Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Organic and Natural Eating
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 03:49 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Cassie
WOE: Moderate carbs
Start Date: January 2013
So what is the best sugar substitute for baking?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to low carb eating, my hubby and I have been eating low carb for about 6 weeks now and aside from cooking like crazy, its really good. I can't say that I've lost weight, although I've been told I have, but I feel a lot looser in my joints and its easier to move, if that makes sense!

Anyhow, I was reading another post about Splenda causing various health problems for some people.

The only time my hubby and I have any type of sugar substitute is when I bake something to have with our late night cuppa before bed each night. I've found lots of terrific recipes, but after reading these reports about Splenda, I'm a bit worried now (especially since I made a batch of snickerdoodles, which were really yum, but not only do they contain sugar substitute, they are coated in it as well!)

Plus there is the concern about the health problems that can be caused by them.

So what is the healthiest and safest sugar substitute to cook with?

PS: If I'm asking this question in the wrong forum, please let me know. I am only a newbie.

Last edited by Cassie; 03-12-2013 at 03:56 AM..
Cassie is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 03-12-2013, 07:12 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Mistizoom
Stats: 300/206/190 initial goal
WOE: low carb
Start Date: November 2012

There's a good thread about sweeteners just below in this same forum:

Natural Sweetener

I find different sweeteners are good for different things. Erythritol + stevia (e.g., Truvia) is great for a lot of uses if you are looking for something fairly natural.