Junior LCF Member

Thanks for looking into it. Now that you mention it. I was a vegetarian for a while and that's when I started using it. This is the first time I have ever heard anything negative about it.
Old 09-13-2011, 04:10 PM   #4
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Emmaline